We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great 8 Days”
Review of The Pearl Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Pearl Resort
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Pacific Harbour
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We visited The Pearl during July this year and despite the construction issues we had a great time. Our room (307) was away from the work area with an ocean view. The staff were great, friendly and most helpful.

As part of our package we were picked up from the Nadi airport. The trip took about two hours. The transfer service was fantastic, both the pick up and return.

We visited the Galoa Village as part of our package and this was a most worthwhile experience. We took some little gifts for the children which were appreciated.

The walk to the Cultural Centre is an easy and pleasant walk which also has a supermarket and several restaurants to provide an alternative to The Pearl.

I would also suggest a church visit even if you're not religious as it provides an insight into village life and the singing is magnificent.

We also had a meal in the place next door which was equally friendly.

I understand the construction issues however they had very little impact on our stay. Sometimes, with a little positive thinking these things lose their importance.

Room Tip: We had an ocean view room which was terrific. Room 307 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (995)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

494 - 500 of 995 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

While it appears on its website to have beautiful extensive gardens and direct access to the river, it is in fact a massive construction site with fences blocking access to much of the property and confining guests to one small area fronting a miserable narrow strip of beach that disappears at high tide. In our opinion, given the state of the place, the limited grounds left available for guests to enjoy, and the disruption caused by the building works, The Pearl should have been closed down. We found the rooms to be old, musty and tired, and resemble what one might expect to find in a cheap 2-star hotel. The website declares all rooms have been renovated - if that's true I can't imagine how bad it was before! Food was not to our taste - greasy, boring and over-priced. Breakfast comes with other people's crumbs left all over the table, chairs and floor. We are not usually complainers, but found we were certainly not the only ones who were disappointed by the state of this so-called resort - we spoke to others who couldn't wait to get out of there, and the general feeling amongst the other guests seemed to be one of embarrassment that we had all actually chosen to spend our money on such a run-down place for our holiday. With hundreds of other resorts to choose from in Fiji, we really wish we had looked more carefully before making the decision to stay in this expensive dump.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Henry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We moved to Fiji from Canada and made the huge mistake of staying at the Pearl Resort while we searched for a home. The rooms were dirty and had bugs, the staff at the front desk were horribly rude to us, we asked to change rooms many times and they kept telling us they would get back to us and they of course never did. The food was horrible and expensive for what you got, buffet breakfast was something like 70 Fijian dollars and most of it was cold. They ignored our complaints which turns out to be a big mistake on their part as we live very close in Pacific Harbour and we go out to dinner and brunch and we will never go back there and never recommend our friends to go there to stay or to eat. The Pearl is not where you want to go if you want a pleasant stay in Fiji or want to know what the Fijian people are really like!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
9  Thank jchristy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I have lived in Fiji for over 5 years and knew the Pearl to be an excellent resort. However during my recent stay while attending a week long conference, I was disappointed. Rooms have bugs and cockroaches. Food quality has also dropped. Their usual charm is missing. Pearl, please buck up.....

Room Tip: Rooms with ocean view are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Krishnan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

The Pearl is no Hilton but satisfied myself wife and 20 month year old. A great change from Denarau resorts with a nice sandy beach and loads of activities. Perfect day is a shark dive with Beqa http://fijisharkdive.com followed by Bula massage with Frannie and family then happy hour at Pearl resort with guitar and singing then Baca Blues for New Orleans cuisine nearby.

Food at resort is ok but also try the nearby restaurants.

Vinaka

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank chassah67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Beautiful resort,friendly staff..Lovely pool and bar.Alcohol in general is more expensive than in Australia,because they have to import everything.They organizing different themed nights,Italian,French,Fijian night..We loved Fijian nights the most ,traditional dance,traditional food.Walking distance to Pearl is a small village where you can get great traditional Fijian massage (1.5- 2 hours for approx $10),laundry services and good,cheap food .
Apart from the long drive from the airport (3.5 hours) on the bumpy road and a couple of rainy days ,everything else was just perfect

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Tanya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We booked our stay through an online deal which advertised it as a 5 star luxury resort. Unfortunately, The Pearl is anything but luxury.
From cockroaches, to mold and general dirt (possibly from the construction) the hotel was a major disappointment.
In fact, when we checked out after only 1 night of our booked 5 night star, none of the staff were surprised.
The Staff in the restaurant were the only good thing about this resort.

Would I stay here again or recommend to others - NO

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank 324R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Harbour
1.1 mi away
Uprising Beach Resort
Uprising Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
660 reviews
21.9 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#1 of 4 in Korolevu
2,752 reviews
56.4 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
#8 of 10 in Sigatoka
507 reviews
1.7 mi away
Nanuku Auberge Resort
Nanuku Auberge Resort
#1 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
212 reviews
43.2 mi away
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Resort

Address: Queens Road, Pacific Harbour, Viti Levu, Fiji (Formerly Centra Resort)
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Pacific Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Pacific Harbour
Price Range: £58 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on one of Fiji's longest sandy beaches and surrounded by lush tropical gardens, The Pearl Resort is an idyllic escape in the heart of Fiji's adventure capital of Pacific Harbour. The chic and stylish Fiji accommodation will set the perfect mood for your perfect holiday with Ocean, Marina or Garden View rooms and Penthouse Suites available to choose from while Internationally acclaimed chefs create diverse menus that reflect both local and international cuisine in no fewer than six on-site restaurants including the signature fine dining restaurant, Seduce. Synonymous with romance, The Pearl Resort is the perfect location to host a Fiji wedding and provides couples with some of the best wedding packages in Fiji. These include a variety of venue options such as the elegant beachfront chapel and a dedicated wedding coordinator to help ensure everything runs smoothly. Whether you're looking for an adrenaline charged adventure holiday or a luxurious vacation to relax, unwind and recharge, The Pearl Resort is the ultimate holiday destination for the discerning traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Pearl Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pearl South Pacific Hotel Pacific Harbour
Pearl South Pacific Harbour
The Pearl Resort Fiji, South Pacific - Pacific Harbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing