We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Zhabei Shanghai
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yi Xiang Hotel(Shanghai)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (963)
Filter reviews
963 results
Traveller rating
144
455
263
64
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
144
455
263
64
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationnorth squaremain stationnoodleshotel is locatedbudget hotelwi firooms are bigbreakfast was includedspeak englishpeople's squarelineexithiekfccnntoothbrush
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
280 - 285 of 963 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Got a good introductory rate, so very well priced compared to other hotels around Shanghai Railway station.
We needed to be in this location for easy access to station, and this did the job.
Good sized rooms.
Breakfast included which was very popular for all guests - busy after 730am,
Staff very efficient.
Local restaurants/take-away nearby.
About 25RMB taxi to Nanjing Road etc, but just take the Metro. It is quite easy once you do it!
Rooms a bit musty but could have been fresh paint smell.
Housekeepers did a good job.
Ate in restaurant one - really just basic bar food but god after a busy day.
Good lifts

Room Tip: Facing front of hotel is away from railway lines - but did not hear any noise.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Holiday inn standard right by the main train and metro station. 5 mins into central on the metro.

Rooms are good and what you'd expect from the chain, quite a clean refreshing haven from the noise and crowds of the city.

Wifi didn't quite reach rooms and breakfast wasn't great. Good for its money.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Will A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
北方智選假日酒店, 經理 at Holiday Inn Express Zhabei Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2013

Dear Will A,

Greeting from Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Zhabei.

Thank you for your review of your recent experience at our hotel. We strive to provide the experiences that exceed our guests’ wildest expectations.

I understand that you were disappointed in your stay, and I have shared your feedback with our management team in order to help us continue to improve our stay experience.

Our guests’ satisfaction is of paramount importance to us at Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Zhabei, and I hope you stay again so that we can change your perception.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

The hotel is not within walking distance of the main attraction but is convenient to the Shanghai Metro. This was a standard good quality hotel. Everything was clean, new and easy and the staff were helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deryn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

For the price we paid we were really happy with this hotel. Good location especially if you are arriving and/or departing from the railway station.

As someone else said - breakfast time does definitely resemble feeding time at a zoo (though less well mannered!). However, it's good that breakfast is included.

Slightly odd experience when we checked in as lady at reception said our room had been given to another guest so we would need to pay to upgrade to a suite room (having booked and paid in advance).

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
Thank mattjamestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Had a pretty good stay at the Holiday Inn Express Zhabei. Hotel is located near the Shanghai Railway Station. Subways Line 3 and 4 is a 10 minutes walk away whilst Line 1 is around a 15-20 minutes walk away from the hotel. Hotel offers free wifi and free breakfast although the Chinese styled breakfast (with some western dishes) can either be a hit or miss depending on your taste. Hotel offers good bedding with choice of soft or firm pillows. I found the hotel's laundry room to be very convenient for last minute self-service laundry. However, cleanliness is a problem. Not all parts of the room and toilet are cleaned properly and thoroughly. Additionally, room the air conditioner seems impossible to set. The air conditioner seems fixed to 18C even when set to 25C.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews