We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Used to be better but now belong to option "B" group” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Forte Hotel Shanghai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Forte Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #212 of 4,941 Hotels in Shanghai
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
209 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Used to be better but now belong to option "B" group”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

(Positives)
1) China Bank ATM on the first floor
2) Within walking distance to restaurants and cafe (10 min walk to starbucks and 15 minute to Burger King)
3) facing a big park
4) 7 minute walk to subway station

(Possible negatives)
1) mediocre breakfast
2) Room comes with "cheap chinese luxury" which could have been OK ten years ago but not anymore.

Room Tip: Ask for park-view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skucla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    30
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
3
1
7
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Stayed in room 822, at the side of the hotel, for several nights. No real view. Yili Rd can be busy but the double glazed window meant the room was very quiet most of the time- with just the occasional muted truck horn filtering through and occasional muted nose from other rooms. Effective blackout curtains kept it dark. Even the aircon fan was reasonably quiet. Initially, the in room wifi was weak but, about 2 minutes after my complaint, the IT girl appeared with a free router and it was good for the rest of my stay. Excellent service.

My only real criticism was the dirty grout and poor quality silicone sealing in the shower- like most of the hotels in China.... Had dinner in the western restaurant on two nights and, aside from some slightly incorrect descriptions on the menu, it was okay. It's only a 10 minute walk across YanAn Lu to the brand new "white boot" shopping centre if you need a supermarket and extensive food court.

If I need to stay in the Honqiao area again I would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaldoraTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

I stayed there for 3 days with my family. This is a very quiet hotel in the middle of the vibrant city. There is park just opposite to the hotel; you can spend some time in the park in the early morning (very pleasant).The concierge was very co-operative and the check in and checkout is very fast. (even they allowed me an early check in). Breakfast doesn’t have good choice for the people from west. Really I recommend this hotel if your budget is less than 700RMB/night.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chandramohan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cerro Maggiore, Italia
Level Contributor
314 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

Once again in Forte' hotel for 5 nights.Room at 8th floor(last)not really new but quite comfortable.
Breakfast ok as always and check in and check out procedures fast.
Bell boys there always nice with me and my heavy bags!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Massifly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

well, if you have to stay in the hongqiao area and are looking for a decent business hotel on a compeditive price you are right with Forte Hotel. Internet is free, Breakfast is okay. The rooms are spacious and comfy all after all. the bar restaurant is nothing special, but the japanese restaurant is not bad. stayed there a couple of times in 2011 a

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doraemonPEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cerro Maggiore, Italia
Level Contributor
314 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

As always whentravelling in Shanghai I was guest in Forte' Hotel.Many customers are from Japan and the hotel seems more western than others.
Breakfast is plenty,rooms quite good(some of them are going little bit old),staff friendly.
Next to the hotel there's a park where take a relaxing walk.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Massifly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2010

This hotel is quite good. It is not near all of the tourist places but as one of the other reviewers wrote, a quick taxi ride is all that is needed (10-15 minutes around 30RMB). Taxis station themselves right outside. Many Japanese travelers stay here and for me that says quite a bit. The owner is on hand many evenings and always has a smile and a hand shake for you. Under construction at the moment is a new Japanese restaurant. The owner has hired a Japanese chef to head things up. My room was not large or grand but very clean and modern. It has all the amenities needed. They do have quite a few tv stations in english including HBO, CNN and ESPN. It should be noted that I have stayed here for almost three weeks so I do know a little bit about this hotel. With certainty I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leftfooted5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Shanghai Gubei Garden
Shanghai Gubei Garden
#203 of 4,941 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Hong Qiao State Guest Hotel
Hong Qiao State Guest Hotel
#146 of 4,941 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Shenkang Hotel
Shenkang Hotel
#895 of 4,941 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Grand Millennium Shanghai HongQiao
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Rainbow Hotel Shanghai
Rainbow Hotel Shanghai
#135 of 4,941 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forte Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forte Hotel Shanghai

Property: Forte Hotel Shanghai
Address: No.88 Yili Road, Changning District, Shanghai 200051, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #212 of 4,941 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Forte Hotel Shanghai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located across from Shanghai Mart and only 15 minutes away from Hongqiao airport, Forte Hotel Shanghai is situated perfectly to serve the international business community. Well-designed and managed by a hotel chain from Taiwan, our motto is warm hospitality and dependable service at reasonable prices.Our experienced staff are happy to serve you in your business and leisure accommodation needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Forte Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing