We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean room, close to major shopping”
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #185 of 5,035 Hotels in Shanghai
USA
Level Contributor
258 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Clean room, close to major shopping”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I stayed here for 5 nights. The room is clean, but the bed is a bit harder than what I am used to. Buffet breakfast has both Western and Chinese food, but the food remained the same for the days I was there. The hotel is close to major shopping areas. The only complaint I have is the lack of wireless internet connections in the room which is a bit inconvenient because I cannot log in using my ipad. I can access the internet using the broadband (20 yuan per day).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5flower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    101
    33
    4
    4
See reviews for
9
25
12
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The hotel is fairly new and clean. Rooms are nice and not too small. Staff is friendly and efficient but English is very limited. Even the location is rather central it is sorts off the beaten tracks and not easy to find. Subway station line 2 Jiangsu Road or Jing'an Temple 10 to 15 minute walk but you need to know the way as it is not straightforward to get there. Strangely there is no Wifi in the rooms, only cable available.

If you need train tickets the concierge will organise this for you for a very decent fee of only 3 Pounds. I did not try the amenities or restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark_in_Asia74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Stayed in the hotel for 2 nights.

The rooms are clean & comfortable, normally what anyone would expect from a 3 star. The amenities were also reasonable. Strangely the hotel did not have wi-fi throughout. It was restricted only to the ground floor.

The staff was friendly & efficient. Same goes for the housekeeping.

They have a fairly good breakfast spread & same goes for the quality.

The hotel is about 10mins walking distance from Jing'an Temple Metro Station & Nanjing Road. One can hangout around these areas after work in the evenings.

Overall a fairly good experience. Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank vishalchotrani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We stayed at the Ambassador for three nights at the end of a cruise. Firstly we had a problem with our hotel voucher which was issued to us in the UK and had the wrong dates. The hotel was not very helpful and the couple who were with us spent £76 in telephone calls back to the UK in order to rectify. The hotel was not really interested in sorting the problem out on our behalf. However the hotel rooms were large, clean and comfortable. The buffet breakfast was good and we also used both their 'western' and Chinese restaurant for two evening meals. The biggest drawback of the hotel is its location. It is not central to the tourist areas of Shanghai and meant using taxis to get to the main areas. The traffic in Shanghai is the most chaotic that we have ever encountered with virtually no traffic management as we know it in the UK.

Room Tip: If you choose this hotel then their executive rooms are best. Also smoking is normal in China so req...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John_C186533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batumi, Georgia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Hotel is nice with well-designed rooms giving you a great wiev. Though big disadvantage is that you do not wifi in your room. This must be fixed, if they want to offer full comfort to the guests.Gym was under renovation.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Explorer_Geo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmette, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We stayed in this hotel for two nights as part of a tour package provided by our host. The hotel room is clean and comfortable, with reasonable amenities. The cleaning staff did the cleaning very quickly in the morning and made themselves unobtrusive to guests. The breakfast buffet is excellent, with many choices. The location is not exactly central, with the nearest metro station about 15-minute walk away (about 1 km, 0.6 mile). On a hot summer day, this can be brutal. However, there is a better alternative - take a taxi to the Jingan Temple via the WanHangDu Road. There is a metro station there (subway line no. 2), along with various interesting sites to visit, e.g., the Temple itself, the Jingan Park, and many shops and restaurants around the Temple. Cost: RMB 14 (about US$2.25). That's a great launching point for subsequent excursions. One more thing: don't lose your key card. If you do, they will insist on charging you somewhere in the neighborhood of US$20.

Room Tip: Ask for a non-smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AviatorYW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Vernon, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We were referred to the Ambassador Hotel by friends who live in the area and were very pleased with the comfort, convenience, value and location of the hotel in the Jing-An district of Shanghai. One breakfast was included in the room fee and we purchased one for about US $15. The breakfast buffet was pretty much Chinese and the coffee was good. We also had foot massages at the spa in the hotel and were satisified, although the cost was probably higher than we could have found elsewhere. Service at the front desk was excellent. Recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lao_Shr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Changshou Road
Holiday Inn Shanghai Vista
Holiday Inn Shanghai Vista
#103 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Starr Hotel
#127 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Jing'an
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
#50 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Caoyang / Zhenru
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai Hong Quan
Zhongshan Park
Mercure Shanghai Royalton
Mercure Shanghai Royalton
#169 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Zhongshan Park
Jinjiang MetroPolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Jing An Temple
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Property: Ambassador Hotel
Address: No.818 Wanhangdu Road, Jingan District, Shanghai 200042, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an , Changshou Road
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#159 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing