We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
Ranked #41 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A good stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

Had 24 stop over and a early check in with out any problem and good rest during the day. Internet not free was a minus but rooms good and clean and nice quality

Did not eat but close to the metro which made life easy.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johan968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager-SSH, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Grand Shanghai, responded to this review, 17 June 2012
It's great to know you have a good rest, we look forward to your next visit soon with a longer period to explore more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    508
    445
    99
    31
    20
See reviews for
89
128
80
609
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hangzhou, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

stayed over there a weekend, and was very happy from overall experience.
Front desk officer was unmatched quick kind and professional. impeccable room.
aviable and non-sticky staff. a memorable stay !

Room Tip: ask a room facing east
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zhou Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager-SSH, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Grand Shanghai, responded to this review, 17 June 2012
Thank you for sharing with us your pleasant experience at Swissôtel Grand Shanghai, we hope to provide more memorable stays for you and all guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012 via mobile

First, the personnel was very professional. Rooms are clean and offer an excellent complimentary coffe. The spa and wellness section is a good place to relax. Good value in Shanghaj.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nupuvon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager-SSH, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Grand Shanghai, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
We are much appreciated your highly recognition and all team members are encouraged to keep on and do better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

very impressive hotel with impressive features. upgrading to the clubhouse and enjoying the buffet breakfast a def. must. wide range of qaulity food. location not too bad. would stay there again. staff can learn to be a bit more friendly and helpful though....

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbug0811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager-SSH, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Grand Shanghai, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Thank you for staying with Swissôtel Grand Shanghai and we value your advice as providing a heartfelt service is our goal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Coming back from HangZhou, we stayed at this hotel on Saturday May 26th, 2012. At first there was a single person in the reception desk and three customers queueing, eventually there were two more employees helping us with the registration procedure. The room was fine with a lovely view (we were on the 11th floor), the wi-fi was no free, and we were pleasantly surprised with the pool, the sauna, they were lovely. The following day we left the hotel and they helped us with the cab that took us to the MagLev train station on the way to the airport.

Room Tip: As far as view, the higher the floor the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Viajero-Alfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager-SSH, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Grand Shanghai, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Thank you for choosing Swissôtel Grand Shanghai, especially your compliment of our swimming pool and sauna facilities. We hope your back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Great hotel, Pleasant efficient reception.
Well appointed room with very comfortable bed, great after a long flight.
Breakfast is excellent with great choice

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thornpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager-SSH, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Grand Shanghai, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
A good stay making our valued guests refresh and recharge is our desire, and we are pleased to know you enjoy your stay with us. Thank you for letting us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

We stayedfrom 6 nights last May 20 -27 and we enjoyed the Swiss hospitality. We got the hotel car Audi pick-up from the Pudong airport it was convenient and no need to bring Chinese yuan can add to room charge. The hotel location was great near public transportation, restaurants, mall, nanjing road. We also tried the breakfast with variety of choices from American to Japanese dishes. We also tried the Swiss hot chocolate drink with a block of cocoa that melts in the warm milk. We visited the bund, shanghai TV tower, temples, museum, gardens, went to chinese acrobat show and french quarter. Ofcourse I highly recommend this hotel if visiting Shanghai.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherry_zam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager-SSH, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Grand Shanghai, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
It's great to know you like our hotel and highly recommend to other guests and freinds, much appreciated for it. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
#50 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Jing'an
Hilton Shanghai
Hilton Shanghai
#55 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,354 reviews
Jing'an
Paramount Gallery Hotel
Paramount Gallery Hotel
#156 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jing'an
URBN Boutique Shanghai
URBN Boutique Shanghai
#43 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Jing'an
Jing An Shangri-La, West Shanghai
Jing'an
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
#6 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Grand Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Grand Shanghai

Property: Swissotel Grand Shanghai
Address: No.1 Yuyuan Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#27 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#30 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#41 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#50 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#127 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Grand Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 467
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outstanding in every way... ideal location for business and pleasure, facilities that are superbly grand, gracious service from staff who anticipate and meet your every need when you travel to Asia's most dynamic city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swissotel Grand Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Grand Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Swissotel Grand Hotel Shanghai
Shanghai Swissotel Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing