We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Pearl; lovely resort”
Review of The Pearl Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Pearl Resort
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Pacific Harbour
Reviewed 10 October 2010

Totally recommend the pearl if you're on that side of Fiji anyway. The place has a great atmosphere, really friendly staff, the food is fantastic, and there are plenty of activities to keep you busy. It's also not too far from Suva if you want to head into town. It's hardly cheap, but on the other hand we're not on mega bucks and we found it affordable.
The only downside is that the area isn't what you might have pictured - the sea can be quite choppy, and to do any decent snorkelling you need to head out to Bequa Lagoon by jetski which is costly and takes a while. Reading other reviews about Fiji I'll be heading to the north of the island next time - but this is no refelction on the Pearl.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alltheamesaretaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (994)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

854 - 860 of 994 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2010

One of the best hotel's we've stayed at. Location! Location! Location. The Pearl has the most amazing views. Beautiful pools, GREAT food, excellent spa, friendly staff and great room service. Pretty much everything is within walking distance: the town, crafts market, the diving center. We however went diving with Beqa Adventures.. I would highly recommend them. They pick you up from the hotel docks if you inform them in advance. If you are on the adventurous side, the Shark dive is A must. The ziplining center is about 3km away. Explore the road from Pacific Harbor and Suva!

Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank VibhaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2010

Arriving at the resort as night fell was the best possible first impression of the Pearl, lanterns were lit lining the driveway and tropical flowers were everywhere, and we were shown a truly beautiful place. Rooms were very nice, spacious and cool, and we were not disappointed with our garden view which looked onto a very quiet and pretty landscaped garden and lily ponds. Unfortunately during our 5 night stay the weather was not fantastic, got rained on a few times. Once we left the resort were told it is the 'wet side of the island', it rained for about a day and a half, unfortunately most was on our last day which meant we didn't get to do snorkeling or jet skiing which was a shame.

The meals were very tasty and the theme nights proved a nice break from the normal relatively limited menu. Thai and Indian nights were held during our stay. Breakfasts which were included were really nice, all we were looking for with juices, cereals, toast, muffins, pastries and pancakes too, as well as a delicious selection of fruit.

The pool was pretty but quite cold, we found a swim in the ocean very nice and warmer too. The beach is long and nice for a walk, and very quiet which was true of our whole time in Pacific Harbour. The Arts Village (10-15 minute walk away) was a disappointment, the cultural shows don't run unless they are expecting a bus apparently, but we got some cheap lunches, a souvenir and a really nice smoothie. The supermarket was closed (for refurbishment?) but the handful of local grocery shops across the road from the pearl were really handy for snacks and drinks etc. Also we suggest when getting to the resort you do not get a mini bus, they are as cheap as the main coaches but we had a terrifying 2.5 hours.

Overall it is a very pretty resort, the Pearl Press delivered each night was handy too, showing the next days free activities and the location of happy hour (which seriously depends on the weather). We enjoyed our days of relaxing, lounging in the pool area and walking up the beach in this quiet, secluded resort where it feels as though only a few people are staying with you.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cbayre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

We spent 5 nights at the Pearl, and were married in a simple private ceremony on the beach there.
Everything was more perfect than our wildest dreams. The place itself is beautiful - elegant without being pretentious. I loved the flowers that magically appeared everywhere - even on the basins in the toilets! The staff are absolutely amazing - they can't do enough for you... and always with a genuine smile. (sorry guys, I can't name you all!) We felt we were leaving family when it was time to check out.
We were upgraded to the penthouse on arrival, and couldn't believe our good fortune! It was, like the rest of the resort, immaculately clean, comfortable and luxurious.
The location of the resort was perfect for us - as far from the hustle and bustle of everyday life as is possible without sacrificing the comfort of the 'mod cons'. We didn't bother actually doing very much, as we were there for our wedding, but there were plenty of activities available, and many of our fellow guests took part - particularly the dive and snorkel trips. We did get in a round of golf on the Championship Course, and even if you don't play, it's worth doing just to take in the stunning scenery.
Every meal we had was excellent, either in the beautifully appointed restaurant upstairs, or out on the deck with a glorious view of the ocean and islands, with service that we have never experienced anywhere else.
Happy Hour was a highlight of each day - the beautiful harmonies of the Fijian serenaders, the friendly ambience created by happy staff and guests, not to mention the cocktails!
The wedding itself was a fairytale! We felt like the only people who had ever been married there, and the wonderful staff arranged and carried out every little detail as if we were family.
I can't speak highly enough of the Pearl.. the place, the people, the food, the views, the service, were all far more than we could have imagined. We're planning to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Billy-Jo-Adelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2010

The Pearl is a great place to stay. The only downer is that its 3 hours from Nadi by bus. However the long trip was worth it. The hotel is lovely. The setting is great, a very long beach with lots of privacy if you want it, virtually your own beach for miles. The pool area is fantastic and the grounds are very pretty. There are free activities scheduled everyday, biking, Kayaking, snorkling etc. The room was very attractive and the bathroom very swish. There are 2 restaurants (I read a brouchure that said there were 4) and both are averagely priced. The food was ok as oppossed to great. There needs to be more variety on the menu and more effort needs to got into flavours. The free breakfast was very good. Overal the staff were very friendly and catering. One of the best things about this holiday was that there was hardly anyone at the hotel, at least it seemed that way. I would definity recommend the Pearl and would love to go again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwi255106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2010

I think there are better places to stay in Fiji that are not 2.5 hours drive from Nadi. Don't get me wrong, the place has great scenery and most of the staff are very friendly. If you don't mind the travel time and are after a quiet, chill out place where you can lay on the beach/poolside and just operate on Fiji time doing very little then this place is ideal. If you want to party up then it's probably not for you. If you are on a budget then you may want to stay somewhere closer to alternative food options. We had breakfast included in our deal so to cover lunch and dinner for 2 we spent about 100-150 fiji dollars a day. They have happy hour at beach bar, the passionfruit mojito went down a treat. We stayed in an Ocean View Room, it was clean and tidy. All up, 7/10.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lotogunz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2010

My impression was set the moment we came in the gates by the beautiful grounds... green and luscious and beautifully manicured. A blade of grass dare not grow and paint dare not discolour!

The pool area is also lovely. A couple of 4 posted hammocks with shades surround the pool (and as a suggestion to the Managers -another couple wouldn't go astray as they're popular). There's a swim-up bar which looks nice though I didn't see anyone using it, I'm not sure if that's due to it being unattended as the Barperson based themself in the bar above or if it's due to the water being a little cool.

I stayed in a garden room, which didn't fail to disappoint. The room was spacious, light and clean. Like another blogger, my sheets were also stained with what looked like old blood. I could tell the sheets were clean so I didn't complain.

The service was acceptable for a small resort though by no means great. For example: I asked for ice to be brought to the room & after waiting 40 minutes I gave up and went to the restaurant for dinner.
I also had to ask the Barperson several times for a drink as I was forgotten.
I would rate the food 4 out of 5. Squid was a little overcooked though the 2 other lunches and the other dinner I had was excellent.
Exceptions can be easily made as the staff will do anything to make your experience special and honour any request no matter how outrageous.

Happy Hour at the Beach House (which is 4-6pm) is directly overlooking the sea meeting the river. It's a great place to watch the sunset.
We were entertained by a local 3 piece acoustic guitar band. They sang and played Fijian and common English songs... they were really good.
The surprising thing was only around 15 guests at the most attended Happy Hour! It's also a good place to keep in mind if you need a place to celebrate a birthday or wedding! It's a pretty spot.
Overall I loved the peace and serenity. (I only saw 1 child there the whole time – there doesn’t seem to be a lot for kids to do, unlike some of the other resorts in Fiji). Also, I liked the feeling of ‘exclusiveness’... it felt as though there was only a few other guests around.
My friend says the Spa was amazing... the massages send you floating out the door! I also enjoyed talking to a couple of local Fijian's - I think they either work in the resort or for a local tour operator.
Summing it up I'll definitely go back to the Pearl again!! Thank-you!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieCastaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Harbour
1.1 mi away
Uprising Beach Resort
Uprising Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
660 reviews
21.9 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#1 of 4 in Korolevu
2,748 reviews
56.5 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
#9 of 10 in Sigatoka
507 reviews
1.7 mi away
Nanuku Auberge Resort
Nanuku Auberge Resort
#1 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
212 reviews
43.3 mi away
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Resort

Address: Queens Road, Pacific Harbour, Viti Levu, Fiji (Formerly Centra Resort)
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Pacific Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Pacific Harbour
Price Range: £56 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on one of Fiji's longest sandy beaches and surrounded by lush tropical gardens, The Pearl Resort is an idyllic escape in the heart of Fiji's adventure capital of Pacific Harbour. The chic and stylish Fiji accommodation will set the perfect mood for your perfect holiday with Ocean, Marina or Garden View rooms and Penthouse Suites available to choose from while Internationally acclaimed chefs create diverse menus that reflect both local and international cuisine in no fewer than six on-site restaurants including the signature fine dining restaurant, Seduce. Synonymous with romance, The Pearl Resort is the perfect location to host a Fiji wedding and provides couples with some of the best wedding packages in Fiji. These include a variety of venue options such as the elegant beachfront chapel and a dedicated wedding coordinator to help ensure everything runs smoothly. Whether you're looking for an adrenaline charged adventure holiday or a luxurious vacation to relax, unwind and recharge, The Pearl Resort is the ultimate holiday destination for the discerning traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Pearl Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pearl South Pacific Hotel Pacific Harbour
Pearl South Pacific Harbour
The Pearl Resort Fiji, South Pacific - Pacific Harbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing