We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in Shanghai! Clean and good Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
Ranked #104 of 5,159 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed 25 February 2014

The Swiss Hotel Grand in Shanghai is in a fantastic location! Walking distance to many shopping centers, food attractions, Jing An park and Jing and Temple. Great service and clean rooms! All rooms have great views of the downtown shangahi also! Walking distance to the old area (French Concession) and only 10-15 minutes cab ride to the Bund and other areas of the city. Really a central location! Totally worth the value!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theodorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager-SSH, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Grand Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Theodorian,


Greetings from Swissôtel GRAND Shanghai!

We are delighted to read of your experience when staying with us - thank you for taking your time to submit the review on Tripadvisor.

Thank you as well for highlighting the great location of our property – and thrilled that it made your stay very convenient enjoying the visit to Jing’an park and Jing’an temple, the very famous landmark in Shanghai right on our hotels doorstep.

Please do come and visit us again soon in the very near future – it would be a pleasure to welcome you back



Best wishes,



Coco Wan

PR & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

454 - 460 of 1,177 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Overall a good experience. Bedroom a bit warm and temp not the easiest to navigate. Near to elevators so the frequent ding-dong noise can be quite annoying (you hear not just the floor you are on but above and below).
Swimming pool good, steam and sauna also. Benefited from a massage and cupping treatment - both good service and more importantly available in evenings. Not common and ideal for business travellers. Varied selection of food. Lobby is great atmosphere and tried snacks and hot drinks. Breakfast buffet good selection and not charged for espresso request! Again a nice differentiator. Steakhouse a good idea and let down slightly by the side orders - not inspiring or particularly complementary for steaks.
In room service also tried and prompt although most wine choices were not available!! Overall a good worthwhile option for business. Location central and generally staff are hospitable and polished.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Vix_70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager-SSH, Director of Food & Beverage at Swissotel Grand Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear Vix_70,


Warm greeting from Swissôtel Grand Shanghai. Thank you for taking your time to share the experience with us. I am delighted that your overall stay was great with highlighting some of our facilities and hospitable service, however we will certainly look at your comments shared for opportunities to improve.

I would like to invite you to email me directly at tim.heinrichson@swissotel.com, so that I could have more information to dig out your points and update on our actions

My team and I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,



Tim Heinrichson

Director of Food & Beverage

Swissôtel Grand Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Swissotel offers what you need to have a comfortable business stay. The rooms are clean, spacious enough and some of them have a Nespresso coffee machine. For coffee drinkers definitely a plus. Staff are friendly and make the best to accommodate your needs. The lobby lounge and the Executive lounge (accessible if you stay in one of the Executive rooms) are well suited to host a business meeting or to catch up with friends. The overall decoration and atmosphere mirror a first class business hotel. Location in the business district makes it easy to get around.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a coffee machine, ask for it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swissmiss2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager-SSH, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Grand Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Dear Swissmiss2014,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our hotel and for taking the time to post your experience on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to receive such positive feedback from loyalty guests like you and we will continue to work towards getting better everyday in our constant quest for both product and service excellence.

We are delighted to hear that your stay was enjoyable and that you enjoyed our comfortable room and Nespresso coffee machine in your room, which is a nice touch for guests staying at Swiss Business Advantage Room and above, as we know how important a good morning refresher is to business travelers especially. Thank you for also highlighting our cozy Lobby Lounge and double-deck Executive Club Lounge with a nice city view. Besides, we are indeed fortunate to have a wonderful central location here in the central of Jing’an next to great shopping, entertainment and a wide variety of fine restaurants as well as easy transport access to all parts of the city.

We sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel and showing you our warm hospitality once again.



Coco Wan

PR & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Loved the breakfast buffet, rooms, service. A really remarkable find. Nice price, wonderful staff. Lovely swimming pool.
They had a cute show thee for Chinese New Years. Would go back again and again. Great job!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager-SSH, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Grand Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear adzonni,

On behalf of all the team members here at the Swissôtel Grand Shanghai, I would like to extend our most sincere appreciation for you choosing to stay with us for your visit to Shanghai recently.

I'm happy to know that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet, swimming pool, and Chinese New Year decoration. In particular I am absolutely thrilled that our team was able to welcome you and get your stay off on the right foot with their caring and attentive service. It is all about first impressions and this is a primary concern that we work on in our training always.

We sincerely hope that you will be able to plan a return visit to Shanghai and our property so that we can show you our warm and engaging hospitality once again.

Best regards,

Michelle Chong

Director of PR & Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I was here on a business trip for a week - the rooms are very clean and has everything you need for a comfortable stay. Location was also great for work. The staff do whatever they can to make your stay comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Royshipra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager-SSH, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Grand Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear Royshipra



Happy Chinese New Year and warm greeting from Swissôtel Grand Shanghai. Thanks for taking the time to submit this review for our hotel.

We are very pleased to know you enjoyed our comfortable rooms, as well as our team members who provided great support to you during your time with us.

The delivery of heart-felt service is key for us here at the hotel and we are delighted to hear that it was a positive experience for you



We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the very near future – you are always welcome.



Warm Regards,

Coco Wan

PR & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I was here for business. The hotel room was very clean and personel was friendly. I liked the gym which contains a wide range of fitness equipment.
I will definitely choose this hotel again for my next visit.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel
2  Thank Marinus V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager-SSH, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Grand Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear Marinus V,



It's our pleasure to have you stay with us during this holiday season.

We do appreciate you taking the time to submit a review on our hotel, feeding back your person experience’s and highlighting our gym facilities, cleanliness of our guest bedrooms and our friendly staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the very near future.



Happy Chinese New Year!



Warm Regards,

Coco Wan

PR & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Well organized place central to business and shopping area. Nice breakfast, but beware of the black tea, which tastes of chlorine. Heating/ air conditioning in some rooms can be difficult to adjust, and tends to be noisy ( and so is leaving your window open).

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trickysnake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager-SSH, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Grand Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear Trickysnake

Thank you for taking time from your busy schedule and sharing with us your feedback concerning your recent stay with us at Swissotel Grand Shanghai.



From your comments, I am pleased to know that you have enjoyed our extensive buffet breakfast and prime location with easy accessibility to get around Shanghai.



Thank you for also highlighting the black tea and bring to our attention the unsatisfactory taste experienced. Having reviewed this further, we have identified what the problem was with the help of our Food and Beverage Director, and will be taking immediate action to prevent this from happening again in the future. Regarding your air-conditioning noise, please would you connect with me directly on coco.wan@swissotel.com, to let me know which room number you stayed in so that we may inspect this room to repair any faulty parts, as this would be most helpful.



We hope to have the opportunity to serve you better in the future, and look forward to welcoming you back during your next venture to Shanghai.



Warm Regards,

Coco Wan

PR & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
Hilton Shanghai
Hilton Shanghai
#61 of 5,159 in Shanghai
2,518 reviews
Jing'an
URBN Boutique Shanghai
URBN Boutique Shanghai
#30 of 5,159 in Shanghai
609 reviews
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#36 of 5,159 in Shanghai
2,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Jing'an
THE ONE Executive Suites managed by Kempinski-Shanghai
Lujiazui
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Grand Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Grand Shanghai

Address: No.1 Yuyuan Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#27 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#50 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#57 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#98 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#164 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: £107 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Grand Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 467
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outstanding in every way... ideal location for business and pleasure, facilities that are superbly grand, gracious service from staff who anticipate and meet your every need when you travel to Asia's most dynamic city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Swissotel Grand Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Grand Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Swissotel Grand Hotel Shanghai
Shanghai Swissotel Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing