We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Zhabei Shanghai
Nearby Hotels
US$141
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$183
US$120
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$274
US$251
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$268
US$234
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$295
US$240
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$209
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$181
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Kunlun Jing An(Shanghai)
US$191
US$145
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$200
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$119
US$63
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (962)
Filter reviews
963 results
Traveller rating
144
455
263
64
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
144
455
263
64
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationnorth squaremain stationnoodleshotel is locatedbudget hotelwi firooms are bigbreakfast was includedspeak englishpeople's squarelineexithiekfccnntoothbrush
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
283 - 288 of 963 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2013

For the price we paid we were really happy with this hotel. Good location especially if you are arriving and/or departing from the railway station.

As someone else said - breakfast time does definitely resemble feeding time at a zoo (though less well mannered!). However, it's good that breakfast is included.

Slightly odd experience when we checked in as lady at reception said our room had been given to another guest so we would need to pay to upgrade to a suite room (having booked and paid in advance).

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
Thank mattjamestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Had a pretty good stay at the Holiday Inn Express Zhabei. Hotel is located near the Shanghai Railway Station. Subways Line 3 and 4 is a 10 minutes walk away whilst Line 1 is around a 15-20 minutes walk away from the hotel. Hotel offers free wifi and free breakfast although the Chinese styled breakfast (with some western dishes) can either be a hit or miss depending on your taste. Hotel offers good bedding with choice of soft or firm pillows. I found the hotel's laundry room to be very convenient for last minute self-service laundry. However, cleanliness is a problem. Not all parts of the room and toilet are cleaned properly and thoroughly. Additionally, room the air conditioner seems impossible to set. The air conditioner seems fixed to 18C even when set to 25C.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

This is without any reasonable doubt the worst hotel I've ever stayed at! The reception area is small tiny and bad organized, receptionists speak a fairly poor English but this is pretty common in China. Rooms cleanliness and furnishings are terrible. No comments about breakfast, just embarassing. No pool, no gym, no sauna. Just nothing at all. You walk 500m across the bridge and find another Holiday Inn which is 1000 times better than this. Stay away from this place!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Firstmanonearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
北方智選假日酒店, 經理 at Holiday Inn Express Zhabei Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2013

Dear Firstmanonearth,

Greeting from Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Zhabei.

Thank you for your review of your recent experience at our hotel. We strive to provide the experiences that exceed our guests’ wildest expectations.

I understand that you were disappointed in your stay, and I have shared your feedback with our management team in order to help us continue to improve our stay experience.

Our guests’ satisfaction is of paramount importance to us at Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Zhabei, and I hope you stay again so that we can change your perception.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

A Good Stay & Beautiful Hotel. Breakfast was very good, it was International & very palatable as Chinese food does not agree with me. The rooms too were very good, staff very friendly, though Language is a problem! Can be recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DilrukshiH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is a good Hotel to stay near Railway Station- Metro. 15 minutes way from Indian Restaurants. We can get Metro to go to any place in Shanghai. Very good breakfast is available. Enonomical eating points are also available nearby. Rooms are good and well maintained.

Room Tip: Room on high floor should be selected. So that there is no noise of traffic or trains.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mre158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews