We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much more than a luxury resort.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nanuku Auberge Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Pacific Harbour
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Nanuku for 5 wonderful nights with our 2 children.
Upon arrival we were welcomed to the resort in a manner I can only describe as overwhelming. Staff in traditional warrior attire playing welcoming songs.
We were given an introduction to staff members, followed by a drink of pure coconut milk served in the coconut itself, and then Walter, the executive chef, gave us a sample of the culinary delights that lay ahead. Following this, with my head still spinning, Karen, the General Manager, invited us to their main restaurant after asking if we were hungry; it was 3.30pm, but that doesn't matter at Nanuku because breakfast, lunch and dinner, which are all expertly prepared by their team, is served whenever you are hungry.
I could go on and on about the little details that make this resort so special like Wana (Villa Mama) and Josh who came up with lots of interesting activities for our children. Their genuine affection for our children was obvious and we were all very sad to say goodbye to these 2 wonderful and warm people.
Then there's Nathan at the bar who walked over to our villa every morning at 7.30, smiling while dropping off our latte's before our yoga class with Pela, who is a wonderful instructor. Thanks guys, we'll miss the coffee, the yoga, and the laughs we had.
Others I need to mention are David and Isaac and all the other multi skilled and talented staff members that sang and played guitar during our many delicious meals. Thank-you, you create such a wonderful ambience for the guests and it was so unexpected.
To all the staff in the restaurant: Lemba, Queeny, Manu and Sophie just to name a few -you're wonderful.
As for the spa, any treatment from Lita is a must!!
Finally, the send off; a Fijian goodbye song, a freshly baked cake just for us and a few words from the team thanking us before they all followed us to the car, singing and playing guitar. There were lots of hugs, lots of tears, mostly from me, and they waved, as did we, until our car was out of sight.
If you can find a resort anywhere in the world, and we've been to quite a few, that offers this level of personalised, sincere and heartfelt service in a luxurious environment, then i'd like to know about it as I've never experienced anything like it.
Karen, well done. You, Vesi and the team have created something very special at Nanuku that no amount of corporate customer service programs and scripting will ever be able to deliver; a service culture based on the genuine desire to treat every guest as an individual by a team genuinely committed to that concept because of their own values. Exceptional.

Everyone else who reads this long review...stop your search, stay here, nothing else comes close.


  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Ausfamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kt1957, General Manager at Nanuku Auberge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

It is wonderful when the hospitality we offer is so warmly embraced. The opportunity to share genuine care in a world that is often less than caring is a gift that cannot be bought. Our team at Nanuku strive to recognise the needs of each guest and in turn they enjoy the satisfaction that comes from making a difference. Thank you for your perspective of this experience which will be passed on to all the Nanuku team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

192 - 198 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

What can you say when you have been treated to the most enjoyable, relaxing holiday we have ever had. Our first trip to Fiji and what a magical experience it was. From our arrival at the resort to the time we left everything and everyone were wonderful. We arrived at 7.30pm on a Sunday night tired from our days travelling, but were welcomed with a beautiful 3 course meal which was the first of many outstanding menus. For the next 7 days it was living in paradise. We stayed in the Vinakau treetop villa which overlooks the lagoon enabling us to enjoy both amazing sunrises and sunsets. With the doors open at night the sounds of the ocean almost directly below us was like living in a meditation tape. How soothing to hear the waves breaking and have the ocean breeze drifting through your bedroom. Each morning we would take a walk along the beach before breakfast so as not to feel guilty enjoying all the wonderful treats presented to us. Fresh fruit juices and local tropical fruit, delicious pastries, great coffee and of course my favourite eggs benedict, whilst my wife dined on the fresh local fish. It was exciting each day in anticipation of what what be on our menus for lunch and dinner and we were never disappointed. At each meal the fijian musicians entertained us with there soft and harmonious voices and it added an extra touch to meal time. On our last Saturday night it was truly paradise sitting beneath a full moon with the waves lapping at the sand only metres from where we sat a warm breeze and moonlight across the lagoon, life doesn't get any better than this There were many activities to be enjoyed at the resort and a host of other activities which could be organised by the staff at Nanuku. Now the most outstanding feature of the resort, the fijian people. What a delight for us to meet and be treated to the most genuine and warm hospitality you could possibly imagine. It would be unfair to name particular staff as each and everyone of them went out of their way to ensure you were being looked after. Each morning you were greeted with warm beaming smiles that would brighten any day. They were all locals and loved to talk with you about their lives and families. They were hospitable, never became flustered and their quiet and relaxing manner made everything seem calm and serene. If you want relaxation, privacy, wonderful food, exotic location then Nanuku is the place for you.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kt1957, General Manager at Nanuku Auberge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

The moon was magic! With so many wonderful settings to showcase Mother Nature... it is hard to beat. Thanks for the comments which have been passed on to the Nanuku team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My husband, son and I stayed for 7 nights in May.

As a family option, you can't look past the Nanny system. Mary allowed us to all relax as a family, which was such a treat. Rather than check our young son into a kids club and not see him, we were able to include him in all our activities but with Mary unobtrusively in the background, ready to amuse him when the excursion proved too much, the meal too long, the swim too short! This meant that I truly was able to have more of a holiday than I ever had, as I was able to listen to the full presentation at the crab farm, talk to the locals, enjoy my dinner, without having to walk away and distract him, cut short my conversation, or push back from the table with my meal unfinished. What a treat, and a wonderful balance. The only drawback was my son was in danger of becoming a little lordling as he enjoyed the doting of the staff. When we finally took off from the airport, he turned around and said, "Where's Mary?", before bursting into tears when told she wasn't coming with us.

The boutique aspect of the resort really shines through with dining. On arrival we met with the Head Chef, Walter, who asked for a brief outline of the style of food we enjoyed and anything we needed to avoid. Then at every lunch and dinner we were presented with a small menu, with two options of entree, main and dessert. Walter's style and palate are excellent, and we appreciated the imaginative introduction to Fijian ingredients. Breakfast was outstanding, a gorgeous pastry/muffin basket, and lovely 'main' options, with varied options including light, substantial, traditional and adventurous, so we were all catered for more than adequately. The service was a perfect balance of friendly, yet discrete - thank you Lemba, Queenie, Sophie. Nathan mixed up great cocktails and the perfect coffee. Manu organised efficiently the location of our meal, whether in the private dining room, the terrace, the bar or at our villa; the varying locations according to our whim was lovely. I expressly loved the idea of not having to wait for a table, nor jostle elbows at the buffet, which I imagine you would do at the larger resorts.

I had the most divine beauty treatments - my favourite being the coconut milk and salt scrub.

The 'Bula Boys' were wonderful, we really enjoyed the music, and the activities team tailored everything to what and when we wanted; a bush bike-ride, running trails, snorkling, excursions, a trip to Nanuku island. They welcomed our son with open arms, playing with him in the pool, encouraging him to be a 'Fijian Warrior' and take part in the nightly lighting of the torches ceremony.

The accommodation was very good. I was a little confused by their website as to the exact configurations of the villas. Perhaps a floorplan would be useful. To explain, there are 7 villa complexes (+ the treetop penthouses which we didn't see). The villa complexes can be reserved as a whole, or split into three separate options. The Beachfront villa is just that - almost directly on the beach with wonderful views and use of the Grand Villa garden and large pool. The Grand Villa has an enormous kitchen where you could do some serious cooking/entertaining, with a large lounge room, and the bedroom and massive bathroom upstairs. The Garden Villa is set back a little, and is two stories, each level identical in layout but not in decor. This is where we stayed. We had both the upstairs and downstairs, but as the entry to the upper level is external, we weren't comfortable with our young son sleeping by himself, so we used the downstairs suite during the day, and upstairs for sleeping only, our son on one of the daybeds. The private plunge pool, garden and lounging areas were great. Our Villa Mamma was great. The outdoor double showers were a luxury that my son and husband adored.

When we stayed the resort was pretty quiet, mostly travel agents and travel writers in and out for a night sampling the delights of the resort. We talked to a fair few and they all seemed pretty impressed.

If you are arriving from Sydney, consider flying into Suva (I believe there are flights on Fridays and Mondays) to cut down on travel time. It mightn't be far to Nadi as the crow flies, but the speed limit is low and the road a little winding so it takes longer than you think to get there. But given you arrive by private transfer, it's not too bad.

One point - the pools (both the main and the villa plunge pool) could have been heated.

Nanuku, we'd love to come back and stay again sometime...

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank weekendhopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kt1957, General Manager at Nanuku Auberge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Will look into heating the pools! In summer not an issue as sea and pools are heated naturally! But we do have the hot tubs and the beach front spa jacuzzi now completed! Thanks for the lovely review and the staff were really pleased that their service made your stay special.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

BULA VINAKA!

Usually as the plane descends, I get all nostalgic and am glad to be nearing home, however good the holiday. This trip was different...

Had the plane turned back to Fiji, I'd have been thrilled. Nanuku was perfection.
The accommodation, main areas and gardens were sumptuous, the location was superb, the on-site facilities were excellent, the off-site adventures engaging and the staff went above and beyond all expectations.

6am arrival? No problem - a private taxi will collect you and breakfast will be waiting. None of those regulated dining hours.
A snorkel? Whenever you're ready, one of the staff will take you out - and another will have a fresh coconut husked for you to drink as you emerge onto the beach an hour later.
6pm flight out? None of this 10am check-out. "Have lunch with us while we organise your transfer."
And farewell you in song. (The daily music was another highlight.)

Our thanks to all the staff, too numerous to list but all beautiful people.

Read the reviews below. Then book and pack. It's all true.

Room Tip: Our Villa Vitu 7 was too big for two!!! Perfect for family groups. Investigate smaller options for c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kt1957, General Manager at Nanuku Auberge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thanks for being such a fun guest and for engaging in the local culture and safari adventures, and your feedback. Also for the great photos! Fiji is a unique destination and so much more than just a beach when you decide to truly explore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We have just come back from 3 magical days at the gorgeous Nanuku Resort. The resort itself is beautiful from the finishes (we loved all the shells over the bar) to the gorgeous staff who attended to our every need and the wonderful reception from Karen , Paul and Nanise. We had a gorgeous suite that was massive, with a lovely plunge pool outside and wrap around deck. Ani our Villa manager would fill our bathtub after dinner and leave rose petals in our room! The food was out of this world, we loved the variety each day and how we could be set up in a private dining room, out with other diners or up in our room. The choices were endless. Vinaka Nanuka for having us, this by far has been our favourite resort and we have been to Fiji over 5 times and seen over 14 luxury resorts. We cant wait to return with our family and friends and experience this all over again.. vinaka Nicole & Stan

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nicole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kt1957, General Manager at Nanuku Auberge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Hi Stan and Nicole, am so delighted to hear that you enjoyed all elements of your Nanuku experience, including my design concepts! It is great to be able to pass on to the team such a great review of their hard work. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

A friend recommended Nunuku and said the resort was simply stunning but it was its location that also appealed to us. It presented us with an opportunity to indulge in a range of activities including a dive like no other in the world with the chance to encounter several species of sharks as well as an abundance of tropical fish but it was the day trip to Nunuku Island which is the stuff day-dreams are made of. Few can say they sipped on wine and beer whilst enjoying the idyllic surrounds of their own private island getaway.

The concept that you have created at Nunuku is truly outstanding. Upon our arrival we were blown away by the reception we received where we were “welcomed home” to the sound of a beating lali drum accompanied by the blowing of a conch shell. To then be escorted through the fantastic surrounds of the resort by Fijian warriors is something we will never forget.

The accommodation was, in a word, breathtaking. As we were led into our villa it was fair to say we were both speechless. Never before had we stayed in such visually stunning rooms. Also, as can be seen in the photo attached, the sunrise we were greeted with each day from the villa’s balcony has made us the envy of all our friends.

Now for the menu. We have both one thing to say to the chefs and that is “kana vinaka!” (I hope that translates to delicious food...). The next time we visit Nunuku we will have to take part in the morning Boot Camp sessions as we found it extremely difficult to not order everything on the menu. Each option we were presented with sounded so mouth-watering and every meal we had during our stay was not only impressive to look at, it was typically Fijian and very tasty! To eat whilst staring out to the nearby islands and listening to the sweet melodies of guitars played by the talented staff was a treat we are unlikely to experience anywhere else in the world.

The highlight for us however was the opportunity to interact with the locals and to gain an understanding of their culture, how they live and what is most important to them. We felt very privileged and indeed honoured to be invited to attend a church service in the nearby village of one of your staff members and to see the passion and devotion they have for their families and to be thankful for everything they have in life was quite special and truly touched our hearts.

While we have been home, we too have recommended Nunuku to those we have come into contact with that are looking for a great holiday. The resort and its location in our opinion is by far the best we have come across but we are acutely aware that the success of any business is determined by the individuals that work within in it. Your staff members dedication to their work and their desire to go out of the way to ensure our stay at Nunuku was first class and would be a memorable one is something they can be very proud of. I think our reaction when it came time for us to finally depart where we wanted to hug each and every staff member we came into contact with speaks volumes about the quality of the people that make Nunuku such a success.

In our short stay we made many friends but to those staff members working tirelessly behind the scenes that we did not have the pleasure of meeting we thank you for making our stay a great one but be rest assured we will return to Nunuku where hopefully we can meet you all....possibly in the morning fitness sessions :)

Vinaka!

Gavin and Kirstie

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kirstie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kt1957, General Manager at Nanuku Auberge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your amazing photos. I have shared your comments with the team at Boot Camp. The staff really appreciated hearing that you enjoyed their service and their culture, and the value of a community spirit which is an integral part of who they are.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

In April our children,grandchildren and us (11 all told) spent 8 wonderful days at the beautiful, newly opened Nanuku Resort
Our accommodation was top class, very tastefully decorated with many special touches, our bedroom was large with ceiling to floor windows offering a view of our own garden and plunge pool, our bathroom was more than adequate but we chose to shower in our own private ourdoor shower set in a tropical fern courtyard, loved the fluffy white towels. Each day our Villa Mamma, Alitia made up our rooms with fresh flowers and leaves and was always willing to help in any way.
All the staff, from reservations right through to the gardeners were wonderful, always smiling and using each of our names from the first day. A special thank you to our very patient nannies, Polly, Ama and Uner, the wait staff Lemba, Queeny, Christy, Onny, Sofie, Manu, Nathan and of course Chris and Walter the chefs. The guys in activities were a lot of fun amusing our kids in the water and on land with Sefa teaching them how many ways the Fijians can use every bit of the coconut and assisting us all with canoeing, paddle boarding and snorkelling plus our morning plus trip in a speed boat to Nanuku's own tiny island where we were the only people on it. We also enjoyed the morning 'Food Safari' trip to the local markets, bit of an eye opener for our grandchildren, then a crab farm visit and finally to a local village where the children led us along a track to where a lady stood in the creek and caught fresh water prawns. Thanks to our knowledgeable driver Andreas. In addition some of us enjoyed a game of golf at the nearby championship golf course. After all this a Balinese massage with Viri is a must. We were most impressed with the food, which had a lovely Asian touch. We are not newcomers to Fiji so we knew to expect relaxed 'Fiji Time' with some things but we were pleasantly surprised by the overall attention we received. The staff start their day with a Boot Camp run by the very capable and interesting Karen who is the Manager, at the end of the session they sing the Fijian anthem so harmoniously it brings a heartfelt tear to the eye. Our whole experience made us feel very special and we will certainly return. Thank you Nanuku Chris and Anne B

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kt1957, General Manager at Nanuku Auberge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Hi Chris and Anne. Thanks for sharing your impressions of your recent stay. As our inaugural "family group" it was a great learning curve for the team, including the nannies. We are lucky to have such a great resort to allow them to showcase their culture, and they thoroughly enjoyed the opportunity to share with you their customs and traditions. Their home. We know you are seasoned Fiji visitors, so your impressions of your time with us are important. We look forward to welcoming you all again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Harbour
55.8 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
20.4 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#1 of 4 in Korolevu
2,752 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Pearl Resort
The Pearl Resort
#4 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Uprising Beach Resort
Uprising Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
660 reviews
48.6 mi away
InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa
41.8 mi away
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nanuku Auberge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nanuku Auberge Resort

Address: 11 Nanuku Drive, Pacific Harbour, Viti Levu, Fiji (Formerly Nanuku Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Pacific Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Pacific Harbour
Price Range: £499 - £781 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Nanuku Auberge Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auberge Resorts newest luxury resort on the mainland in Fiji. The "guest only" Club House and villas are of traditional Fijian design with a contemporary relaxed style. Arrive anytime day or night by land transfer, or fly into our private air strip. Choose from a suite on the hilltop overlooking Beqa Lagoon or a beachfront villa residence nestled in expansive tropical gardens. Hot jacuzzis, outdoor showers, private pools a golf buggy and King bedroom en-suites some with kitchens and living areas, are perfect for groups, families and couples wanting rest and relaxation. Perfect for multi generational groups, parties or special celebrations. Accommodation package is inclusive of three course gourmet local meals, select non alcoholic beverages (including great coffee)... Your own villa mama and buddy as well as carer and nanny support. Free WiFi throughout, free movies, kayaks, mountain bikes, paddle boards and more. Enjoy natural ventillation or airconditioning. For culture, luxury, and adventure... Nanuku Auberge Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Nanuku Auberge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nanuku Auberge Resort Fiji, South Pacific - Pacific Harbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing