We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous location and property”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Takali

Outdoor Living
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Outdoor Living
Logo Living
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
Outdoor Living
Logo
Living
Location
Dining
Beach in front of Villa Takali
Pool
Villa Takali
Pool
Kitchen
Cinema
Cinema
Suite 4
Master Suite
Golf Green
Suite 2
Suite 3
Suite 3
Outdoor Living
Beachfront dining
Master Suite
Entry
Suite 2
Laze away the day
Suite 3
Dining
Kids bunk room
Exterior
Kitchen
Master Suite
Exterior
Daybed
Library/Office
Tennis & Basketball
Tennis & Basketball
Private Beach
Sunset
Pool
Tukini - Villa Host
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Pacific Harbour, Coral Coast, Viti Levu

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Andrew B
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Gorgeous location and property”
Reviewed 18 April 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Villa Takali is incredible. Semi-private beach, huge infinity pool, palatial estate! There is a movie theatre and a wide selection of films that are also available within the rooms for when the weather is a little crummy, and more than enough room across the property for everyone to do what they like.

Staff was absolutely wonderful and went above and beyond!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navigate1...
1 review
“Fabulous Villa”
Reviewed 7 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Our extended family of 10 stayed at Takali from Christmas through New Years. Villa is well designed with lots of common areas and large bedrooms. Having the large pool and beach right in front of the house was great - we practically had the whole stretch of beautiful beach to ourselves. We loved using the tennis/basketball court every day as well. Food was delicious and Tukini, Ala, and crew were fabulous.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louis8160
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“it does not get better”
Reviewed 3 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We are a family of 7 and travel every Christmas season.This has been our best villa by far and we have stayed in some great places.The food is divine and staff terrific.Could easily have been a family of 12 and use no cots which could easily be added

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amrp2012
California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A memorable vacation”
Reviewed 20 August 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed at Villa Takali for 8 nights in Dec 2015 to celebrate a major birthday. We were a party of 9; 5 adults in their 50s/60s and 4 boys in their early 20s. The compound is larger than it appears in the photos. There were ample places to hang out together, but also enough space that people could easily find a quiet spot to relax by themselves. All the bedrooms are are actually very spacious suites. The master bedroom is even more impressive and like a compound within a compound. In addition to the large bedroom, lounge area, bathroom and walk-in robe it also has an enclosed private back garden with hot tub. We used the lounge area for massages every day.

The attention to detail in the construction and fittings is very impressive. Clearly the owner spared no expense to create a 5-star resort that does an excellent job of blending traditional Fijian architecture with all the mod cons. Jonathan (the owner) and Mark (his manager) were very easy to deal with throughout the booking and planning process.

The sandy beach is literally steps away. Although it is a public beach it was so quiet it was like having your own private beach. Great snorkeling right off the beach and the villa has a couple of kayaks which we used frequently. The huge Infinity pool was also used practically every day. The villa includes use of a van which came in handy. We used it multiple times, to drive to Suva, for sightseeing in the area, as well as to get to Nadi to go deep sea fishing.

I recommend deep sea fishing. I prefer flying to boats, but this was fun. The nice thing about Fiji is you can go deep sea fishing, but still be in sight of land. We caught several fish including three yellowfin tuna. I’m not sure if this is specific to Fiji, but it seems that whichever boat you charter will only allow you to keep one fish. Initially I wasn’t keen on this, but it turned out to be a non-issue. The tuna was large enough that we were able to have a feast of fresh sashimi that evening and the next.

For my birthday the staff organized some locals to play guitar and sing for us while we had champagne and snacks prior to a traditional Fijian feast. I also requested a meke (Fijian traditional dance performance) after dinner which was a unique and wonderful experience for everyone. We topped it off with a kava ceremony - an “interesting” beverage. All in all it was a memorable way to spend my birthday.

One of the few minor quibbles I had was that when we did the lovo it was raining so the outdoor part was canceled. I presumed they were doing it somewhere under shelter, and that they would bring us over to watch how they cooked the food. However, that didn’t happen. The food was tasty, but I was also after the experience.

We chose the full food service option and I’m very glad we did. There was always plenty of food. In fact, despite having four young males with healthy appetites, there was never a day when we were able to finish everything. I think this may have something to do with the Fijian culture of sharing; to cook extra so that the staff can also partake. The food was tasty, healthy and there was a lot of variety. The seafood was, of course, fantastic. I wrote to the chef before we left to discuss the menu. The staff were also very accommodating with on-the-fly changes and requests.

The villa is located between Nadi and Suva. It is a quiet area, which suited us as my goal was to rent a place where we could enjoy each other’s company and nature. The only downside was a few bugs, but unfortunately that goes with the territory in any tropical location.

Finally, a shout out to Tukini, Ala (his wife) and the entire staff who looked after us. Fijians are renowned for their friendliness and the staff at Villa Takali are great ambassadors for their country. A special commendation to Ala who has a wonderful personality and just does a fantastic job. She is also an excellent singer!

Overall, great value and a very memorable vacation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Beautiful villa, setting and friendly staff
Liked least: A few bugs
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wrk2475
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
“Excellent Vacation, Marvelous Time”
Reviewed 6 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Myself, my three adult children and their spouses stayed at Villa Takali for 10 days in late May. From the time we arrived to the time we departed everything was perfect.
Tukini, Ala and the rest of the staff tended to our every need without being intrusive. We chose the food and bar option which turned out to be delightful in every way. I cannot say enough good things about this special place. Truly a slice of paradise. We have already decided to book again next year. You cannot go wrong.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Total relaxation in paradise
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markedwar...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“2nd time- as good as the first time”
Reviewed 16 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

we were a group of 17 (6 adults and 11 children aged 11-17). this was our second time to Villa Takali and again we loved every minutre of being there. For such a large group there was so much room, that allowed all of us to have space when needed but to be able to all come together at other times.

the pool is absolutely fantastic and we could not keep the kids out.

again tukini ala and all the staff were fantastic -all were very approachable and saw to our every need

again i could not recommended this strongly enough to any group. the most relaxing place you could go to.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David V
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“The best of Fiji.”
Reviewed 13 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Booking online for a large group of 11 is a bit daunting. You hope that the photos and description, live up to the expectations. I can honestly say that Villa Takali exceeded any expectations we had. The Fijian staff are professional yet informal, making you feel so welcome and everything seem effortless - amazing people. The property itself is outstanding. The pictures do not do it justice. Huge, well appointed rooms which are more like apartments, massive pool, with a fantastic beach. Tennis court, theatre and outdoor dining. I cannot recommend highly enough, you won't be disappointed.

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing