We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
Ranked #104 of 5,222 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed 31 March 2012

I was staying at the Executive Club Floor for two nights on 28 March and was totally disappointed with the attitude of your conceirge staff, Patrick Chen. I wanted to know of a local restaurant, not only he was not helpful, his attitude was really poor. I eventually walked away and later shocked to realise that he is the hotel's Chief Conceirge. I informed the reception to ask the Lobby Manager to contact me and it took him more than one hour to do so.
I don't see any good value staying at your hotel except having to pay more for your Executive Floor with disappointing service!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle-SSH, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Grand Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

Thank you for your message to our attention. We will look into it and emphasize, review the service quality/procedure to our team members, and enhance related knowledge to provide convenience service to our distinguished guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

630 - 636 of 1,212 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2012

The location of this hotel is excellent. Close to subway, airporter bus, shopping, restaurants, etc. The hotel is decent but the rooms are somewhat tired. The food services in the hotel are expensive but there are many food choices within walking distance. The pool and exericse facilities are good. A downside is that the wifi costs in the rooms are ridiculous. There is a Business Centre with free computer access but the computers are archaic and barely usable. The English capabitlites of the staff at the front desk are variable. It is important that you make your needs known with the staff.

Room Tip: The higher floor the better because it is farther away from traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tassyca2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle-SSH, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Grand Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

It's good to know you enjoy our hotel location which we are proud of it as well. For the internet/wifi issue, we are on process to leverage the quality and service, and we wish you will have a better experience next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Front desk staff are efficient and friendly. Breakfast spread was much more extensive than the Marriott Pudong which I stayed earlier part of the week. Nice hotel pool. Room size is pretty standard.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YING L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle-SSH, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Grand Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

Thank you for letting us know your enjoyment in our hotel. We are encouraged to strive for better, and make our guests feel comfortable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

My third stay here, and I'll keep coming back. Staff are extremely helpful arranging train travel, booking hotels, etc., and, after a return visit, knowing your wants and needs (the concierges are especially helpful, and the front desk staff are very courteous). The rooms are very comfortable and I feel at home here.

Where the hotel can improve: INTERNET SERVICE. If you're on business, as it appears many of the hotel's guests are, you need to be connected. This is harder than it should be. BUFFET. A little more variety, a little warmer.

Bottom line: Helpful staff and comfortable rooms will keep me coming back.

Stayed: March 2012
1  Thank Barry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle-SSH, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Grand Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

Your happiness is our goal. Appreciate your recoginition of our team members, and we look foreard to your fourth, fifth ... hundredth visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Close to work which made it an obvious choice but overall Average. Biggest disappointments (1) room was extremely hot even though it was relatively cold outside. Even after complaining nothing was done (2) TV had some issues whereby could not turn up the volume (3)phone kept showing VMs when I didnt have any. The list can go on with small disappointments which made the overall satisfaction average.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vipulbhargava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle-SSH, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Grand Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

We do appreciate your feedback and let us know where we should improve to create a better experience for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Nowthat traffice in Shanghai makes getting around so much trickier, it helps to stay near where you will be working or visiting. The relatively new Swissotel is near the older Portman center and just next to the Jing An metro station off Nanjing West Road. Nice, modern rooms. Those facing east give a good view out over the skyline. For the moment, west facing rooms give you a construction site to the north, so there is extra noise. Unfortunately Internet isn't included in the room rate. Breakfast is too repetitive if you stay a few days or come often. There is a good gym and pool. There are lots of good restaurants nearby, especially if you walk south a few blocks under the highway into the French Concession. One big plus is that you can take the maglev to the metro or just the metro all the way from the airport to the hotel since it is outside the metro exit. This is super helpful during rush hour when a taxi would take an age or when the weather is bad and you want a safe way to get into town. Maglev and metro can be done in just 35 min and metro all the way in just under an hour. Much cheaper too.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle-SSH, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Grand Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2012

Thank you for your precious time to let us know you enjoy our hotel and convenient location, we are doing changes on our buffets step by step and hope to present better with more choices.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Big city hotel with the conveniences expected from a business hotel. English spoken widely by everyone. Breakfast spread is good although practically the same every morning.

Comfortable beds. Helpful concierge.

Location is also very central.
Walking distance to fast food joints if that is your thing, and there is a mall at the back of the hotel if you forgot anything from home.

Would definitively come back.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MlleMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle-SSH, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Grand Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2012

It's good to know that you had a good experience with us, we will keep up and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
URBN Boutique Shanghai
URBN Boutique Shanghai
#49 of 5,222 in Shanghai
625 reviews
Former French Concession
InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin
Jing'an
The Kunlun Jing An
The Kunlun Jing An
#59 of 5,222 in Shanghai
2,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#5 of 5,222 in Shanghai
2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Grand Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Grand Shanghai

Address: No.1 Yuyuan Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#20 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#50 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#57 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#98 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#160 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: £78 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Grand Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 467
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outstanding in every way... ideal location for business and pleasure, facilities that are superbly grand, gracious service from staff who anticipate and meet your every need when you travel to Asia's most dynamic city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Swissotel Grand Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Grand Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Swissotel Grand Hotel Shanghai
Shanghai Swissotel Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing