We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we were expecting and mediocore at best”
Review of The Pearl Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Pearl Resort
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Pacific Harbour
Reviewed 25 November 2013

When you think of Fiji, do you think of the beautiful ocean with bungalows and amazing beaches? We did. What did we get?
Beautiful ocean, an OK resort, and California like beaches. To say we were disappointed is an understatement.

While they do everything, again, OK, nothing stands out. The room was incredibly barebones, a TV, a bed, one chair, a shower (without a door to close), and a toilet. That was about it-- and this is supposed to be a resort.

The service is fine, the food was resort-y and expensive. There are some decent amenities, like free kayaking, a decently sized pool, a volleyball court, but that's about it.

The best part was the spa, which has great prices and was quite relaxing.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seamles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (990)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

556 - 562 of 990 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

I specifically asked in advance for prepare my room with decorations to pleased my wife on our honeymoon trip. I have got email confirmation from the staffs that it can be done upon my check in. It came out nothing, but a simple and old room.

That's my very first impression.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank NY917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I have been a regular stayer at The Pearl while on business trips to Suva..I have liked it in preference to hotels in Suva itself. The resort is in a great location, the staff are pleasant and helpful. The dinning experience is also good, so why the low rating. About a year ago The Pearl got an infestation of Bed Bugs....These have not been eradicated despite efforts to do so. My last visit culminated with bites, which are not pleasant. I feel very sorry for The Pearl and its staff to have to deal with this issue, but as a business traveller or holiday maker, this is not what you want from any stay...

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveller092013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We have stayed at The Pearl 3 times now there is a few reasons why we go back, we got married there in July 2011 so since then we just go back. The staff at this resort are so nice and will help you with anything. The wedding coordinator we had (Leeanne) was fabulous she remembers us each time. We returned this year in June this time with our 3 year old daughter who loved walking around the resort grounds chasing the frogs and feeding the fish from the little jetty on the River. Again like any resort the food prices are a bit expensive but we just went down the road to the Cultural Centre to eat and to shop. The Pearl Spa is such a relaxing place to have a facial and Massage which I have done this each time we have stayed. If beach walks are your thing there is a nice stretch of beach to walk along. it is a fair drive from the Airport about 2.5 hours but the location is worth it as there is not a lot of people. Over all really nice comfortable resort kind of like our home away from home.

Room Tip: Ocean View penthouse room has fab Views but at night a bit noisy so next time we might get the Garde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Island_dreaming_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

This is a very nice small resort with an awesome view. All staff were extremely friendly, the grounds were clean and well kept.
Rooms:
Huge. Clean. Dated. Comfy bed. Water kettle and tea selection + coffee (we bought noodles and were able to make them in the room and eat on our balcony). Hairdryer. Shampoo, conditioner and soaps.
Lobby:
Large, open and beautiful with friendly staff.
Bars: Nice bars with friendly staff, but getting an actual drink is almost impossible. Incredibly slow.
Restaurant - Included buffet breakfast:
Bland; not satisfying. That being said, there was juice, coffee and tea, several cold cereals, fresh fruit, and some warm dishes, including eggs to order. Ok considering it is included - definitely would not pay for it.
Restaurant - Lunch or Dinner
Overpriced. Small portions. Ordering a Coca-Cola was a huge rip-off. The pizza was good, but extremely overpriced. We only paid for one meal here and opted to go to the Arts Village for the remainder of our meals (prices were better and there was more selection)
The views here are incredible and there were lots of places where you could have privacy and still enjoy some gorgeous views or you could meet lots of people when you didn't want to be alone.
In the evenings they light candles all over and there are these wonderful reclining sitting areas - very romantic for 2; engaging for more. We bought some wine and would have a drink there in the evenings.
Supermarket at the entrance. Shopping and another supermarket and restaurants at the Arts Village - 5 minute by taxi (very cheap) or a 15 minute walk.
I would go back.

Room Tip: Facing pool also faces the ocean. Wow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blitzpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

This is a nice, small resort conveniently close to Beqa diving and the Arts Village but, what really makes it great is all the wonderful and friendly staff around. I was traveling alone after some work travel and the staff (all of them - the front desk, activities, spa, bar, restaurants, and pool) were not just incredibly helpful but, they were fun, social, and really made my stay comfortable. Wish I had more time to hang out!

The food is good, the drinks are strong, and you have to treat yourself to the spa because it's such a great deal and sooo relaxing.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJFriday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I chose the Pearl of the South Pacific because of it's location. It is located in Pacific Harbour along the Queen's Highway.

Upon arrival you walk up a long driveway to reach the lobby of the hotel. Hotel staff met us half way and carried as bags to reception. The first thing I noticed was how welcoming the staff was. The second was the gorgeous views on the Pacific Ocean from the lobby.

The Pearl is located on a beautiful stretch of beach. It was quite windy when we arrived, so we had a clear view of Bequa Island right across the Pacific Ocean. There were a number of coconut trees on the property, and the public areas were nicely maintained.

During our week-long stay, it was the staff that made our stay special. They greeted us every day with "Bula Vinaka ( a warm welcome) and smiles that were genuine.

I was also pleasantly surprised by their large breakfast buffet. There were plenty of choices each day, i.e., pancakes, eggs, bacon, sausage, fried rice, vegetables, etc. There was also a selection of juices, coffee and tea, as well as an egg station where the selection changed each day.

I also liked the free daily activities list that was placed under your door each night, listing the activities taking place at the resort the following day.

The Pearl is a lovely place to stay. The staff is warm and friendly, the breakfast fantastic, and the location is great. I would stay there again in a heartbeat, and would definitely recommend it to family and friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the lobby level if you cannot climb stairs. Rooms on the ground level have access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelmaven_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Harbour
1.1 mi away
Uprising Beach Resort
Uprising Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
653 reviews
21.9 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#1 of 4 in Korolevu
2,731 reviews
56.5 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
#8 of 10 in Sigatoka
507 reviews
43.3 mi away
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
57.0 mi away
Sheraton Fiji Resort
Sheraton Fiji Resort
#7 of 8 in Denarau Island
2,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Resort

Address: Queens Road, Pacific Harbour, Viti Levu, Fiji (Formerly Centra Resort)
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Pacific Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Pacific Harbour
Price Range: £59 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on one of Fiji's longest sandy beaches and surrounded by lush tropical gardens, The Pearl Resort is an idyllic escape in the heart of Fiji's adventure capital of Pacific Harbour. The chic and stylish Fiji accommodation will set the perfect mood for your perfect holiday with Ocean, Marina or Garden View rooms and Penthouse Suites available to choose from while Internationally acclaimed chefs create diverse menus that reflect both local and international cuisine in no fewer than six on-site restaurants including the signature fine dining restaurant, Seduce. Synonymous with romance, The Pearl Resort is the perfect location to host a Fiji wedding and provides couples with some of the best wedding packages in Fiji. These include a variety of venue options such as the elegant beachfront chapel and a dedicated wedding coordinator to help ensure everything runs smoothly. Whether you're looking for an adrenaline charged adventure holiday or a luxurious vacation to relax, unwind and recharge, The Pearl Resort is the ultimate holiday destination for the discerning traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Pearl Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pearl South Pacific Hotel Pacific Harbour
Pearl South Pacific Harbour
The Pearl Resort Fiji, South Pacific - Pacific Harbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing