We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, close enough to Suva”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Uprising Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Pacific Harbour
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice place, close enough to Suva”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Living in Suva, we were pleased to find such a cosy beach resort within 45 minutes drive. The beach is nice and not crowded. The resort is also walking distance to the supermarket, gift shops and restaurants at Arts Village. We stayed at the Garden Bure and the room was very nice, quiet with much privacy. The hotel staff, including the housekeeping ladies, were very friendly and courteous. As for restaurants, the Indian dinner buffet was very good, but breakfast could have been much better and should be improved. The reception area could be reinforced with more staff during check out peak time. We had to wait for about 30min to get a big group check out. We plan to come back for another weekend, when we want to get away from busy Suva.

Room Tip: Bure rooms would be the place to stay. I assume the beach front Bures are away from the restaurant a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zohei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_Pridgeon, General Manager at Uprising Beach Resort, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Bula Zohei,

A big vinaka for your review of the Uprising and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

You are indeed correct and we are only a short drive outside of Suva which is an ideal getaway for anyone wanting to escape the crowds. I have noted your comments about breakfast and this is an area we have worked tirelessly on over the last 3 months, moving from a continental breakfast to now providing some cooked options at no extra cost to our customers. I have still shared your comments with our chef and his team and trust that your next stay will be better.

Zohei, thanks again for your review and please feel free to contact me at gm@uprisingbeachresort.com before your next weekend getaway so that I can personally ensure we provide our best services for our return guests such as yourselves!

Kind regards,

James Pridgeon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    195
    57
    22
    20
See reviews for
130
258
56
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

When we arrived we were your normal 18-19 year olds, very excited, but that soon changed, as we were checking in the staff the told us that we hadn't booked, well we had phoned about a week ago, this is what may friend say, they did have a booking under the wrong name and for only 1 person, there was 4 of us, I then said 'well do we have a room or not, they said yes you are in the big dorm now, we had phoned and asked for a small dorm with 8 beds. We were then told that we would be spilt up, one in the small dorm and the other 3 in the big dorm, well a you can imagine my friends and I were very annoyed, they also told us they were fully booked, so they had these fold down beds that were well below par and after a long week you would like a comfy bed, but no not for us. I then said to the staff said can we please see the room and put our bags down, they said it was not ready so they locked out bags away. Came back at 12 mid day the staff at reception said it was still not ready baring in mind we had arrived about 9 am. They then said check in wasn't till 2pm, if we had known this we would not have rushed to catch the early bus. We came back at 2 and they said you three to the big dorm and you to the small dorm, so we went, there were 4 fold down beds in the big dorm we were told one was being used, were had a look in the small dorm and there was no bed for my friend, so we went back to reception and they said 'so sorry we will sort it' that was it so we left, we had dinner, few drinks, that took about 2 hours, went back to the small dorm no bed, so that was a track back to reception, 'oh sorry miss we will sort it', ok then, we went back chilled on the beach , some snacks, drinks then went back still not bed, well I was really annoyed at this point, the staff then said you can stay in the big dorm, I did turn round and say 'you said that bed was taken' they said 'we made a mistake'. the staff at this place are always making mistakes, if you looked they were always sitting down not doing a lot.
The trip was a waist of money, the place was not relaxing but stressful caused by reception staff.

Room Tip: Make sure that you specify how many people are going and that you want a specific room for example a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tamsyn94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_Pridgeon, General Manager at Uprising Beach Resort, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Bula Tamsyn94,

Thank you for your review of the Uprising and I am disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay.

It is most disappointing to read your review of our staff being "lazy" as this is not the norm for us as you will be able to read in other reviews made here. I have addressed these concerns with the outlet supervisors. I must add that our standard check in time is 2pm and check out is 11am, which is common throughout majority of hotels in Fiji and around the world. This information is readily available online on multiple sites and I am sorry that you were not made aware of this.

We always do our best to try accommodate early arrivals as soon as possible however this is not always possible during high occupancy which we have been experiencing for the last couple of months. I believe that your remarks about staff being lazy has nothing to do with the fact that you arrived 5 hours before normal check in and your reservation/ room was not ready. For this I apologize if you found this to be "lazy". After reading your review it seems like you did not manage to get the final check in until after your dinner, which I may add is not possible and not correct.

I do apologize if your reservations were not readily available upon check in and there was some confusion with regards to the final number of guests that would be staying. It is always recommended to have your actual confirmation number and reservation details available at check in so that our team can confirm that you were confirmed as booked in. This is highly recommended if a third party actually made the booking on your behalf which is stated in your review. Being our peak season, this is something we highly recommend. I am glad that you have highlighted in your tips to other readers to ensure that they highlight how many guests would be staying as this would be expected of anyone making a reservation.

Tamsyn94, once again I apologize for any shortfalls during your stay with us and I would be most grateful if you could forward your reservation details to gm@uprisingbeachresort.com so that I can further follow up on the details. We wish you all the best for the remainder of your travels.

Kind regards,

James Pridgeon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in a beachfront bure, and it was the perfect end to a Round the World trip before heading for home in Australia. Most of the staff were super friendly and helpful; some are real characters! (One lazy one behind reception). We enjoyed the entertainment, including drinking kava, fire dancing, and eating lovo (although I would have preferred a more authentic experience sitting around the fire). The room was big and comfortable (although I'd like easy access to a can of insect spray just in case) and we used the little balcony and the sun lounges a lot. We enjoyed the pool, but found ourselves much more in the ocean. The food was great and we really enjoyed the mocktails, although I wish they sold young coconuts. The easy access to massages, henna work and free access to stand up paddle boards and kayaks was great. We went on the local snorkelling trip which was amazing and small enough to feel very looked after. We used the Coral Sun bus to get there, and the local bus to get back to Nadi - both were fine. I will definitely be coming back.

Room Tip: We loved our bure by the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TazTraveller15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_Pridgeon, General Manager at Uprising Beach Resort, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Bula TazTraveller15,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay experience at the Uprising and we are glad you enjoyed your accommodation and stay.

I was most concerned to read your comments regarding one of our receptionists and I have shared this with the team. It is through such feedback that we are able to address these concerns with our team. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the activities on offer and the kava tasting.

We do in fact have weekly bonfires every Tuesday, Thursday and Sunday, weather permitting, however we do not normally serve kava around the fire as this is not customary as such. Being a tropical destination, we provide mosquito coils in all our rooms however insect repellent is readily available for sale at reception should you have required additional protection. We encourage all our guests to come prepared when visiting our tropical home. Coconuts are not for sale, they are free from our tree's if available, so next time you are here, just ask one of our friendly crew who would be more than willing to assist :)

Once again, we thank you for reviewing the Uprising and we look forward to seeing you again real soon!

Kind regards,

James Pridgeon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed for 6 nights. Found the staff to be most welcoming. The location is near the beach and away from any larger places or towns. There was a 10 minute walk to the local shops (including a couple of restaurants and a small supermarket). There was the usual road side stall seliing the fruit at very good prices to pass on your way to these shops. The villa we stayed in was roomy and comfortable. No kitchen facilities. Has a TV with 4 channels (if you want to watch any sports event on the Telly - there is a TV in the bar / restaurant area).
The food was good altho the breakfast buffet was nothing special.
The Resort has a good ambience.

Room Tip: We were in Villa 12. This was in an ideal place - altho not on the beach, we were able to see same...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buller48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_Pridgeon, General Manager at Uprising Beach Resort, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Bula Buller48,

A big vinaka for taking a moment to review the Uprising and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

We are happy to read that you took time to check out Pacific Harbour as there is a lot more on offer if you choose to take some time to get out and about.

Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you again!

Kind regards,

James Pridgeon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

As part of our feejee experiance myself and partner stayed for one night and loved it! We had stayed in some hell hole but the night before so to come to this place was like paradise, our room was massive with a sofa lounge area which was nice, along with a massive bed which was comfy too. The room was well equipped with an outdoor shower which was interesting even if it was a lil cold being exposed to the elements. The food at the restraunt was pretty good aswell with the night entertainment which was great and a must see.highly recommend this place and staff once again were really helpfull and friendly.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Adams32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_Pridgeon, General Manager at Uprising Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Bula Adams22,

A big vinaka for your review of the Uprising and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay.

I was also glad to read that you had a private room as a part of your Feejee Experience tour as this is by far the best way to ensure privacy and personal space when traveling with a large group.

I have past on your compliments to our team and once again, thank you for taking a moment to share your Uprising experience. Best of luck for the remainder of your trip.

Kind regards,

James Pridgeon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here during our feejee experience and loved it. Me and my partner stayed in a private hut and we not disappointed. It was large and spacious with a small kitchenette & lounge and large kingsize bed. Our bathroom was just outside with an open air rainfall shower head. Incredible. Not as warm in the winter but still lovely.
The grounds were amazing right in the beach front and the staff were ever so friendly. Lunch and dinner were delicious and cheap and the staff even put on a dance show for the guests during dinner ending with a fire performance. After dinner they put on music and had a disco which was great. Highly recommend a stay here whilst in fiji. Plenty of activities to do to!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Zimmy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_Pridgeon, General Manager at Uprising Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Bula Zimmy22,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay experience at the Uprising Beach Resort and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Our grounds staff do a great job keeping the resort looking at it's best all year round and we are glad that you and your partnered enjoyed this. We are also happy to read that you enjoyed our food and beverage facilities and had a good time.

Zimmy22, all the best for the remainder of your holiday and we wish you best of luck with your travels.

Kind regards,

James Pridgeon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed at Uprising Beach Resort for 1 night as part of our Feejee -Whole Hula Experience Tour, arrived at lunch time, too early to check into our rooms, so we had a fantastic lunch, food was excellent, when we checked into our Bure we were extremely impressed, Kings Sized bed on a raised platform, lounge area, kitchenette area, separate toilet and out door shower with plenty of hot running water. The whole Bure was very spacious, with a patio out front to sit and relax having a coffee/tea whilst listening to the waves. Certainly did not miss a TV. Overall would certainly return and stay longer at Uprising Resort!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_Pridgeon, General Manager at Uprising Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Bula Dianne912,

A big vinaka for your great review of the Uprising Beach Resort and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

The Feejee Experience Hula Hoop is a great trip around Viti Levu and a quick way to see as much of the mainland as possible. We are thankful that the tour stops at Uprising so that guests are able to enjoy our facilities as you did.

Once again Dianne912, thank you and safe travels.

Kind regards,

James Pridgeon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Harbour
1.1 mi away
The Pearl Resort
The Pearl Resort
#4 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
942 reviews
22.9 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#6 of 24 in Coral Coast
2,621 reviews
19.4 mi away
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
#8 of 9 in Sigatoka
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.5 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in Sigatoka
1,049 reviews
30.2 mi away
Tambua Sands
Tambua Sands
#3 of 9 in Sigatoka
381 reviews
2.8 mi away
Nanuku Auberge Resort
Nanuku Auberge Resort
#1 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uprising Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uprising Beach Resort

Property: Uprising Beach Resort
Address: Beach Rd, Pacific Harbour, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Pacific Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Pacific Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Uprising Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylishly nestled on 2 kilometers of sandy beachfront between tropical palms, Uprising offers adventure, relaxation and sheer natural beauty all in one stunning safe location. Imagine a fun friendly place right on the beach where the young and young-at-heart come to play.Authentic Fijian accommodation options range from traditional thatched beachfront Villas and Bures (cottages) to fun tree-house shared facilities. Choose to relax on the beach or by the pool, and have a beachside massage, or take advantage of the many activities on offer. Scuba dive world famous Beqa Lagoon and experience shark diving and soft coral scuba sights, or head into the mountains for a whitewater rafting trip. Other daily activities include game fishing, jet ski island safari’s, golf, shopping at the Arts Village & Cultural Centre of Pacific Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Uprising Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uprising Beach Hotel Pacific Harbour
Hotel Uprising Beach
Uprising Beach Resort Fiji, South Pacific - Pacific Harbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing