We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Look Elswhere” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pearl Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Pearl Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Pacific Harbour
Sunshine Coast
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Look Elswhere”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

The staff were fantastic and certainly did their best under the circumstances. And the food was the saviour of this resort.

We were at the Pearl for a business conference and unfortunately due to a late flight and 3 hr transfer we didn't get to the hotel untill 8:00pm.
The "Garden Suite" was old and musty smelling with some friendly cockroaches sealed the deal for the "boss".
The staff moved us up to one of the Penthouse Suites next morning but unfortunately was facing the construction site next door that worked 7 days from early morning till late into the night.

Saturday night they held a rather large event being the Miss World Fiji pagent. With it came the noise of construction before and after. The music finally stopped at 1:00am.
I felt the resort wasn't a very suitable venue to cater for such an event. Especially if it is going to inconvenience those guests who are not part of the event.

There are major rebuilding works happening at the moment and it appears that very little money has been spent on upkeep in recent years. I would seriously question the Hotels claims that all rooms have been renovated.

I'm sure there are better options in Fiji but our stay at The Pearl left us looking elswhere for our next trip.

Would we go back?...No.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stigron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    317
    130
    53
    53
See reviews for
230
399
38
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We booked our trip through luxury escapes and after reading a trip advisor review 3 days prior to leaving Which said "avoid at all costs" , we were rather worried and thought of cancelling. Thank goodness we didn't. Our experience at the Pearl has been fantastic in every respect . We are a family of four (2 girls age 10 and 15). We were met at the airport by a nice driver and good quality car which we had all to ourselves for the drive to the Coral Coast. The resort is a perfect size - not too big and crowded but a good amount of guests to make it buzzing and lively. The guests are all really nice people , well mannered and not too "flashy overdressed types" that you get sometimes in Denerau. The facilities are excellent- great pool with a water cave that the kids loved, free kayaks, volleyball net, free snorkelling gear and a fabulous clear water beach to swim at with no nasties like coral or weed or tidal flats. There are plenty of activities to do - we did an amazing snorkel trip to the coral reef 7 mins by boat front the hotel. We also did a shark dive which was excellent - very professional. The rooms are great - good air con units and while not super flash they are very nice and modern and as good as the outrigger when we stayed there a few years ago. There is a movie room which is really well set up with a huge projector screen and bean bags. The service from the staff has been amazing throughout - always smiling and nothing is a problem. The food is fabulous - lots of variety and reasonably priced. Happy hour cocktails every night for FJ 10 (6.60 Nz).
We would definitely come back here again and it will be even more amazing once the new marina and facilities are completed. As long as it still retains it's friendly, uncrowded, beach holiday feel....thank you to the Pearl for a wonderful holiday

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We have not stayed at The Pearl but discovered their wonderful bar and grill at the golf course club rooms. They have turned what was a rather rundown area into a great cafe/restaurant. We had lunch there and would have returned for dinner but it was closed for a golf tournament. Overlooking the 18th green the restaurant has a delightful outlook and serves great food at very reasonable prices. We would rate as one of the top dining options in Pacific Harbour

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GrantandPam255106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

we travelled to the pearl in December 2013 to check out this hotel as a location for our wedding which we had already booked for June 2014. we had been told that some building was due to start in December 2014 and so this was not going to affect our wedding experience. WRONG....when we arrived on xmas day the building work had already begun and they were driving piles into the ground from 7am till 11pm each night, which we could feel vibrating through the room in our suite.

We had organised to meet with the wedding planner to finalise details of our wedding day and found this to be a hard task to complete as she spent the entire time trying to avoid us.

following this experience we decided to cancel our wedding booking with the pearl and move the wedding to the Warwick Resort and Spa down the road.

we have recently returned from our excellent wedding at the warwick and part of which included a boat trip departing from pacific harbour the day before we were due to be married. So we took these photos of the pearl resort from across the river to show the condition this place would of been in for our wedding if we had kept the booking and believed small guides and the pearl resorts advice that "no building work will of started until December 2014".

Please heed this advice and dont make the mistake we almost made!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We recently had a family holiday from NZ to Fiji to stay at the pearl with a Luxury Escape deal.
If you are planning a trip - please read this.


What a disgrace ! Please see attached letter we wrote to Luxury escapes who were very professional and offered a full refund.
We have no complaints of the service of luxury escapes who had excellent customer service.

PLEASE READ BELOW LETTER I WROTE FOLLOWING OUR TRIP !!!



It is with regret that I am writing this letter as we were all anticipating a wonderful eight day winter vacation in the sun.
As your website suggests you have access to some of the most luxurious resorts in the world at an obtainable price and that they have been carefully curated.

I would like to explain a little in detail some of the issues that we encountered.

On arrival at the resort it became immediately apparent that the hotel was anything but luxurious.
As we pulled into the resort there was extensive building works being carried out with considerable disruption aesthetically, acoustically and hygienically. We do appreciate that there was some mention of renovations being carried out in your hotel description but certainly not to the extent encountered.

When we arrived in the lobby the entrance was tired, unkempt and in poor state of repair.
We checked in already having considerable concerns and were taken to our “ocean view room suites.”
The state and standard of the rooms were completely unacceptable. A dirty, damp, smell of drains welcomed us. On closer inspection the rooms were filthy. The bed linen was stained and dirty.
The bathrooms were again musty and very unclean and poorly finished with mould growing from the sealant surrounding the edges of the bath and shower. It was certainly not of the standard one would expect from a luxurious hotel. On top of all that they were right next to the noisy, dusty and extensive building works, having expressly requested rooms away from this area.

We immediately went to the reception without unpacking and expressed our sincere dissatisfaction.

We were offered another two rooms that we accepted but unfortunately our new rooms, on the other side of the resort away from the cranes and cement mixers, were in a similar state.
Furthermore the window was cracked and the outside door despite many attempts would not shut or lock. This was again pointed out to the management.
That evening my wife went to the bathroom in the night and came across a large number of cockroaches.
Bearing in mind the bathroom was the only possible place to keep the babies bottle she was understandably disappointed.

The staff did not appear too surprised and told us Joe William the duty manager would be back in the morning. I booked the first appointment to see him at 8.30am. There were no other rooms / suites or accommodation that would be available for us.

I met Joe in the morning and expressed my concern regarding the resort and standard of rooms and he quickly accepted that I wanted a refund and to move resorts.
He explained that all refunds would come from Luxury Escapes as the hotel does not get paid for 1 month after the patrons have visited.
He proceeded to cancel our stay as well as that of our friends the Dalman Family forthwith at the resort after having just stayed one evening and would pass on this information to Luxury escapes to enable both our refunds to be processed.

I asked to speak to the Manager in charge of the hotel who they contacted by cell phone. They explained the situation but unfortunately we were then told she was in a “business meeting” and would not be able to return my call!

During our one night stay we encountered a number of other dissatisfied guests mainly from Australia some of which had complained and many others planning to leave.

I spoke to one of the resort staff in confidence as we left and they informed me they had had many unhappy customers of recent, many complaints and lots who had sought alternative accommodation.
I would like to say on a positive note the staff were very courteous, pleasant and welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank tashlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

How can you mess up a stay in Fiji? It is near impossible to do so. The Pearl resort is very nice. Very comfortable and the staff are super friendly. The rooms are clean and maintained well for it being so remote. The property is awesome and you will love the pool and outdoor activities offered. There is only one drawback and that is the price. It is pretty expensive. And they take only Fijian currency. The hotel will gladly exchange your money for you but they charge a decent transaction fee to do so. My advice would be to brush up on the currency exchange rates, change your money at a bank, or simply be prepared to pay extra for the convenience. But like I said, how can you possibly mess up anything on a trip like this. It is Fiji after all!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diverlisa197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

This is our second stay at The Pearl. This time we had an ocean view ground unit. The room was a good size, clean although a little noisy at nigh, no biggyt. All the staff are excellent, with loads of smiles. The breakfast is very good, loads of choices and a nice view. Sunday BBQ lunch is great, good food and great entertainment .We also enjoyed the massage there, very good.
There were some works going on, but that didn't interfere at all, infact was great to watch.
They have added a new woodfired pizza by the pool, great food!
The Pearl is a short distance to many other places to eat, which is great. If you are in Pacific Harbor you must try Baka Blues, Oasis and Club Oceanus. Just be mindful its about 2hrs from Nadi, however you get to see lots on the way and once your there..paradise.
Yes we would go back.
Deb

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ozzy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Harbour
1.1 mi away
Uprising Beach Resort
Uprising Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
22.0 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#5 of 23 in Coral Coast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,385 reviews
34.6 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in Sigatoka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Nanuku Auberge Resort
Nanuku Auberge Resort
#1 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
5.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
43.3 mi away
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
34.3 mi away
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Resort

Property: The Pearl Resort
Address: Queens Road, Pacific Harbour, Viti Levu, Fiji (Formerly Centra Resort)
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Pacific Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Pacific Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on one of Fiji's longest sandy beaches and surrounded by lush tropical gardens, The Pearl Resort is an idyllic escape in the heart of Fiji's adventure capital of Pacific Harbour. The chic and stylish Fiji accommodation will set the perfect mood for your perfect holiday with Ocean, Marina or Garden View rooms and Penthouse Suites available to choose from while Internationally acclaimed chefs create diverse menus that reflect both local and international cuisine in no fewer than six on-site restaurants including the signature fine dining restaurant, Seduce. Synonymous with romance, The Pearl Resort is the perfect location to host a Fiji wedding and provides couples with some of the best wedding packages in Fiji. These include a variety of venue options such as the elegant beachfront chapel and a dedicated wedding coordinator to help ensure everything runs smoothly. Whether you're looking for an adrenaline charged adventure holiday or a luxurious vacation to relax, unwind and recharge, The Pearl Resort is the ultimate holiday destination for the discerning traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your The Pearl Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pearl South Pacific Hotel Pacific Harbour
Pearl South Pacific Harbour
The Pearl Resort Fiji, South Pacific - Pacific Harbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing