We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great apartment with helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fraser Residence Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great apartment with helpful staff”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I enjoyed my 2 night stay at Fraser Residence. Staff was extremely helpful from carrying the luggage to getting a cab to the airport. The facilities are modern and clean with a spa and a restaurant. Breakfast which is included is adequate and average. The location is centrally located near XinTianDi and Yu Garden. My room has a washer and dryer which was the main reason I decided to stay there. I recommend this hotel and will return in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdventureMom16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary M, General Manager at Fraser Residence Shanghai, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear AdventureMom 16:

Thank you for taking time to share your comments with us. We are delighted to learn that your overall stay was enjoyable.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Fraser Residence Shanghai soon.

Best Regards,

Gary Mak
General Manager ​
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    216
    27
    8
    5
See reviews for
81
121
40
194
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Stayed in this hotel several times and always feel like I'm home.
The hotel has been repaired in 2012 (as far as I remember) and everything is brand new inside.
Love everything about this hotel including slippers, nice tooth brush with a little Colgate tooth paste, very convenient kitchen, comfortable bed.
Hotel is located 5 minutes walk from metro station, 15 minutes walk from nice cafes area Xin Tian Di.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Olga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary M, General Manager at Fraser Residence Shanghai, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Olga S:

Thank you for taking time to share your comments with us. We are delighted to learn that your overall stay was enjoyable.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Fraser Residence Shanghai soon.

Best Regards,

Gary Mak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Got to agree with all the positives that have already been said. Nothing too much trouble, all staff friendly and helpful. The place is spotlessly clean in every area. Furnishings, linens and towels all of a high standard.There is a lovely peaceful lounge for the use of guest with free tea, coffee and biscuits. I am on the 29th floor with quite spectacular views. Location is fine, just a short stroll from Peoples square and Nanjing road but there are loads of interestings street in the immediate area, the "Antique Market" is just round the corner.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wrightyalmighty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary M, General Manager at Fraser Residence Shanghai, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear Wrightyalmighty:

Thank you for taking time to share your comments with us. We are delighted to learn that your overall stay was enjoyable.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Fraser Residence Shanghai soon.

Best Regards,

Gary Mak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This was the best hotel we stayed in on our trip. We stayed in the deluxe suite on the 27th floor overlooking the city. Our bedroom balcony was a point to take some great night shots of the city. It was an amazing room and not to mention that the bed was so big and comfy you'd never want to leave. It was very clean, modern and only a short drive to Shanghai's central business district. The staff were very helpful and polite. The hotel conveniently had two restaurants down stairs that covered both western and asian cuisine.
On our next trip to Shanghai we would definitely stay here again. Everything about this hotel was fantastic.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a city view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rean_anth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary M, General Manager at Fraser Residence Shanghai, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Rean_anth:

Thank you for taking time to share your comments with us. We are delighted to learn that your overall stay was enjoyable.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Fraser Residence Shanghai soon.

Best Regards,

Gary Mak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

It´s a nice ¨hotel´ and the rooms are big. There is a small kitchen and nice size fridge if you wish to buy groceries and cook. Not a bad idea in China after a week there. They have air purifiers which are great. The pollution all over China is really bad. The check in was fast and the staff was friendly. The internet service was intermittent and would just stop working, not good for communicating over Skype. There is a grocery store a couple of blocks away but extremely expensive. The restaurant does offer a great Cesar´s Salad and other western dishes as well as Chinese cuisine. It would be ideal if there could be a buffet style breakfast but I guess that´s why it is not a normal hotel. I would recommend it for longer stays.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CroatiaUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary M, General Manager at Fraser Residence Shanghai, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear CroatiaUsa:

Thank you for taking time to share your comments with us. We are delighted to learn that you are happy with our services and facilities.

In regards to your comment about the internet connection, please note that our improvement plan is in progress, we should have a much better connection soon.

In regards to the breakfast buffet options, since it is running by a third party operator, we will definitely relay your valuable feedback to them and we will also follow up closely for further improvement.

Thank you once again and look forward to seeing you again at Fraser Residence Shanghai.

Best regards,

Gary Mak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

i have been living at Fraser for 8 months now. I have a small flat with living room (sofa, flat screen, small dining table, kitchen fully equiped), bedroom (small room with huge king bed) and bathroom (huge, with vasca and shower). for it is simply perfect. I've had a problem just once with the sink, after 11pm and the engineer came immeditaly to repair. In the morning, they call the taxi for me, they help me for whatever I may need (there is reception service speaking in english 24/7). The kitchen is fully equiped, i did not have to buy anything. The room is minimal style but cosy. At the 6th floor there are the gym (well equiped), the swimming pool, a lounge with free coffee, sauna and 2 restaurant that I use when I am lazy and I don't want to cook. It's a bit expensive, but Shanghai is expensive.
It's absolutely downtown and very closed to the financial area on the other side of the river (10 minutes by taxi) so quite strategic for people like me who work in Pudong but want to live in Puxi.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank federigo v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary M, General Manager at Fraser Residence Shanghai, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Federigo v:

Thank you for taking time to share your comments with us. We are delighted to learn that your overall stay was enjoyable.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Fraser Residence Shanghai soon.

Best Regards,

Gary Mak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

The Fraser Residence is in an excellent location, near Nanjing Rd, the old town, People's square and Xintandi. It is also a 5-10min walk to two different metro lines which connects you to the rest of Shanghai.

The rooms were surprisingly spacious, bed comfortable and having a washing machine was a luxury to replenish our clean clothes! Fresh bottled water supplied daily too.

Staff were friendly and helpful.

A couple of cons: included breakfast isn't fantastic, limited fresh fruit available. A cereal table for hotel guests would have gone down a treat but instead you're limited to their preprepared breakfast meal selection. Breakfast also only starts at 7am - too bad if you have an early start.

Our room had that old "smokers room" smell about it, even though we requested a non-smoking room. There was someone on our floor smoking as well which infiltrated our room.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary M, General Manager at Fraser Residence Shanghai, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Diana80:

Thank you for taking time to share your comments with us. We are delighted to learn that you are happy with our overall services and facilities.

In regards to the breakfast options, since it is running by a third party operator, we will definitely relay your valuable feedback to them and we will also follow up closely for further improvement.

For smoking smell in the apartment, please be reassured that refresh trainings on room upkeep will be conducted accordingly in order to make sure your next stay will be a much pleasant one.

Thank you once again and look forward to seeing you at Fraser Residence Shanghai soon.
Best regards,

Gary Mak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Old Town
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Xintiandi
The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraser Residence Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Residence Shanghai

Property: Fraser Residence Shanghai
Address: NO. 98 Shouning Road, Shanghai 200021, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Xintiandi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 308 Speciality Lodging in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fraser Residence Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently redesigned and refurbished, and in Fraser Residence Shanghai has also installed an air purifying and water filter system to ensure that every guest will enjoy a better quality of air and water in their luxurious apartments. Situated on the Puxi side of the Huangpo River, Fraser Residence Shanghai is just a block from Huaihai Road, Shanghai's bustling hub for business, shopping and entertainment. Xintiandi, with its iconic boutiques, bars and restaurants in historic Shikumen houses is nearby, as is the famous Dongtai Antique Market. Fraser Residence Shanghai features 324 Gold-Standard, contemporary apartments and excellent facilities. Minimalist in style, with airy rooms, subtle colours, Fraser Residence Shanghai is a relaxing, tranquil sanctuary in a vibrant, busy location. Guests will appreciate the greatly enhanced meeting facilities, high speed Wi-Fi throughout, tempting new F&B options, wellness spa, gym and indoor heated pool". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fraser Residence Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frasers Residence Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Fraser Residence Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing