We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAZING”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Uprising Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Pacific Harbour
Toronto
Level Contributor
96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2008

This review comes from two 22 year old Canadian girls with high traveling standards: WE LOVED UPRISING!

The bures are literally just like the photos on the website, clean, spacious, with hibiscus flowers at every turn. They are cleaned daily (late afternoon), but the same linen is used on the beds. We did get new towels twice during our 4 night stay. The outdoor shower (as everyone has said before) is great, not the hottest water, but the experience is well worth it! There are only 13 bures, and we stayed during a slow period, so the small resort was even more personal. The activities staff nearly outnumbered the guests and the guys would try to engage us in volleyball games, horse boarding or other activities - there wasn't excessive pressure to participate like at resorts in the Caribbean. The pool was exceptionally clean as well and the grounds were raked daily. The bugs weren't too bad, but I definitely suggest brining bug spray for night.

You must try horse bording - a mix of waterskiiing behind a horse while on a surf board. It was utterly ridiculous, and I ingested far too much salt water. My friend got up quite quickly and the experience in itself is a blast. You can also take the horses for lovely 4km rides down the beach and brush for $20.

The Jet ski safari offered by the resort was also a blast. Twin share tour $205 each, included snorkeling at bird island as well as lunch and more snorkeling around a larger island, and plenty of time for exploring in whatever direction you want. We drove out for 30-45min to these sites and even passed over the shark dive site on the return home. Well worth the money, as the guides let us each drive back (the guides took the back seat on each jet ski). The machines were quite new and in great working order. Everything felt safe and was incredibly fun - just be prepared for a sore bum the next day from bouncing up and down on the waves during the ride.

The meals at the restaurant are very reasonable and presentation was adorable. Beer is $3.5 (all prices FJD) for local draft to $9 for Heineken bottles, while cocktails were pricey at $14 but worth the cost for such lovely presentation. The pizza($14), nachos($10), stir fry ($14), fish n' chips($10) and even steak($28) were all well priced and offered large portions. The service at the bar and restaurant were great. Paul and Arhcie, the bartenders are very kind and love to talk to guests. They taught us a few key phrases from the 14 different regional dialects of Fiji... basically, just greet people with "BULA" and say thanks with "VINAKA".

We also recommend visiting the arts village (shops close between 4:30 and 5 most nights), where the Oasis Cafe has $9 burger meals, and Perkin's pizza has great things as well. Feel free to barter quite hard with the store keepers as the wooden carvings are beautiful but purposely overpriced - we were offered discounts immediately upon entering the store. The art's village is only a 10 min walk from the resort, but we wouldn't recommend doing it past dusk, as street lights are a rarity in the area.

I would suggest researching your day trips and planning them ahead of time. We knew what we wanted to do but waited to book until we arrived to see what the weather was like. The dives fill up and some rafting tours and dives (shark feeding) are only offered a few days a week, so planning things ahead of time helps. Everything can be booked at reception and they pick you up at the front door of the resort. We did the soft coral dive with AquaTrek Adventures. The tank fills are very generous (230bar) and guides are very professional once you're in the water. The equipment was in good condition and conversation with our small group of other divers passed the time between dives.

We loved the free internet at Uprising! They also have wireless if you bring your own laptop. Not having to pay $10/hour to be online was a nice change from our other hotels in Australia.

A quick note on getting to the resort. It takes about 2 hours if you arrange a private car with the resort, costing $170 FJD. Or for $17 you can take a coach bus for tourists that goes from the airport all the way to Suva. This trip is 3.5 hours due to all the stops. It's cheap and a better option if you aren't in a rush. Upon arriving at the airport there are plenty of information and tour people just hanging around. It's a little sketchy and we had to wait for the bus for about an hour, but overall it was fine. We took Coral Sunshine bus - it broke down and we waited roadside for an hour on the way to Pacific Harbor. - Again, it was a risk/choice we made freely and nothing bad happened on our way home.

Overall the trip was lovely and we had a great time. Regardless of the weather you can't have a bad time in Fiji. The prices were all great (especially since they include tax and tip which adds quite a bit in Canada), and the young vibe was most appreciated. This resort had a wide range of guests, several french families with young children, backpackers from the US, locals who frequented for meals, and Canadians. The staff are very accommodating - anything from food requests to arranging transportation. They genuinely care!

If we could afford the flight back to Fiji we would stay at the uprising again without a doubt!

  • Liked — great price, friendly staff and beautiful scenery
  • Disliked — distance from the airport
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Madeline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    184
    54
    22
    20
See reviews for
123
249
53
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bozeman
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2008

This was by far my favorite resort in Fiji. Unlike the big resorts like Westin or Outrigger...we got an exceptional value for the $180 US that we spent for our gorgeous, Fijian style Bure right on the beach. I loved the outdoor garden shower...taking a shower at night under the stars. We didn't see any bugs or animals inside our room, very clean and lovely. Our room was huge...a big closet, sink, mini fridge, large bed with two smaller cots and a sitting area. We had a private deck with chairs and hammock right on the beach.

The pool and resort area was very beautifully landscaped and taken care of. The restaurant was a bit expensive, but had a good variety and specials nightly. We enjoyed a side-by side massages (each with two women giving the massage...so a 4 handed massage) for only 50 Fijian (about $35 US). Everyone was extremly helpful and friendly. There are great activities all around Pacific Harbour (rafting ,zip lining, etc.)

This is an excellent choice for accomidations, family or romantic getaway. Many places we stayed in Fiji were very overpriced...this was perfect and reasonable for our budget.

  • Liked — Location, Value, Small Resort on Beach
  • Disliked — Price of food and drinks
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank stilldreamingmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2008

Our family of 4 (2 adults and 2 kids aged 8 and 11) enjoyed our 3-night stay in Uprising very much. We had a beach front bure. It was very comfortable and spacious, even with an extra bed added for the 2nd child. The outside bathroom, though fun, was a touch inconvenient when it rained!
The staff was friendly and went out of their way to accommodate. We mentioned we had to leave very early for our rafting on the Navua and for our departure - and breakfast (fruit, cereal and bread) laden on trays were handed to us each night before!!
We also tried out the jet ski, tube rides and snorkelling on offer - all good fun and at reasonable rates.
We had dinner at the restaurant on all three nights - the menu was fairly limited but the quality of the food was acceptable.
We had stayed at Pacific Harbour for the activities (rafting and zip wire) and had accepted that it was on the wet side of the island (and indeed it rained heavily one day and cloudy/drizzling on another). We were very glad to have done so and experienced the genuine friendliness of the fijians - quite a contrast to Plantation Island that we moved on to after Uprising!

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rhpmsfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OC, CA
Level Contributor
121 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2008

My family of 5 stayed in 2 of the ocean front bures for 2 nights 8/07.
This is a quaint place and lived up to the previous reviews.
Activities; Despite the rain, our teenagers had a blast spending hours jet skiing and banana boating. The staff was fantastic taking them out on rides despite the weather.
Warning - Pacific Harbour is somewhat of a wasteland. The cultural center had very few open stores. The planned community was obviously a failure. It is good for the scuba or rafting trips but don't expect anything else.
Room: tropical and large. Taking an evening shower outside gazing at the stars was fantastic. Don't miss it.
Food: very good. One daughter is a vegetarian and had plenty of options. Joe made the best margarita I have ever had ( I live in Southern California so have tried many).
Service: excellent although it might feel a little uncomfortable as there are 10 Fijians "employees' to each guest.
Americans will find this an amazing value!
If we head back to Fiji we will definitely stop by here again.

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — construction and location
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gmgOc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2008

We've just come back from a 10 night stay at the Uprising. We found the resort to be really pretty and the rooms were impressive - kind of quirky, spacious and new. There are a lot of activities at your fingter tips however the organised activities were lacking - such as the theme nights, hash runs & party nights in suva etc which were an attraction for the group I was travelling with. Out of the 10 nights there, only one night had an activity being a firedance and bon fire - sounds fun but unfortunately it was pretty lame. That said though, you make your own fun - Horse riding, horse boarding and the jet ski tour were awesome and absoloute highlights!

Another reason we went was for the surfing - whilst promoted on the site, it turns out surfing wasn't really an option. It costs about $470fj to hire the boat needed to take you to the local break which was about 1.5hrs away. You're better off staying on one of the surf resorts on the islands.

The Uprising has a funky bar however it was surprisingly dead when we were there - except for a night here or there when the bar became over run with locals... at times this was a little intimidating and the paying guests couldn't get near the pool tables. Food at the bar was a bit hit and miss - we had some good meals but when you ordered the same thing the next day it tasted and looked totally different.

A couple of us got a massage when we were there - Never again! It was the worst massage in my life! Cheap oil that stunk and burnt your skin, 3 girls massaging you at once with absoloutely no technique made the whole experience kind of confusing, the massage table cut into your throat and made your eyes water and there were about 10 loud fijians hanging out around the activities shed where the massage was being done. Despites asking that my legs and feet don't get massaged they ended up slobbered in oil. I would pay $50 to not go through that again!

The Pearl is a 5 star resort just 2kms down the beach and very cool & stylish - if you are staying around this area, check it out. It's a relaxing way to spend and arvo drinking cocktails and indulging in great food. We went there for dinner nearly every night.

All in all we had a great stay once we adjusted our expectations and for what you get, it's great value for money!

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy7709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2008

Overall a nice stay. The pros- beautiful grounds, private beach, new rooms. The cons- outdoor shower not good when it rains, you have to walk outside the room to the bathroom, not many activities going on when I was there. This place gets an 'A' for orginality and 'C' for functionality. It is beautiful and relaxing and very good value for money. You can walk about 10 minutes to the Arts Village and get food and souveniers. The 2.5 hour cab ride is grueling after a long flight and cost $140FJ. I accidentally locked myself out of the room and it seemed to be a production to get me back in. It was not well lit at night and didn't want to leave my room for fear of attack from a bug. Fiji looks like Hawaii, but it much more primitive and a little difficult to handle for your average American.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bostravelerBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2008

We were four girls travelling on low budget, and we found The Uprising Beach Resort very suitable. Very nice, cheap food in the restaurant and both the dorm and the bures were very nice and clean. Hot water in the showers, clean sheets and towels, excellent service and very friendly staff. The beach is wonderful and they've got loads of activities - many of them free.The volleyball field is the best i've seen in all of Fiji. Suva is only 40 minutes away and worth a visit.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — slow internet - but free though...
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Susannefw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Harbour
1.1 mi away
The Pearl Resort
The Pearl Resort
#3 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
2.8 mi away
Nanuku Auberge Resort
Nanuku Auberge Resort
#1 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
35.5 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in Sigatoka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#5 of 23 in Coral Coast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,439 reviews
19.4 mi away
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
#8 of 9 in Sigatoka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
43.6 mi away
Gecko's Resort
Gecko's Resort
#4 of 9 in Sigatoka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uprising Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uprising Beach Resort

Property: Uprising Beach Resort
Address: Beach Rd, Pacific Harbour, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Pacific Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Pacific Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Uprising Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylishly nestled on 2 kilometers of sandy beachfront between tropical palms, Uprising offers adventure, relaxation and sheer natural beauty all in one stunning safe location. Imagine a fun friendly place right on the beach where the young and young-at-heart come to play.Authentic Fijian accommodation options range from traditional thatched beachfront Villas and Bures (cottages) to fun tree-house shared facilities. Choose to relax on the beach or by the pool, and have a beachside massage, or take advantage of the many activities on offer. Scuba dive world famous Beqa Lagoon and experience shark diving and soft coral scuba sights, or head into the mountains for a whitewater rafting trip. Other daily activities include game fishing, jet ski island safari’s, golf, shopping at the Arts Village & Cultural Centre of Pacific Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Uprising Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uprising Beach Hotel Pacific Harbour
Hotel Uprising Beach
Uprising Beach Resort Fiji, South Pacific - Pacific Harbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing