We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Value...Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Uprising Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Pacific Harbour
Certificate of Excellence
Pacific
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Superb Value...Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 10 July 2009

What a great place. Great beachfront and ocean view rooms for a budget price. A lot of space for the family or a group of friends. Outdoor showers!

Food is alright. Staff friendly and great adventures nearby including...zipline flying fox and white water rafting, which were very exciting and so much fun.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kent272009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    192
    55
    22
    20
See reviews for
126
257
56
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2009

For people who stay in the dorms at Uprising, you are getting a great bargain- a beautifully landscaped, well-thought-out resort with a lovely pool and nice bar for only $35 fiji dollars per night (including continental breakfast)! The bures are very large with their own porch, indoor seating area and an open-air shower. Uprising is right on the beach, and while not the most striking beach in Fiji, Pacific Harbor is a great spot from which to dive and do other adventure sports.

This is the type of place where people who live in the area come to hang out and in my mind, that enriches the experience of staying here. You are not secluded as you might be at a nearby, more expensive resort. As someone who lives in Fiji I can say that you nearly always get what you pay for when it comes to hotels here. So if you want a perfectly pristine, Westernized and sanitized experience, then be prepared to fork out the 300+ fiji dollars per night for that experience. Uprising is not that type of place, and I think that's part of its charm. If you like rugby, you'll enjoy watching the hotel's renowned rugby team practicing in the nearby field and on the beach, too!

Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cheverelailai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2009

We stayed at Uprising for 7 nights and had a great time. We caught a bus from the airport for 10 FJD and took about 3.5 hours to get there. As soon as you enter the resort everyone is so friendly and helpful. We booked a Beachfront Bure and it was perfect. The room was very large, it actually had beds for another 2 people in there. The view was lovely, looking straight out over the beach. The outdoor shower was great! Although there was no airconditioning, the fan was fine and we were never hot in our room.
The staff were fantastic, always helpful, polite and very friendly. They make an effort to remember who you are and your room number and nothing you ask for is ever too much trouble. There are also plenty of activities at fairly reasonable prices. I highly recommend the beachfront massage and the jetski snorkelling safari. Pacific Harbour also has many activities that are close, such as the shark dive, whitewater rafting and zip lining. The activities staff are always up for a chat and there is usually a game of volleyball going on if you want to get involved. There was also a beach wedding while we were there that was just beautiful!
Food was reasonably priced and very yummy! We're from Australia so I guess you would call the food there similar to 'pub food', a variety of food from pizza to curries to fish or steak. There were plenty of menu options and we ate there for 7 nights without it feeling repetitive.
We would like to thank Uprising for a wonderful holiday and hope to return soon!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gatey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2009

They promise paradise and it was for us. After a 3,5 hour bustrip from Nadi airport(only 10 FJD per person one way in a aircondintioned bus... taxi would take only 2 hours but would be 180 FJD) we were dropped in front of the resort... a dusty road to the resort. A friendly "Bula" from the security guide and then you step in to paradise! All green gardens, authentic Bures, nice swimmingpool, good restaurant and friendly staff and a beach full of palmtrees and beqa island in the distance. We booked a beachfront bure. This is a spacious authentic bure, no airconditioning but the fan was good enough. The veranda is great. You can sit there all day in the shade, or dry if a Fijian shower is passing by. The personal outside shower was fun, handy too, no sandy feet in the bure.
Lots of activity possible,we hired a jetski and we went out snorkling. Ask before you enter the boat how much time you have. We didn't know and jumped back in too quickly. The reef 500 meters in front of the resort is terrific. No need to dive.
There isn't that much to do outside the resort. Pacific Harbour has a nice art village, with some shops, a supermarket and some restaurants. Suva is 45 minutes by minibus.
We didn't trust to leave the resort in the dark, but this wasn't necessary. The restaurant provides enough variation for a week of good diners and lunches.
They had a great party at New Years eve. We liked it that local people visit Uprising for drinks or enjoying the beach.

  • Liked — Bures and friendly staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annekewes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2009

We stayed at the uprising for 7 nights, just after the new years period. This holiday was a surprise gift to my girlfriend, so I had planned everything for us, flights, accommodation, transfers, tours etc. I choose the Uprising by the positive reviews on trip advisor, and there informative clear website.

We were picked up at Nausori Airport, just outside of Suva. I had decided on this because of the nightmare stories I had read about the drive from Nadi to Pacific Harbor, so we flew to Nausori Airport from Nadi with Pacific Sun. (At the end of the trip this proved to be an absolutely brilliant idea :P As there had been very heavy flooding around Nadi, blocking several bridges. Many people had missed there flights driving to Nadi, and the people who had made it told stories of the struggle and headache it was to check in on time, while we just leisurely flew over the top of them.)

We were picked up from some rickety old car, with broken headlights, it was also pouring down, I could not over the bonnet because of the heavy rain, but that didn't stop our driver doing 80km down some very old roads, quite the thrill ride we were not expecting! Now it doesn't matter if this is "Fiji" or "You shouldn't expect 5 star quality", I think safe transport is mandatory, and the uprising failed big time here. Even the Uprising bus was a piece of junk that needs to be replaced. It's weird how they have obviously spent millions on this place, yet use cars that are worth $500??

As mentioned previously the burees, we stayed in number 4, are amazing, very clean, modern and right on the beach. They provide the basics, seats, beds, fridge, tables, toilet, shower etc but do it with some real style. So there is no TV, Air con, internet access, phone, we knew this ahead of time, so was no great surprise. A TV would of been the only thing I think we would of liked and maybe some wireless in the rooms, after a whole day of swimming, going on tours, jet skiing, eat and drinking, you just want to rest! A TV is a perfect companion for that. Luckily we had brought our laptop with dozens of movies on the hard drive, and some external speakers to have some good audio, this was a very smarty idea. And I strongly suggest anyone bringing kids to do this, plus any toys or games they enjoy. The buress are starting to show signs of some maintenance issues, however these are small, falling pieces of bamboo, nails sticking out etc.

We had breakfast, lunch and dinner many times in the restaurant:

Breakfast: The free breakfast is fantastic, with a selection of cold and hot. Items such as fresh fruit, toast, baked beans, porridge, cereal, coffee and tea are available. My only gripe was it was not always fresh, what ever wasn't used that day, was used for the next days breakfast, I didn't pay $180 a night to eat twice heated baked beans or 2 day old cut fruit, the toaster was constantly having issues as well, which always created a line.

Lunch: Lunch was great, we tried about half the food on the menu, the food was fresh and well prepared. However if you ordered the same dish on separate days, it would not be the same, there were always different spices or ingredients added. very odd.

Dinner: Same as lunch menu, with the exception of a Chefs special, which added some extra variety. Usually the entree sizes were to big, you would be full after eating it and not looking forward to the rest of your meal, if they halved the size and charged the same i would still be happy. Stay away from the steak, unsurprisingly, it was tough as old boots.

Drinks: The Fiji beer range was quite well priced, especially when compared to other resorts in the area.

The cocktails were good, but not great, so we were pretty disappointed with them overall. Like the meals, the cocktails were not prepared, or used the same ingredients every time. You would have a fantastic one on Monday, and a rubbish one on Tuesday.

For something different, eat at the bistro at The Pearl, it's more expensive, but a nice change from the Uprising menu. We also agreed a better restaurant overall as well.

The two cafes at the Arts Village are nice also, if your in a burger or pizza mood, good for a lunch.

The organized activities are great, with a large selection available. We didn't do many of them, as we had organized our our tours, but the jet skiis were getting a good workout with other resort guests.

The age gap between oldest and youngest guest was a surprise, I assumed it would of attracted a majority 20's crowd, which it did for the most part, but there was a nice mix of toddlers, teenagers, 50's and elderly people, so keep it interesting. So I would say this resort is suitable for all ages.

The service was also good, but not great. The restaurant service was a little over bearing, you would have every waiter come up to you and ask you the same questions, they obviously got very bored with the lack of customers. Drinks would sometimes take 20 minutes to arrive, fiji time or no fiji time, that is sllooowwww. We didn't mind that dinner was a 30 minutes wait or more, we would just enjoy a few drinks and chat, just as long as we got our drinks quickly!

The reception was very good, and very helpful, they ordered taxis, and confirmed our tours quickly and with no fuss.

Service was not perfect though, we had two blown light bulbs in our room, I asked for them to be replaced a couple of times, but was never done, only something small I know, but annoying none the less. House keeping was also very random, sometimes they would come at 10am, sometimes 5pm, I'm not sure if our sheets were changed once during our stay. We did get fresh towels every day, except we didn't get any new hand towels after the first day, which were nice to soak in water and rest on your forehead as it gets hot!

So overall, a pleasant stay, but after 7 nights, we were ready to come home to my TV and Air Con and other luxuries! It was fantastic staying in a bure for something different, and I'm glad we did it, it will be something we will remember forever. However this resort is missing a few basic luxuries we enjoy, so we are doubtful to return to the Uprising. Fiji was an amazing experience, with such friendly people and amazing culture, I hope one day we can return.

  • Liked — The Bure style accommodation
  • Disliked — The on and off service, food and drinks not tasting consistant
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Hertz01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe,NM.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2008

Lovely place - lots to do - don't miss Zip Fiji - a fantastic experience! Have been to Fiji many times and yes, the flight from LA is long - just part of the experience. I always take the Coral Sun bus from Nadi to Suva - inexpensive & love the scenery on the drive plus the time it leaves works out with the flight. I think many people run into trouble when they don't have an adventerous spirit in Fiji. Do Not Expect for everything to be like it is "at home"! After all, that is why one goes to Fiji - for something different. Keep an open mind. If you want everything to be absolutely perfect then stay at a 5 star resort & pay LOTS more.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank catannSantaFe_NM_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2008

We chose this resort based on the mass of 5- and 4-star reviews on TripAdvisor; what a mistake. If those reviews are real, then those reviewers must have stayed somewhere else.

In its favor, the rooms are new and spacious, the snorkeling was superb, and the staff friendly and attentive. But that's all the good points. The resort is open to the public on weekdays and they come in quantity, dragging their screaming children and setting up camp wherever there's a bit of shade. The pool quickly fills with locals to the point where there's no room for the guests. The food, which can take a hour from ordering to table, is horrible. I had a hamburger - raw, with chunks of gristle - and my wife had tacos on stale shells with stale pieces of garlic bread.

The bartender, Paul, is a good chap who mixes some interesting drinks, but again, his concoctions are the exception to the rule.

The beach is nice, some good hardpack for almost 1/2 a mile, so there's walking and the water is clear and warm. But if you want to sit in a lounge chair, good luck. There are only 7 of them and just 6 cushions.

Water sports are not included and are expensive and limited. Two jet skis, one boat to tow floating rafts, and couple of wind driven catamarans in need of repair.

The worst of the experience was the ongoing construction of the beach bar in time for New Year's Eve. The crew worked until midnight last night, banging and sawing in total disregard for the guests. And of course, once it's complete, it will be first used by the hoards of locals who will descend on the resort this week.

Yes, the place was peaceful on Saturday, since there's nothing to do besides sit in the sun and read, but the activities they show on their website just don't exist.

For the record, we travel extensively and have spent many wonderful weeks in places like Jamaica and Costa Rica where a tourist is respected and appreciated. If you are considering the Uprising because of its cheap price, I would recommend you save your money and go somewhere else.

  • Liked — Leaving it
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank fawnridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Harbour
1.1 mi away
The Pearl Resort
The Pearl Resort
#3 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
906 reviews
22.9 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#5 of 23 in Coral Coast
2,538 reviews
2.8 mi away
Nanuku Auberge Resort
Nanuku Auberge Resort
#1 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.5 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in Sigatoka
1,021 reviews
30.2 mi away
Tambua Sands
Tambua Sands
#3 of 9 in Sigatoka
353 reviews
19.4 mi away
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
#8 of 9 in Sigatoka
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uprising Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uprising Beach Resort

Property: Uprising Beach Resort
Address: Beach Rd, Pacific Harbour, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Pacific Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Pacific Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Uprising Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylishly nestled on 2 kilometers of sandy beachfront between tropical palms, Uprising offers adventure, relaxation and sheer natural beauty all in one stunning safe location. Imagine a fun friendly place right on the beach where the young and young-at-heart come to play.Authentic Fijian accommodation options range from traditional thatched beachfront Villas and Bures (cottages) to fun tree-house shared facilities. Choose to relax on the beach or by the pool, and have a beachside massage, or take advantage of the many activities on offer. Scuba dive world famous Beqa Lagoon and experience shark diving and soft coral scuba sights, or head into the mountains for a whitewater rafting trip. Other daily activities include game fishing, jet ski island safari’s, golf, shopping at the Arts Village & Cultural Centre of Pacific Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Uprising Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uprising Beach Hotel Pacific Harbour
Hotel Uprising Beach
Uprising Beach Resort Fiji, South Pacific - Pacific Harbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing