We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
Ranked #47 of 5,035 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Netanya, Israel
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 25 July 2011

The hotel was great, great location, all modern and "Working". The staff was very helpfull and all knew English. The breakfast spread was unbelievable and all tasty. Hotel is kept clean and well maintained. I booked through Expedia and got a deal that even the Chinese colleagues could not believe. The room had a Nesspresso Coffee machine whereas 3 capsules were supplied daily.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    513
    451
    100
    32
    21
See reviews for
91
129
81
618
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Stayed at Swissotel Grand Shanghai for 5 nights at the executive club. What can I say, we were so impressed by this hotel, we definitely will be coming back. Location is great, subway line #2 Jing An Temple is just around the corner. The executive room was spacious, bed comfortable, loved the in-room Nespresso machine and bathroom lighting and decor. Gym, sauna and jacuzzi was great, very scandinavian but our favourite place at the hotel was the executive lounge, it had fresh food, lovely atmosphere with soft music and candlelights and happy hour every night with champagne, wine, fruit, appetizers etc, especially we were impressed by the young man called Min who works there in the evening shift, he was so professional, polite and helpful, he always greeted us with a smile, remembered our preferences in food and drinks, helped us with bookings and other arrangements and was just such a pleasure to talk and deal with. On my birthday the hotel staff made a chocolate mousse birthday cake and brought it to our room, that was so touching. Well done, Swissotel Grand Shanghai, we loved our experience with you!
O. Caretti

Room Tip: book an executive club room, it's definitely worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oksana1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Very good service, awesome quality of room, but on the smallish side. Very nice pool gym and spa. The breakfast and dinner buffet are enormous and to die for, but very expensive (we got it included in our tour)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coconor123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west hills, ca
Level Contributor
519 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

Loved the decor of this hotel after touring Beijing and Xian. Shanghai is very modern and this hotel is very Scandinavian. Had breakfast included which was good. Great jacuzzi and relaxing pool area after a long day of walking and seeing the sights.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
139 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2011

Stayed at both club and non club rooms. Overall layout are about the same. Rooms are clean. Requested for a Memory Foam pillow during reservation and it was there waiting for me. Bathroom bright and clean though a sink area was a bit cramped with all the amenity boxes. As common, breakfast at club floor has less selection than that at the 2nd floor. Elevators seem pretty busy at peak hours.

Website for this hotel states that "Complimentary room upgrade" under 3 reasons to book online so make sure you ask for it. http://www.swissotel.com/EN/Destinations/China/Swissotel+Grand+Shanghai/PROMOTIONS/specials/3-reasons-to-book-online.htm

Sometimes, taxi drivers are less aware of this hotel so make sure you have the intersection handy; No 1. Yu Yuan Jie intersecting Chang De Jie.

Room Tip: Book online and remind them to upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Plus2kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2011

We spend 3 nights in Shanghai and had a good time there.
The location is great but the breakfast (Swissotel Beijing was better) and bar wasn't that good. Still I recommend to stay there. The receptionists spoke very good English as did the other service members. The room was really nice and had enough space for two people without being too crowded.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philo_on_the_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2011

The Swissotel is very beautiful. Check in was good and my room was quite nice. That's all i can really say that is good. never used any services so can't provide feedback. However i can provide feedback on the lack of sleep i had due to the loud construction work next door ALL NIGHT.
I was on the 10th floor and was awoken about 3 times throughout the night by construction. The hotel should have advised me of this when checking in. For a 5 star hotel i would think they should do this. it's not their fault but they must be awre of what's going on and surely would have had the noise as well.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JasonGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
#50 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Jing'an
Hilton Shanghai
Hilton Shanghai
#58 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,385 reviews
Jing'an
Paramount Gallery Hotel
Paramount Gallery Hotel
#160 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jing'an
URBN Boutique Shanghai
URBN Boutique Shanghai
#45 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Jing'an
Jing An Shangri-La, West Shanghai
Jing'an
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
#6 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Grand Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Grand Shanghai

Property: Swissotel Grand Shanghai
Address: No.1 Yuyuan Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#27 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#31 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#47 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#50 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#128 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Grand Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 467
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outstanding in every way... ideal location for business and pleasure, facilities that are superbly grand, gracious service from staff who anticipate and meet your every need when you travel to Asia's most dynamic city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swissotel Grand Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Grand Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Swissotel Grand Hotel Shanghai
Shanghai Swissotel Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing