We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in center of Shanghai”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fraser Residence Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel in center of Shanghai”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I stay in this hotel many times! It's very beautiful hotel in the Center of Shanghai. It's very close to the main area of Xintiandi, just 5 minutes walking and to the Huaihai Road just 2 minutes walking.
The gym is very nice and opened 24/7.
The hotel has a Element Fresh at the 6th Floor with a nice terrace outside where you can eat and enjoy the nice days in Shanghai. Element Fresh can also deliver in room of the Fraser Hotel.
Security is a must for this hotel, very safe!
All rooms are like apartments with kitchen fully furnished (you can buy food and cook by yourself) an living room and separate bedroom. The bathroom is beautiful and very big!

It's always nice to stay at Fraser Hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MatthewDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary M, General Manager at Fraser Residence Shanghai, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear MatthewDD:

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. We are so glad to learn that your repeated stay was enjoyable as usual.

Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you back to your "Shanghai Home” soon.

Best Regards,


Gary Mak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    215
    27
    8
    5
See reviews for
81
121
40
193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed in a business suite and it was exactly what we expected. The room was very clean and had everything we needed to feel at home. It is located very close to Xintiandi (10-15 min walk) and very close to people's square.

Many hotels in Shanghai smells like smoke, and it is really annoying. Even when you book a non-smoking room, the rooms and the hallway smells like smoke. I hate that, bc after you leave the hotel, your clothes end up smelling like smoke! I appreciate that this hotel does not have any smoke smell at all!

I was a little concerned about the quality of the hotel because we got the room for a very cheap price, but to my surprise it was an amazing room!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fifi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary M, General Manager at Fraser Residence Shanghai, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Fifi F:

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us. We are very glad to learn that your overall stay was an enjoyable one and you are happy with our central location, apartment and our service.

Since all our guest concerns are our first priority, our apartments and public area have installed air filter in order to improve the indoor air quality and odour. In addition, we have also installed soft water and water filtration system throughout the residence so that all our residents can have quality water during their stay also.

Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you back to Fraser Residence Shanghai soon.

Best regards,

Gary Mak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Lovely one bedroom apartment with a very high end bathroom. Both living room had high end Pioneer flatscreen TV's with a DVD and sound system in the living room. The Kitchen is small and basic but there is a washing machine and tumble dryer. Service at the hotel was excellent at all times. My only fault was the noise from cars sounding their horns every 30 seconds between 6am and 2am. It isn't too bad during the day but it makes it difficult to sleep at night.

Room Tip: I think you are stuck with the noise regardless of what room you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GJO80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary M, General Manager at Fraser Residence Shanghai, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear GJO80:

Thank you for taking time to share your comments with us. We are delighted to learn that your overall stay is an enjoyable one and happy with our services and apartment facilities.

In regards to your comment about the traffic noise, I would like share with you that improvement works are in progress, I trust your next stay will be a more comfortable one.

Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again at Fraser Residence Shanghai soon.

Best regards,

Gary Mak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We were in Shanghai for 5 nights and the room size was very much appreciated - we had our own little one bedroom apartment with a balcony in Shanghai very centrally located between two MRT stations.

The rooms were very modern and comfortable. It all felt very new or at least very well maintained. The size of the bedroom itself is not massive but there was ample storage space and it was compensated by the fact that you have your own living room and kitchen.

I would recommend it to anyone and can see how it would very convenient for families although I barely saw any.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank David_Londo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary M, General Manager at Fraser Residence Shanghai, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear David_Londo:

Thank you for taking time to share your comments with us. We are delighted to learn that your overall stay was enjoyable and you are happy with our location and facilities. I fully agree with your point in regards to our family friendly set up, in fact, we have quite a high proportion of bookings from families especially during holiday seasons.

Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you back to Fraser Residence Shanghai soon.

Best Regards,

Gary Mak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This hotel is great value for money and in a handy location.

My room was big, fairly well appointed with separate bathroom, kitchen nook with washer/dryer and a balcony. The hotel staff were welcoming, friendly and always willing to help.

It is within medium walking distance to Xintiandi and the great restaurants and shopping located there, or a very short, inexpensive cab ride if walking isn't an option.

Will definitely stay again if not staying in Xintiandi.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blankets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary M, General Manager at Fraser Residence Shanghai, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Blankets:

Thank you for taking time to share your valuable comments with us. We are delighted to learn that your overall stay was an enjoyable one and you are happy with our central location, apartment and our service.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Fraser Residence Shanghai soon.

Best Regards,

Gary Mak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I stayed at Fraser Shanghai many times over the past 6 months.
Overall it's a good place to stay and its the reason why I always come back. Very good value for money. Service is below average... Management is invisible. Never met anyone from management over my half dozen stays. Some staff at FO are just marvellous, but some are extremely unfriendly.Reservation staff on the phone are very unfriendly and rude , fotunately Front office staff took over the reservation process. Breakfast is the worst I have experienced in 20 years of travels. Their breakfast a la carte concept clearly doesnt work and everyone seem to agree about it but they don't change anything... Weird... Room is great, spacious, air filtered, housekeeping staff are good and friendly. Location can't be better.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary M, General Manager at Fraser Residence Shanghai, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Jean L:

Thank you for taking time to share your valuable comments with us. We are delighted to learn that your overall stay was an enjoyable one and you are happy with our central location, apartment and its facilities as well our housekeeping team.

Regarding to your feedback about our breakfast, since it is running by a third party operator, we will definitely relay your valuable feedback to them and discuss with them for possibility of further improvement.

Following your feedback in regards to service inconsistency of our front desk and reservations team, please accept my sincere apology on this matter. You may rest assure that we take your feedbacks in the most serious manner and refreshment trainings have already been arranged in order to make sure all of our guests are having an enjoyable stay with us.

Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you back to Fraser Residence Shanghai soon. If you have any further comments would like to share with me, please do not hesitate to contact me at gary.mak@frasershospitality.com.

Best Regards,

Gary Mak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We were really pleasantly surprised by our stay at Fraser Residence. The room (exec. one bed) was very comfortable. The bed amazing, and the views spectacular. The washer/dryer was a decided boon. After the pollution of Shanghai, which you find noticeable after you have been out all day, the clean air of the room was very much appreciated. Close to great street food; turn left out of the hotel, left on Xizang, right on Huaihai, and left on Yunnan ( much closer than it sounds), and you have the best breakfast food for miles. Dumplings, Chinese crepes, all delicious and incredibly cheap. Do what we did - pick up a selection and go back to the hotel to eat in peace, quiet, and sitting down...Honestly, so much better than any hotel breakfast, included or not.
PS: There is a Starbucks just around the corner (on the way to or from Yunnan)...But the hours are "flexible"...

Room Tip: Go for the one bed or exec one bed...worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MTL-Simons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary M, General Manager at Fraser Residence Shanghai, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear MTL-Simons:

Thank you for taking time to share your comments with us. We are delighted to learn that your overall stay was enjoyable and you are happy with our location, facilities and especially our fresh air throughout our residence. You may also notice our water are all softened and purified too since our main goal is to provide a clean and healthy environment to all our guests.

Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you back to Fraser Residence Shanghai soon.

Best Regards,

Gary Mak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Old Town
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xintiandi
The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraser Residence Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Residence Shanghai

Property: Fraser Residence Shanghai
Address: NO. 98 Shouning Road, Shanghai 200021, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Xintiandi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 302 Speciality Lodging in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fraser Residence Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently redesigned and refurbished, and in Fraser Residence Shanghai has also installed an air purifying and water filter system to ensure that every guest will enjoy a better quality of air and water in their luxurious apartments. Situated on the Puxi side of the Huangpo River, Fraser Residence Shanghai is just a block from Huaihai Road, Shanghai's bustling hub for business, shopping and entertainment. Xintiandi, with its iconic boutiques, bars and restaurants in historic Shikumen houses is nearby, as is the famous Dongtai Antique Market. Fraser Residence Shanghai features 324 Gold-Standard, contemporary apartments and excellent facilities. Minimalist in style, with airy rooms, subtle colours, Fraser Residence Shanghai is a relaxing, tranquil sanctuary in a vibrant, busy location. Guests will appreciate the greatly enhanced meeting facilities, high speed Wi-Fi throughout, tempting new F&B options, wellness spa, gym and indoor heated pool". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fraser Residence Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frasers Residence Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Fraser Residence Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing