We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Holiday With Amazing Friends”
Review of The Pearl Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Pearl Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Pacific Harbour
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We have just returned from two & a half weeks staying at The Pearl South Pacific in Pacific Harbour Fiji. This is our 6th trip to The Pearl & each visit it just gets better & better!
Upon arrival we were greeted by serenaders welcoming us & shown to our beautiful room. We always stay in the Penthouses, this time it was the Oriental & we just loved it.
The staff at the resort are very special to us, nothing is too much trouble & they go out of their way to make you feel so welcome.
The weather on this side of the island can be a bit erratic as it is known to be the 'wet side' of Fiji although we always find things to do if this is the case. This year we were very fortunate & managed to get out & about on some day trips which were truly amazing, it was extremely hot as we came from an Australian winter so no complaints!
The breakfast is always consistently good & we always eat at the resort but this time we also ate at The Pearl Championship Golf Club. The resort runs a free shuttle to & from the Golf Club & the meals & staff are terrific. It is open Wednesday to Sunday Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner.
The Pearl also has a Day Spa which we used almost every day. The girls are very experienced & would certainly recommend you try it if visiting.
We would like to make special mention of the Engineering team who are always there to help with a big smile & nothing is ever too much trouble for them!
On a Sunday there is a regular band playing with a barbecue lunch. The singer leading is named Talei & her voice is truly amazing so if visiting this is a 'must do'! She does current cover songs & her backing band is wonderful, people flock from all around the area to sing & dance & generally have a blast!
Overall, our deepest gratitude goes to the GM - Natalie Marletta, Executive Chef - Ben Tedrick, Food & Beverage team, too many to mention although you all know how special you are, the activities team, the front reception for their bright happy smiles, housekeeping & the Flower arranger extroidinaire Nene!
Thankyou all for such an amazing holiday & now counting down till next time!
Vinaka Vekalevu x

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are the best as you get the afternoon sea breezes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosiemar59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (994)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

515 - 521 of 994 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

Whilst I accept some of the comments that this is a little old fashioned and showing the odd sign of wear and tear, this is Fiji, the location and the hospitality were just amazing. Don't come here looking for wild night life and slick impersonal service: for us this is the way it should be. Staff who recognise you and care, no "Have a nice day" here. The pool with its own bar was a delight with access straight on to the beach. Well kept grounds were great for a stroll too. Happy hour was welcoming and generous - the bar area inviting and significantly more inviting than the slightly over-priced restaurant. There was usually some planned activity or other and there were a number of excursions available although they too seemed a tad pricey. We just enjoyed the relaxing and tranquil environment. A particular thank you to every one of the lovely staff.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are just that!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkMMontgomery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

An overall great time had, despite the construction alongside the resort and the tired dated room.
We stayed 12 days at The Pearl.
The room was clean and stocked when we checked in, and was serviced every day.
The TV did only have 4 channels plus the 'in house movie'. And there wasn't usually movie playing. But hay, who goes to Fiji to watch TV.
Next doors AC was very loud, and kept us up quite late.
The construction crew started every weekday promptly at 8am, but why sleep in when you are in Fiji.
We did have the buffet breakfast every day, although we mostly just had cereal anyway. Some days the hot selection was poor, but the fresh egg chief was available to cook any egg you want. I think they may have had specialty egg days, when I asked for fried eggs, she wanted me to have an omelette, but the kitchen staff cooked me a fried egg.
We purposely chose a resort away from the tourist area of Denerau. It did mean a 2.5hr drive to the pearl from Nadi. But we chose culture over tourist, and we were very close to lots of culture.
It was good to have a local supermarket and liquor store over the road, since food and drinks at the resort were a bit pricy. But I assume they were reasonable resort prices.
The staff were all very friendly and eager to help in any way they could. I will miss them very much, Maria, Matt, Mali and all the bar and restaurant staff, too many to name.
We will be going back once the new rooms are constructed.

Room Tip: Our ocean view ground room was easy access to the bar and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Stayed a week with 3 other couples. Had the most fun in ages. Not the newest of locations and they are making major additions, but the friendliness of the staff makes up for it all. Staff could not have done enough for you. Loads of great fun activities food was great. will definetly go again!!

Room Tip: we all stayed in ocean view rooms which were nice - we didn't spend that much time in our room s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Although The Pearl is in the midst of a massive upgrade, we had the most fantastic time with a group of 8 celebrating two 50th birthdays! Sure the rooms are a bit tired but the dining, bar and pool areas are excellent. Daily activities are always worth doing, fun and educational. Highlights were daily volleyball followed by happy hour, kayaking, the cooking and Lovo demonstrations, village tour and of course the massages. We had vouchers for a daily 1/2 hr massage as part of our package deal along with lots of other activities. The sunset cruise was magic and so much fun! The staff at the Pearl are so friendly and obliging and treated us like we were their best customers, we really couldn't have asked for better. The food is excellent and reasonably priced, cocktails ever changing and delicious and the location was gorgeous. All in all a fantastic experience!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Boxyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Sent 10 days at the pearl. The resort is quite tired and it seems that they have completely stopped spending any money to maintain the building or replace things that need it. would put it at 2.5 or 3 star at best. Although a long 3 hour drive from the Nadi airport, does give you the opportunity to see a bit of the country. It is placed on a nice part of the beach with a river running at the side. Lovely views across to the islands. Suggest you request a bottom floor room to make access easier. The pool is great, as are the are the pool staff, and are the highlight at the pearl and without the 3 guys there, we perhaps might have left early.
Prices for food and drinks are high for such a low standard resort and sadly there is a culture of short changing the customers that pay with cash at the bars. There is a supermarket across the road where you can pick up most things that you will need at the locals price.
There is the art village within a 15 minute walk or FGD$3 taxi ride. It has 3 restaurants and although tourist prices there is a good selection. Can recommend the small "restaurant" across the road to get the local experience with food. To feed a family of 4 about AUD$20
In all the pearl provided a good family holiday, however would not stay again and therefore could not recommend it.

Room Tip: Suggest you request a bottom floor room to make access easier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed at The Pearl for just over a week, with every intention of relaxing and blobbing beside the pool or strolling on the beach. The Pearl is certainly the place to do just that. It hosts loads of activities to keep the active entertained, but it does come at a cost! Be prepared to pay for most of your activities. My husband did the shark dive which he highly recommends (if you’re diver of course).
The Pearl we found to be a luxurious and stunning resort with a 4.5 star rating. With views of the ocean and waking up to the sound of breaking waves is very refreshing. However, it was only after a day of settling in could you notice that the rooms and some of the surrounds could do with a makeover. Nevertheless, we truly enjoyed our stay at the resort with its inviting pool, easy access to the beach and well maintained gardens, even with the renovations going on next to the resort didn’t pose an issue.
The staff were absolutely amazing, always helpful and very welcoming! Happy hour seemed to be the highlight or more so, the crowd drawer. It certainly wasn’t the evening dining that drew the crowds, which I would assume was due to the expensive drinks and menus. Most nights the restaurants were pretty much empty. We along with other guests utilised the local takeaway and nearby restaurants.
The Pearl golf course is no match for a beginner! But is really something to experience.
We travelled on the local bus to Suva, very disappointing! But all in all a good experience.
I would certainly recommend The Pearl to anyone who isn’t to hung up about star rating, as the Pearl is more like a 3 star.
My advice to management!!! Lower your food and beverage prices, keep the guests dining on the premises instead of supporting the local takeaways.
Please be mindful that your staff who makes The Pearl so inviting for a return visit.
Save, Matt, Meli, Ama and for those whose names I have forgotten…… you guys rock!
Thank you for your kind hospitality.
Vinaka Vakelevu

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KiwiInky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Harbour
1.1 mi away
Uprising Beach Resort
Uprising Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
660 reviews
21.9 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#1 of 4 in Korolevu
2,747 reviews
56.5 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
#9 of 10 in Sigatoka
507 reviews
1.7 mi away
Nanuku Auberge Resort
Nanuku Auberge Resort
#1 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
211 reviews
43.3 mi away
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Resort

Address: Queens Road, Pacific Harbour, Viti Levu, Fiji (Formerly Centra Resort)
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Pacific Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Pacific Harbour
Price Range: £56 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on one of Fiji's longest sandy beaches and surrounded by lush tropical gardens, The Pearl Resort is an idyllic escape in the heart of Fiji's adventure capital of Pacific Harbour. The chic and stylish Fiji accommodation will set the perfect mood for your perfect holiday with Ocean, Marina or Garden View rooms and Penthouse Suites available to choose from while Internationally acclaimed chefs create diverse menus that reflect both local and international cuisine in no fewer than six on-site restaurants including the signature fine dining restaurant, Seduce. Synonymous with romance, The Pearl Resort is the perfect location to host a Fiji wedding and provides couples with some of the best wedding packages in Fiji. These include a variety of venue options such as the elegant beachfront chapel and a dedicated wedding coordinator to help ensure everything runs smoothly. Whether you're looking for an adrenaline charged adventure holiday or a luxurious vacation to relax, unwind and recharge, The Pearl Resort is the ultimate holiday destination for the discerning traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Pearl Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pearl South Pacific Hotel Pacific Harbour
Pearl South Pacific Harbour
The Pearl Resort Fiji, South Pacific - Pacific Harbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing