We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous five days”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
Ranked #41 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fabulous five days”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We had three extremely comfortable rooms and we all loved the hotel. The breakfast was delicious and the staff throughout the hotel were charming, polite and extremely helpful. The hotel is central and very near to the metro station. Taxis, however, are so cheap and plentiful. The concierge will write the Chinese address for you. There are lots of restaurants nearby. Unbelievably good value hotel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank carobrooB-W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager-SSH, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Grand Shanghai, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear carobrooB-W,

It is very pleasure to have you during this Spring season with us.
We do appreciate that you enjoyed our excellent location and also spend great time with our breakfast and do like our room’s facilities and hotel’s atmosphere.
It is such a great honor to have your highly praise for us and allow me behalf of all team member s to thank you for support.

Best Wishes
Coco Wan
PR & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    508
    445
    99
    31
    20
See reviews for
89
128
80
609
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

My husband and I just returned from a vacation in Shanghai. I started my trip a week prior for a school project. My stay at the hotel was 10 days total. The service was unbelievable. The people were friendly, genuinely interested in helping you and responsive. I could go on and on about the excellent customer service. The hotel itself was clean and modern. Located right by the Jing An Temple, shopping areas and metro stations. Quick cab ride to the Bund, Silk Market, etc. When my husband arrived, we upgraded to a suite. The room was beautiful and spacious. The living area aloud him to stay up and manage jet lag while I slept like a baby undisturbed in the bedroom. The executive floor access as part of the package was truly all worth the price of admission. I would definitely recommend this to business and vacation travelers. The pool, hot tubs, steam rooms were a very nice addition.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager-SSH, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Grand Shanghai, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Jennifer S

Spring greeting from Swissôtel Grand Shanghai. Thanks for take your time to submit the review for our hotel.

It is very pleased to know you are enjoying our comfortable room and the room facilities, particularly our team member gave the great service for you.
We’d love to give the most sincere best wishes to you.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit.

Warm Regards,
Coco Wan
PR & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

On Apr 15th,My boss parked in the parking lot of the Swissotel Grand Shanghai and he left in a rush without noticing that he unlocked his car truck with a briefcase of cash and credit cars .And fortunately the lobby manager Jessie Yin is very conscientious to try all the methods contact him finally it turns out none of the items are missing, in which we wish to express our heartfelt thanks to her,and we think the hotel should be very proud of this very High-quality employee。

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clair y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager-SSH, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Grand Shanghai, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Clair y,

Thank you so much for takeing your time to submit this wonderful reveiw for us on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted that you had a good experience when you were at the hotel. Very happy to know our team member give you very helpful service and make your belongings safe.

Please do come and visit us again soon in the very near future – it would be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Best wishes,

Coco Wan
PR & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferrara
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Good position.
Nice lobby, kind hostess and quick operations at the reception.
Room very silent and well equipped.
Excellent western breakfast, best ever had in Shanghai since 2007.
Price as expected.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Cicciazzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager-SSH, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Grand Shanghai, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Cicciazzi

Thank you for sharing your great experience for your stay with Swissôtel Grand Shanghai and taking your time to submit your reviews on Tripadvisor.
We are delighted to know that you think we serve the best hotel breakfast in Shanghai – the selection is very broad and caters for all tastes. The location of the hotel is ideal for people wishing to move around the city, and we are delighted to know that you found our rooms and service to be exactly as you needed.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Swissôtel Grand Shanghai in the near future, we hope to see you again soon.

Best Wishes
Coco Wan
PR & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed here our first night in Shanghai. It is centrally located with lots of things around. We had a friend pick us up and take us to the hotel directly. It was late when we got there so check in was quite easy as the hotel was not busy. we had a quick check in and went right up to our room.

the room was very clean and spacious. the only real downside is that the beds were VERY hard. not sure if this is customary in china though.

checkout went very smoothly and the concierge held our bags until we were ready to leave for the rest of our adventure.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ravenstar27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager-SSH, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Grand Shanghai, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear ravenstar27,

Spring greetings from Shanghai!
Thank you very much for taking the time to submit this positive review for us on Tripadvisor.
I am pleased to know you have enjoyed our comfortable bedrooms, room facilities and great service from our concierge; on behalf of our team here at the hotel, thank you for your compliments.

Regarding the comments on the beds specifically, they are firm mattresses – I am sorry that they were not as comfortable to you as you had hoped.

We sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back and showing you our warm hospitality once again.

Best Wishes
Coco Wan
PR & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights and have some mixed feelings about the hotel. The check in was OK and i kept requesting the front office lady to give me room in the front as i will be staying for 4 days and i could enjoy the view, but she bluntly gave me the room at the back of the building which was horrible and depressing. Oh the breakfast u go to the restaurant they will greet you properly make you sit and then one guy would come and say the breakfast is about to get over in 15 minutes, then after 5 minutes one more guy will come with the same advice and the same is repeated 3 times i felt so bad that i hated to have breakfast there. Moreover the spread and the quality is also not at par the standards it should have been. The in room help desk is fast and quick they cater to all your needs in seconds and have always been helpful. The infrastructure is nice which is only helping the hotel to gain good market share along with the location. The housekeeping was also efficient and have no complains about that. they can do good if they take care small gestures if taken care properly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akshaygrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager-SSH, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Grand Shanghai, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear akshaygrover

Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback on your most recent stay with us at Swissôtel GRAND Shanghai. Thank you for your positive comments on the hotel, noting location, Swiss Service (in-room help desk) and our housekeeping. I am, though, more focused on your unsatisfactory experiences which is certainly not what we wish for our guests to experience when staying in our hotel.

Regarding the bedroom allocation, the request for front views is always subject to availability. Upon your check-in, there is a great possibility that due to the hotels high occupancy (March is an incredibly busy month for our hotel), that we were not able to accommodate your request (although this should have been explained to you upon your request). We do our very best to accommodate all our guests special requests, as long as we have the opportunity to do so.

Our breakfast offering is well-enjoyed by most of guests, and there is a wide variety of dishes to enjoy, however it seems your experience was not so. For us to get a clear indication on exactly what went wrong, please contact our Food and Beverage Director, Tim Heinrichson at tim.heinrichson@swissotel.com, so that we may learn from this and action accordingly. Our breakfast buffet closes at 10.30am each day, and we of course need to advise our guests before clearing the buffet, but if it was done in a way that was not welcomed, our sincerest apologies.

Akshaygrover, we do hope that your next trip to Shanghai will bring you back to Swissôtel, and that we may have another opportunity to show to you our service, care and attention and regain your faith in our hotel.

Our best wishes

Coco Wan

PR & Communications Manager
Swissôtel GRAND Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Front Desk: Rude and condescending, completely unhelpful with anything you ask.
Conceirge: Rude, and give you wrong information, I called them to ask to make a reservation at a restaurant down the street and also asked them to check that it was open, they assured me I would not need a reservation and that it was open. Walked to it and found it to be closed and then we were in an area with nothing else open and had to walk another 35 minutes to find a restaurant that was open that we wanted to eat at.
Breakfast: So gross old juice no fresh, coffee taste like burnt ash tray, the smell of the food going bad on the buffet is gross, and they pump some weird incense smell into the lobby infront of the restaurant which immediately kills any craving for food you have because you walk in.
Facilities: Gym is okay not cleaned well, pool is okay but when you shower the Ayi's watch you and steal your towels and there is only one station to use a hair dryer so if there is more than one women at a time which there always is you are forced to leave soaking wet.
Rooms: no view asked several time to be moved to any other available room but stared at a concrete block wall for 18 days, house keeping would often not show up and clean at all, I would have to call down to say i'm leaving and I expect the room clean. The beds are impossibly hard like a box spring had to ask for 3 duvets to be put under the sheet just to feel as soft as a carpeted floor.

Room Tip: Try to find any other hotel in the area, the area is awesome, this hotel is far from it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessicaShang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager-SSH, Executive Assistant Manager at Swissotel Grand Shanghai, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear JessicaShang

Firstly we are deeply disappointed to read of your most recent experience here at Swissôtel GRAND Shanghai. The comments and feedback is extremely negative and is certainly not what we aim to have our guests experience here at our hotel. I would be greatly appreciative if you would either contact me at jammy.zhang@swissotel.com or, as I am aware you now live in Shanghai, please call me in the hotel on +86 (21) 5355 9898 so that we can arrange a suitable time for us to get together and review your experience. We hope that we can have the opportunity to rebuild your confidence in our hotel again and, should the opportunity arise, welcome you back to the hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Jammy Zhang
Executive Assistant Manager
Swissôtel GRAND Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
#50 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Jing'an
Hilton Shanghai
Hilton Shanghai
#55 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,355 reviews
Jing'an
Paramount Gallery Hotel
Paramount Gallery Hotel
#156 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jing'an
URBN Boutique Shanghai
URBN Boutique Shanghai
#43 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Jing'an
Jing An Shangri-La, West Shanghai
Jing'an
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
#6 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Grand Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Grand Shanghai

Property: Swissotel Grand Shanghai
Address: No.1 Yuyuan Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#27 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#30 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#41 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#50 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#127 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Grand Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 467
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outstanding in every way... ideal location for business and pleasure, facilities that are superbly grand, gracious service from staff who anticipate and meet your every need when you travel to Asia's most dynamic city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swissotel Grand Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Grand Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Swissotel Grand Hotel Shanghai
Shanghai Swissotel Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing