We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four star rating because of the wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Brightel All Suites Shanghai
Ranked #76 of 394 Speciality Lodging in Shanghai
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Location is perfect and within walking distance to my work. Despite the language barrier, staff are wonderful and very helpful. Rooms are a bit old already and breakfast was really bad. I stayed for 6 nights and I only eat their yogurt and some bananas and apple juice every day. The lobby is being renovated as well as the coffeeshop so we were eating at the function room. Wifi can be accessed for free at the lounge but connection is bad. 4 rating because of the wonderful people who works in the hotel and it's location. Hopefully after the renovation everything will be better.

Room Tip: A/C units take a while to cool so best to turn it out while being in the lounge where wifi is free
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahjoie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 22 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2013

it is ok for short business trips, if you are working close by, it is a good location to stay for short trips.
the room is clean, the shower is ok, breakfast is fair... but don't expect much more services.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arthur c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

When I read the reviews here after booking my stay at the Golden Tulip Ashar Suites, I was very much concerned. However, my room was excellent. The bathroom was very clean -- the shower is great. There were no unpleasant smells anywhere. It is possible that the hotel has been thoroughly cleaned after the negative reviews were done. The staff at the front desk was not as helpful as they might have been, but the young lady in charge of the dining room where we had breakfast and the staff of the business center were outstanding. The breakfast buffet had a wide selection of both western and Chinese dishes. Very good and very generous. There was one spot on the carpet in my room; but then, there is also a spot on my carpet at home. To call the hotel dirty is simply not true and not fair to the establishment. I was booked into the room by a Formula 1 Tour company, because I was there for the Grand prix of China. Perhaps that got me a stellar room.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This is a dump by any definition. From filthy carpeting, years of brown gunk built up in the bathroom corners to worn and chipped furnishings it is clear no one cares about this hole other than getting unknowing people to check in as long as possible.

It is so far past the need for renovation that I feared the latest chicken virus probably lurked in its dank coffin like rooms. The worst place I have stayed ever. They claim to be remodeling but there is scant evidence of it.

But if they are make sure to fire every last arrogant and rude staff person there....that would be all of them. I actually had the house keeping manager fight with me over getting breakfast first in the slop yard they call a restaurant. The staff just help themselves to the buffet and plop down right in the guest dining room talking loudly with their friends the restaurant staff.

I have never seen such rudeness by staff and or filthy tired and worn out facilities in my life. This place is disgusting. I will never stay at this chains hotels again. This is the height of we don't care; just give us your money. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank charles c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Stayed here for three days and was less than impressed with the facility. The hotel appeared to be under construction although we never heard or saw any workers.

They had a sewage smell in the lobby that transferred up the elevator shafts to some of the floors.

The internet was only available in the lobby or the 9th floor in the restaurant and business area.

The beds were hard as a rock - it was almost like sleeping on the floor.

I have stayed in other Tulip locations around the world and always had a good experience. This hotel unfortunately was less than acceptable

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerraWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

we stayed here for four nights. the staff is friendly - many english speaking - and the location is great. the breakfast buffet, which was included, was a nice variety of eastern and western selections. the hotel itself is not very clean. even the non-smoking floor, smells a little of smoke. the bathroom faucet leaked all over the floor, even after we reported it. the housekeepers kept leaving only one bath towel and hand towel in our room, telling us it was extra to have a second towel. wifi is not available in the room - only on one floor in the business center. we had a suite with a kitchen, but no kitchen utensils available. the bed is too hard, and i like a firm mattress. no english speaking channels on the tv.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggiemuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Location of this hotel is ideal for anyone visiting Shanghai as it is just off central west Nanjing Road in the Jing' an district, which is a great area for high end shopping and eating out. The hotel itself is reasonable value for money, the room selected - a suite - was decent enough in terms of comfort and was situated on a non smoking floor. As for the facilities well, the restaurant seemed ok, although slightly limited in what it had to offer. I found the service at this place to be OK and professional despite some others reviews here giving alternate opinions but internet access is charged by the hour so be prepared for that as it is not made very clear at check in.
However, the price of the rooms and the location of the hotel makes it a good place to stop.

Room Tip: 21st floor is non smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AzitiZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#5 of 5,206 in Shanghai
2,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#40 of 5,206 in Shanghai
2,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brightel All Suites Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brightel All Suites Shanghai

Address: No.288 Shanxi North Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200041, China (Formerly Golden Tulip Ashar Suites City Centre Shanghai)
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an , Nanjing West Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 394 Speciality Lodging in Shanghai
Price Range: £32 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Brightel All Suites Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 608
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Tulip Ashar Suites - Shanghai Central is strategically situated in the prime of central Shanghai - West Nanjing Road. Numerous luxurious brands, entertainment and high-end office buildings are just adjacent to it. The hotel is not only easy access to two international airports via Yan'An Expressway, but as well to all the major city sightseeing spots, namely People’s Square, The Bund, Xintiandi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Brightel All Suites Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Ashar Suites City Centre Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Central View Hotel
Central View Apartment Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing