We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Safety and comfort in a big city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
Ranked #41 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Safety and comfort in a big city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

I booked this hotel through a large third party website and was able to get a room with three beds for three adults, breakfast included for a very reasonable rate. The check-in was very quick and efficient and the staff were very pleasant. Our room was on the 11th floor and there was a marvelous security feature on the elevator which we all really liked. In order to make the elevator door open at your floor, you had to swipe your room keycard against a sensor on the keypad and then press your floor number. This prevents people who are not staying on your floor from accessing it.
The room was quite modern, the beds were very firm, the TV was a flat screen and the bathroom was lovely with a rain shower tap in the stall. The hotel walls were thin, so we could hear other peoples conversation etc, but aside from one evening of overhearing our neighbours intimate moments, it was relatively quiet. The breakfast buffet in the restaurant had a decent selection of multicultural foods and we enjoyed our visits.
The hotel is right around the corner from the airport bus station, so we took the bus from the airport and walked 100 yards. The airport bus was 22 Yuan per person. On the way back to the airport, we took the metro as the exit was just outside the hotel.The cost for that was 7 Yuan and took about an hour. With the traffic in Shanghai we didn't want to risk being late for our flight. The hotel is very conveniently located as we could walk to the subway, catch a cab or just walk to our destination. Cabs are very inexpensive and we picked up Metro cards for our use while there and were able to get the deposit refunded at Window 4 at the Maglev ticket office at the airport.
We did a day trip to Suzhou as well as a water village on the outskirts of Shanghai. Both were interesting.
All in all we enjoyed Shanghai and recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for Non smoking rooms otherwise you may get one, our floor was both smoking and non smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Temptationgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle-SSH, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Grand Shanghai, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
it's good to know you like Swissôtel Grand Shanghai, and we do appreciate you taking time to share us your pleasant experience and nicely recommend us :) We look forward your next visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    508
    445
    99
    31
    20
See reviews for
89
128
80
609
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marlow, England
Level Contributor
110 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Faultless service - from the highly efficient airport pick up, the personalised welcome on arrival at the hotel and the escort to my room (a rarity these days). Room was very well appointed with everything you could wish for. A good central base for Shanghai business meetings. Extensive breakfast buffet with large range of both Chinese and Western dishes.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle-SSH, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Grand Shanghai, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
It's really heart-stirring to start a day when we receive your nice compliments, do appreciate your sharing online. We will keep it up, and look forward to welcomg you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

Breakfast was great. Staff was helpful and flexible. Location was convenient.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelbug525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle-SSH, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Grand Shanghai, responded to this review, 5 February 2012
Thank you for your short yet nice, inspiring comment on us. It's our great honor to have you staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
71 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

I stayed at this hotel on a 3 day Business trip. It was my first experience with Swissotel Shanghai and I'm glad I stayed there. The hotel is modern with excellent facilities. Rooms are big with great beds and pillows. Food was particularly good and diverse at the Breakfast buffet. The Hotel staff was in general terms good, althouhg the waiters at the Breakfast buffet need to be more attentive to customer needs, they are not pro-active enough to ensure clients have everything they need, more coffee, clean the table, etc. It seems they prefer to be called rather than being pro-active. I recommend this hotel especially to businessmen.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roccox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle-SSH, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Grand Shanghai, responded to this review, 5 February 2012
We are very glad you had a good experience in the Hotel, and it's a great encouragement to us for a better result. For your service suggestion, we will definitely look into it and strengthen the training. Thanks you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

I've stayed at this hotel 6 or 7 times now. The room rate is very reasonable in a good area (Jing'An). The rooms are nicely appointed and a good size. Unfortunately, in 2012 there are hotels that still charge for internet access, and this is one of them. They charge the same as i pay for a full month, for 24 hours of access. The food at this hotel, however is substandard, to put it mildly. The food quality and selection is extremely poor, very expensive, and the service is middling, and not accommodative at all. But you're in shanghai, so there are 150 great places to eat. Don't stay in the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank U2NyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle-SSH, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Grand Shanghai, responded to this review, 5 February 2012
Much appreciate your time and comments, and we will continue improving ourselves in different ways to need guests' need.

If you book our Executive Club Rooms or above next time, and you will have internet complimentary with other great benefits. Look forward to your coming back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2011

Had a great time staying there. Great food, nice Spa. Western 5* standard...

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robirob15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle-SSH, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Grand Shanghai, responded to this review, 15 January 2012
Thank you for your nice words on us, and we will keep up. Look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

As a frequent traveller in Shanghai, we chose this hotel becuase it is the nearest one to our office. I reached their Eleva level of the Swissotel Circlea fter a few stay.

We understand the quality of services in China. And we know Shanghai services standard is even worst when compare to other big city in China like Guangdong. This services of this hotel is the worst among other 4-5 stars hotels I stayed in Shanghai. Some front desk staff is really cool and hardly give you a smile. Every time we request for a change of room, they can reply you 'No' within 3 seconds and without any checking.

For a 5 stars hotel, the breakfast quality is only average. And in the morning the seat is always full and you have to sit outside. The juice and the vegetable is below the standard.

Another thing I want to complain is their computer system. Every time I stayed in this hotel, I have to email to Cirlcle to cliam for the missing records no matter how many times I informed the frontdesk. And when I reached the Eleva level, I still have to spend time to request for the membership privildges. So please ignore what is 'Personalized room preference' in their website because it will never happened.

Room Tip: all rooms size are same except the suite which is double in size. found a room 11th floor or above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nelson L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle-SSH, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Grand Shanghai, responded to this review, 15 January 2012
We do appreciate your time and share with us your experience. We will look into the issues seriously and hope we can have you back for a better stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
#50 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Jing'an
Hilton Shanghai
Hilton Shanghai
#55 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,355 reviews
Jing'an
Paramount Gallery Hotel
Paramount Gallery Hotel
#156 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jing'an
URBN Boutique Shanghai
URBN Boutique Shanghai
#43 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Jing'an
Jing An Shangri-La, West Shanghai
Jing'an
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
#6 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Grand Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Grand Shanghai

Property: Swissotel Grand Shanghai
Address: No.1 Yuyuan Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#27 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#30 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#41 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#50 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#127 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Grand Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 467
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outstanding in every way... ideal location for business and pleasure, facilities that are superbly grand, gracious service from staff who anticipate and meet your every need when you travel to Asia's most dynamic city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swissotel Grand Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Grand Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Swissotel Grand Hotel Shanghai
Shanghai Swissotel Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing