We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,305)
Filter reviews
1,305 results
Traveller rating
604
521
123
34
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
604
521
123
34
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjing'an templebusiness hotelspa areabusiness tripwest nanjing roadmetro stationnespresso machinestar hotelexecutive floorexcellent locationcentral locationconcierge teamlobby barbreakfast buffetstayed nightspudong airportspacious room
Filter
Updating list...
529 - 534 of 1,305 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Loved the breakfast buffet, rooms, service. A really remarkable find. Nice price, wonderful staff. Lovely swimming pool.
They had a cute show thee for Chinese New Years. Would go back again and again. Great job!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager-SSH, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Grand Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear adzonni,

On behalf of all the team members here at the Swissôtel Grand Shanghai, I would like to extend our most sincere appreciation for you choosing to stay with us for your visit to Shanghai recently.

I'm happy to know that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet, swimming pool, and Chinese New Year decoration. In particular I am absolutely thrilled that our team was able to welcome you and get your stay off on the right foot with their caring and attentive service. It is all about first impressions and this is a primary concern that we work on in our training always.

We sincerely hope that you will be able to plan a return visit to Shanghai and our property so that we can show you our warm and engaging hospitality once again.

Best regards,

Michelle Chong

Director of PR & Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I was here on a business trip for a week - the rooms are very clean and has everything you need for a comfortable stay. Location was also great for work. The staff do whatever they can to make your stay comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Royshipra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager-SSH, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Grand Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear Royshipra



Happy Chinese New Year and warm greeting from Swissôtel Grand Shanghai. Thanks for taking the time to submit this review for our hotel.

We are very pleased to know you enjoyed our comfortable rooms, as well as our team members who provided great support to you during your time with us.

The delivery of heart-felt service is key for us here at the hotel and we are delighted to hear that it was a positive experience for you



We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the very near future – you are always welcome.



Warm Regards,

Coco Wan

PR & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I was here for business. The hotel room was very clean and personel was friendly. I liked the gym which contains a wide range of fitness equipment.
I will definitely choose this hotel again for my next visit.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel
2  Thank Marinus V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager-SSH, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Grand Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear Marinus V,



It's our pleasure to have you stay with us during this holiday season.

We do appreciate you taking the time to submit a review on our hotel, feeding back your person experience’s and highlighting our gym facilities, cleanliness of our guest bedrooms and our friendly staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the very near future.



Happy Chinese New Year!



Warm Regards,

Coco Wan

PR & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Well organized place central to business and shopping area. Nice breakfast, but beware of the black tea, which tastes of chlorine. Heating/ air conditioning in some rooms can be difficult to adjust, and tends to be noisy ( and so is leaving your window open).

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trickysnake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager-SSH, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Grand Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear Trickysnake

Thank you for taking time from your busy schedule and sharing with us your feedback concerning your recent stay with us at Swissotel Grand Shanghai.



From your comments, I am pleased to know that you have enjoyed our extensive buffet breakfast and prime location with easy accessibility to get around Shanghai.



Thank you for also highlighting the black tea and bring to our attention the unsatisfactory taste experienced. Having reviewed this further, we have identified what the problem was with the help of our Food and Beverage Director, and will be taking immediate action to prevent this from happening again in the future. Regarding your air-conditioning noise, please would you connect with me directly on coco.wan@swissotel.com, to let me know which room number you stayed in so that we may inspect this room to repair any faulty parts, as this would be most helpful.



We hope to have the opportunity to serve you better in the future, and look forward to welcoming you back during your next venture to Shanghai.



Warm Regards,

Coco Wan

PR & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I must say I was impressed I've got the same room about 15 months after my last stay in shanghai/swiss hotel. was it just cabala?
Anyway The highlights to the hotel are :

1)a very comprehensive breakfast menu
2) a professional look but not you don't feel too much alienated as in business hotels
3)helpful staff. discreet and reliable.

the minuses are just about the "entertainment". yes indeed the bar area is very boring..

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ivanmariavele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager-SSH, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Grand Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear ivanmariavele,



Welcome back to Swissôtel GRAND Shanghai – and we are delighted you enjoyed the same room as per your previous stay. It is always a pleasure to welcome back “old friends” to our hotel and happy to know that you enjoyed our popular buffet breakfast, as well as the hotel’s ambiance. Its wonderful to hear of your acknowledgment of our reliable and discreet service – its our team members that make this hotel a wonderful place to stay.

We sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future, giving you our warm service and friendly hospitality once again





Warm Regards,

Coco Wan

PR & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews