We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Uprising Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Pacific Harbour
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in a beachfront bure, and it was the perfect end to a Round the World trip before heading for home in Australia. Most of the staff were super friendly and helpful; some are real characters! (One lazy one behind reception). We enjoyed the entertainment, including drinking kava, fire dancing, and eating lovo (although I would have preferred a more authentic experience sitting around the fire). The room was big and comfortable (although I'd like easy access to a can of insect spray just in case) and we used the little balcony and the sun lounges a lot. We enjoyed the pool, but found ourselves much more in the ocean. The food was great and we really enjoyed the mocktails, although I wish they sold young coconuts. The easy access to massages, henna work and free access to stand up paddle boards and kayaks was great. We went on the local snorkelling trip which was amazing and small enough to feel very looked after. We used the Coral Sun bus to get there, and the local bus to get back to Nadi - both were fine. I will definitely be coming back.

Room Tip: We loved our bure by the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TazTraveller15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_Pridgeon, General Manager at Uprising Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Bula TazTraveller15,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay experience at the Uprising and we are glad you enjoyed your accommodation and stay.

I was most concerned to read your comments regarding one of our receptionists and I have shared this with the team. It is through such feedback that we are able to address these concerns with our team. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the activities on offer and the kava tasting.

We do in fact have weekly bonfires every Tuesday, Thursday and Sunday, weather permitting, however we do not normally serve kava around the fire as this is not customary as such. Being a tropical destination, we provide mosquito coils in all our rooms however insect repellent is readily available for sale at reception should you have required additional protection. We encourage all our guests to come prepared when visiting our tropical home. Coconuts are not for sale, they are free from our tree's if available, so next time you are here, just ask one of our friendly crew who would be more than willing to assist :)

Once again, we thank you for reviewing the Uprising and we look forward to seeing you again real soon!

Kind regards,

James Pridgeon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (648)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

359 - 365 of 648 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed for 6 nights. Found the staff to be most welcoming. The location is near the beach and away from any larger places or towns. There was a 10 minute walk to the local shops (including a couple of restaurants and a small supermarket). There was the usual road side stall seliing the fruit at very good prices to pass on your way to these shops. The villa we stayed in was roomy and comfortable. No kitchen facilities. Has a TV with 4 channels (if you want to watch any sports event on the Telly - there is a TV in the bar / restaurant area).
The food was good altho the breakfast buffet was nothing special.
The Resort has a good ambience.

Room Tip: We were in Villa 12. This was in an ideal place - altho not on the beach, we were able to see same...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buller48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_Pridgeon, General Manager at Uprising Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Bula Buller48,

A big vinaka for taking a moment to review the Uprising and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

We are happy to read that you took time to check out Pacific Harbour as there is a lot more on offer if you choose to take some time to get out and about.

Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you again!

Kind regards,

James Pridgeon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

As part of our feejee experiance myself and partner stayed for one night and loved it! We had stayed in some hell hole but the night before so to come to this place was like paradise, our room was massive with a sofa lounge area which was nice, along with a massive bed which was comfy too. The room was well equipped with an outdoor shower which was interesting even if it was a lil cold being exposed to the elements. The food at the restraunt was pretty good aswell with the night entertainment which was great and a must see.highly recommend this place and staff once again were really helpfull and friendly.

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank Adams32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_Pridgeon, General Manager at Uprising Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Bula Adams22,

A big vinaka for your review of the Uprising and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay.

I was also glad to read that you had a private room as a part of your Feejee Experience tour as this is by far the best way to ensure privacy and personal space when traveling with a large group.

I have past on your compliments to our team and once again, thank you for taking a moment to share your Uprising experience. Best of luck for the remainder of your trip.

Kind regards,

James Pridgeon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here during our feejee experience and loved it. Me and my partner stayed in a private hut and we not disappointed. It was large and spacious with a small kitchenette & lounge and large kingsize bed. Our bathroom was just outside with an open air rainfall shower head. Incredible. Not as warm in the winter but still lovely.
The grounds were amazing right in the beach front and the staff were ever so friendly. Lunch and dinner were delicious and cheap and the staff even put on a dance show for the guests during dinner ending with a fire performance. After dinner they put on music and had a disco which was great. Highly recommend a stay here whilst in fiji. Plenty of activities to do to!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Zimmy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_Pridgeon, General Manager at Uprising Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Bula Zimmy22,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay experience at the Uprising Beach Resort and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Our grounds staff do a great job keeping the resort looking at it's best all year round and we are glad that you and your partnered enjoyed this. We are also happy to read that you enjoyed our food and beverage facilities and had a good time.

Zimmy22, all the best for the remainder of your holiday and we wish you best of luck with your travels.

Kind regards,

James Pridgeon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed at Uprising Beach Resort for 1 night as part of our Feejee -Whole Hula Experience Tour, arrived at lunch time, too early to check into our rooms, so we had a fantastic lunch, food was excellent, when we checked into our Bure we were extremely impressed, Kings Sized bed on a raised platform, lounge area, kitchenette area, separate toilet and out door shower with plenty of hot running water. The whole Bure was very spacious, with a patio out front to sit and relax having a coffee/tea whilst listening to the waves. Certainly did not miss a TV. Overall would certainly return and stay longer at Uprising Resort!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dianne912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_Pridgeon, General Manager at Uprising Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Bula Dianne912,

A big vinaka for your great review of the Uprising Beach Resort and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

The Feejee Experience Hula Hoop is a great trip around Viti Levu and a quick way to see as much of the mainland as possible. We are thankful that the tour stops at Uprising so that guests are able to enjoy our facilities as you did.

Once again Dianne912, thank you and safe travels.

Kind regards,

James Pridgeon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Overall, Uprising is a great place if you want to stay in a nice hotel and just relax with a good book. The Pacific Harbour area in Fiji is the wet side of the island so my stay was a bit cold and rainy. I stayed in a villa and the villa was absolutely gorgeous! The staff was very professional. I would give this place 5 stars for great rooms! But, the average rating comes from the other things. My only pains here are that 1) there weren't any nightly activities for guests on the hotel grounds so after hours, it was a bit boring if you are a solo traveler, 2) the rooms were drafty, 3) the food was okay but I expected more, 4) the wine was so bad that I actually had to chew gum while I was drinking it. I didn't want to waste it since I had already paid for it and 5) the beach sand was a little nasty. Make sure you arrive here in the early part of the day. Transfers are expensive ($100 USD each way, $200 FJD) so if you travel by a cheaper means, most of that transportation is not available after dark (after 5:30 pm). I unfortunately had to hitch a ride from Warwick Resort at 9:30 pm because my boat from the Marina came in late and the Nadi Express was doing the last run. Uprising is great for families with older kids, those traveling for business, or divers. It's not very good for solo travelers or those with little ones. They had a variety of day activities which were very easy to plan. Reception was extremely great! I did the Terratrek Waterfall tour and the Suva City tour. Both were very good. I think Uprising is a great hotel but the location of Pacific Harbour was not my favorite spot in Fiji. The best part of Uprising is that the grounds and rooms are beautiful! Unfortunately, I did not have enough time in my schedule to do diving here but Beqa Lagoon is an excellent dive spot!

Room Tip: The Garden Villa's are really nice! Great balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelhoneyBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_Pridgeon, General Manager at Uprising Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Bula TravelhoneyBL,

Thank you for your review of the Uprising.

I was most pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed the villa which you booked in to. These rooms are the highlight for most of our guests who stay in them and we recommend them for those wanting a little more space and a few of the comforts of home such as television , air conditioning and a decent sized bath tub!

I was sorry to read that during your stay the weather wasn't the best with regards to the wind and rain. June through to October is normally our dry season and we have had about a week's worth of rain over the last 2 months! It is a shame though that this wasn't the case whilst you were with us.

Our wine list is actually supplied by Fiji's biggest wine importers and the list hand picked based on taste and of course customer preference. I am sorry you did not enjoy this however for other potential guests, I recommend asking one of our friendly bar tenders for a taste if you are unsure of the wine. They are more than willing to allow you to try this should you be unsure about your choice.

Transportation is not cheap in Fiji in general unless you travel via a public bus which takes almost double the normal time it would in a private car. With saying that and from feedback from such reviews as yours, we have made changes to our operation which will only benefit guests with regards to getting a more affordable private transfer.

TravelhoneyBL, once again, thank you for taking a moment to share with us your recent stay and we wish you all the best for the remainder of your travels.

Kind regards,

James Pridgeon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Travel by air is 4hrs from Sydney, but from Nadi airport is another 3 hrs by Taxi. Better arrive on Thursday before 7pm, so u can watch the fire dance show. Outdoor shower is absolutely geiunes idea, higly recommended, we booked an ocean view bure directly with the resort, saved about 5% rather than going thru any online booking agents. Food at the restaurant is actually pretty nice , even tho a bit pricy, but i guess it's a common thing in tourist sites. Toilet is not too wide, this is the only draw back. But guess what, you can gwt FREE coconut drink sttaight from the tree 2 meters away from the bure, why else should I not feel Happy! Highly recommended to all sort of traveller, as they also have shared dorm at very affordable price , but u need to consider the time of travelling from/to the airport, i.e. 3 hrs and by taxi is around $160 each way.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank solar p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_Pridgeon, General Manager at Uprising Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Bula Solar P,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay experience at the Uprising and we are glad you enjoyed yourselves.

Uprising Beach Resort is located in Pacific Harbour, the Adventure Capital of Fiji and is approximately 2-3 hours from Nadi airport depending on the time of day and vehicle you travel by. The bonus is when you get here, restaurants, supermarkets and activities are all within a short walking distance from the hotel. We are very fortunate to be in such a location which gives our guests more options for dining, shopping and day activities

Solar P, once again, thank you for your review of Uprising and we hope to see you again.

Kind regards,

James Pridgeon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Harbour
1.1 mi away
The Pearl Resort
The Pearl Resort
#4 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
986 reviews
19.4 mi away
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
#8 of 10 in Sigatoka
507 reviews
2.8 mi away
Nanuku Auberge Resort
Nanuku Auberge Resort
#1 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.2 mi away
Tambua Sands
Tambua Sands
#3 of 10 in Sigatoka
414 reviews
22.9 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#1 of 4 in Korolevu
2,730 reviews
35.5 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 10 in Sigatoka
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uprising Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uprising Beach Resort

Address: Beach Rd, Pacific Harbour, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Pacific Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Pacific Harbour
Price Range: £55 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Uprising Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylishly nestled on 2 kilometers of sandy beachfront between tropical palms, Uprising offers adventure, relaxation and sheer natural beauty all in one stunning safe location. Imagine a fun friendly place right on the beach where the young and young-at-heart come to play.Authentic Fijian accommodation options range from traditional thatched beachfront Villas and Bures (cottages) to fun tree-house shared facilities. Choose to relax on the beach or by the pool, and have a beachside massage, or take advantage of the many activities on offer. Scuba dive world famous Beqa Lagoon and experience shark diving and soft coral scuba sights, or head into the mountains for a whitewater rafting trip. Other daily activities include game fishing, jet ski island safari’s, golf, shopping at the Arts Village & Cultural Centre of Pacific Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Uprising Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uprising Beach Hotel Pacific Harbour
Hotel Uprising Beach
Uprising Beach Resort Fiji, South Pacific - Pacific Harbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing