We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FIRST TRIP TO CHINA”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Zhabei Shanghai
Ranked #115 of 5,137 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Our friends and relatives advised us to choose another hotel from another district when we told them that we were going there on vacation in Shanghai with our 11 year old son.Having got a last minute deal on airfares, we decided to give it a try as the hotel looked nice and was inexpensive.One week before departure, we collected as many tips as possible on internet.We also downloaded the address of the hotel in Chinese and showed it to the taxi driver who dropped us there without any difficulty though it was getting dark.We checked in easily and were given a non smoking room on the 18th floor.This hotel was beyond our expectations.our room (same as that on the website) was very clean, comfortable and serviced every day by a smiling lady whom we often met during our 11 nights stay.The daily complimentary two bottles of water was really appreciated as in our country they would be highly charged. Breakfast was included in the price and though it was repetitive, there was always enough to fill us till lunch.However, one morning, the hotel seemed to be invaded by groups of children who were on vacation and it took us some time to have a seat.There were also some nice places nearby where we tasted some good local food.We also made great use of the free internet in the lobby.The DIY laundry and ironing on the 3rd floor was a blessing as we did not bring many clothes.We made use of taxis(whom the reception desk called) and the nearby subway to get around.as we don't speak any Chinese, we always had the address we wanted to visit written in Chinese.The staff was always friendly and very helpful.special thanks to Zoe and Thomas.Overall, we found this hotel very good and inexpensive.Hope to come back someday.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the higher floors as the nearby railway station may disturb those who are very ligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlueDolphin9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (913)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

249 - 255 of 913 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013

Stayed at this hotel for one night only but after staying in Changshu this felt a step down – mostly due to the poorly cleaned bathroom where there was the previous occupants hair on the wall and a stain which was not pleasant. Personally I think there are better options when considering location and price – regardless of the housekeeping standards!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XKR100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
北方智選假日酒店, 經理 at Holiday Inn Express Zhabei Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2013

Dear XKR100,

Greeting from Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Zhabei.

Thank you for your review of your recent experience at our hotel. We strive to provide the experiences that exceed our guests’ wildest expectations.

I understand that you were disappointed in your stay for the bathroom clean issue, and I have shared your feedback with our management team in order to help us continue to improve our stay experience.

Our guests’ satisfaction is of paramount importance to us at Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Zhabei, and I hope you stay again so that we can change your perception.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Good: near to subway and railway station, service ok, rooms clean

Bad: food, lack of amenities. They provide wifi router but cable is faulty. Luckily we have our own. Channel 1 has an unclear eerie image of a man in karate gi permanently. Looks spooky.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yishengzhengqi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
北方智選假日酒店, 經理 at Holiday Inn Express Zhabei Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Dear yishengzhengqi,

Greeting from Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Zhabei.

Thank you for your review of your recent experience at our hotel. We strive to provide the experiences that exceed our guests’ wildest expectations.

I understand that you were disappointed in your stay, and I have shared your feedback with our management team in order to help us continue to improve our stay experience.

Our guests’ satisfaction is of paramount importance to us at Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Zhabei, and I hope you stay again so that we can change your perception.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This is quite a big hotel and the facilities and amenities are reasonably good for the price, rather very good for the low fares they charge. The hotel is very neat and tidey, rooms are big and well maintained. Only, it was too crowded when I was there, may be owing to vacations in China and hence the breakfast was never peaceful or satisfactory. There were too little non-Chinese food options as well and towards my third day of stay, I started having only coffee, nothing else. The other thing I saw is that there was no gym, which was odd for a Holiday Inn! Other than these few glitches it is a pleasant hotel to stay at with a great location near the Shanghai Railway Station. Certainly worth the money!

Room Tip: Higher floors are better as the hotel is near the Shanghai railway station and hence there could be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This hotel is a perfect hotel for a stay in Shanghai. It is clean and modern with comfortable beds, the staff are friendly. There is not a lot of choice for breakfasts but thats no problem as there are takeaways just up the road,all in all this hotel is value for money and more.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elaineT557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Got a good introductory rate, so very well priced compared to other hotels around Shanghai Railway station.
We needed to be in this location for easy access to station, and this did the job.
Good sized rooms.
Breakfast included which was very popular for all guests - busy after 730am,
Staff very efficient.
Local restaurants/take-away nearby.
About 25RMB taxi to Nanjing Road etc, but just take the Metro. It is quite easy once you do it!
Rooms a bit musty but could have been fresh paint smell.
Housekeepers did a good job.
Ate in restaurant one - really just basic bar food but god after a busy day.
Good lifts

Room Tip: Facing front of hotel is away from railway lines - but did not hear any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Holiday inn standard right by the main train and metro station. 5 mins into central on the metro.

Rooms are good and what you'd expect from the chain, quite a clean refreshing haven from the noise and crowds of the city.

Wifi didn't quite reach rooms and breakfast wasn't great. Good for its money.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Will A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
北方智選假日酒店, 經理 at Holiday Inn Express Zhabei Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2013

Dear Will A,

Greeting from Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Zhabei.

Thank you for your review of your recent experience at our hotel. We strive to provide the experiences that exceed our guests’ wildest expectations.

I understand that you were disappointed in your stay, and I have shared your feedback with our management team in order to help us continue to improve our stay experience.

Our guests’ satisfaction is of paramount importance to us at Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Zhabei, and I hope you stay again so that we can change your perception.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown
Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown
#132 of 5,137 in Shanghai
925 reviews
Caoyang / Zhenru
Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Jinsha
Zhongshan Park
Pentahotel Shanghai
Pentahotel Shanghai
#62 of 5,137 in Shanghai
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Changshou Road
Holiday Inn Express Putuo Shanghai
Holiday Inn Express Putuo Shangh...
#1,131 of 5,137 in Shanghai
273 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
#60 of 5,137 in Shanghai
1,743 reviews
Hongkou
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Hongkou
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Zhabei Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Zhabei Shanghai

Address: No.1738 Zhongxing Road, Zhabei District, Shanghai 200070, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Shanghai Railway Station
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#121 Business Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: £41 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Zhabei Shanghai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 472
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the good-value Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Zhabei for a convenient location and transport links, 15 minutes by taxi from Nanjing Road.The staff at the high-rise Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Zhabei hotel offer a warm welcome on your arrival, 30 minutes by taxi from Shanghai Hongqiao International Airport. Only a 5-minute walk from Shanghai railway station and subway station, this modern hotel is in the downtown Puxi area of Shanghai. You can surf the web with complimentary high-speed Internet in the comfort of your spacious, air-conditioned Guest room.Hit the glitzy malls and quirky shops of Shanghai's famous Nanjing Road for elegant Chinese tea sets and new Asian fashions. Dinner and drinks await at the bars and restaurants in entertainment hotspot Xintiandi, 20 minutes' drive from Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Zhabei.Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Zhabei has 2 meeting rooms with great views that you can use to host events for up to 60 people. Drop by the 24-hour Business Centre to print your documents and prepare for meetings. The Shanghai New International Expo Centre is a short subway ride away.Refuel with a hearty Chinese spread including congee, noodles and fresh fruit at our complimentary breakfast buffet, prepared daily in the stylish Great Room. For tips on where to find the tastiest dumplings in Shanghai, just ask our friendly Front Desk staff.Enjoy value for money at Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Zhabei. All of our comfortable Guest rooms are at least 32-sq-metres in size and have complimentary high-speed Internet. Our breakfast buffet is also complimentary and lets you kick start your day with a generous meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Zhabei Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Zhabei Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Holiday Inn Express Shanghai
Holiday Inn Shanghai
Shanghai Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing