We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expect the unexpected!”
Review of Kingtown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kingtown Hotel
Ranked #1,155 of 5,035 Hotels in Shanghai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Expect the unexpected!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Hotel rooms were clean on arrival - but sheets were not changed during our stay (we tested) and towels were only folded and put back even if they were left on the floor. They would simply make the bed and leave. The room I was in had a kitchenette - with no utensils. Kettle but not mugs. Nothing to cook with. Pointless. I had no mini bar but my friend in another room did. Filled with condoms and shaving kits.
Wifi was intermittent and I had to fight with them to get it to work properly. Bathroom was renovated in my room - but had friends with differences. Most of the rooms are smoking rooms! Be warned.. even if you don't smoke you will still smell it! Staff were generally appalling with their service and were unwilling to help in any circumstances. The exception to this was the breakfast staff who were lovely. Breakfast was standard and to be expected. Buffet style with lots of chinese options. Cereal, toast, fruit etc as well. Farely wide range or western choices as well.
Every day you would recieve call cards under your door for "massages" (explains the condoms) slightly disconcerting that people are loitering the halls. My safe didn't work either! We went with a uni group which gave us insight into the different rooms. As we all paid the same amount - interesting that some people got a standard room and somr had two story suites! Very disappointed. Location was good though. Straight onto the line 2 metro.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    29
    18
    7
    1
See reviews for
1
3
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This hotel needs work to bring it up to standard. The bathroom in my room looks unfinished, there is a bath faucet but no bath! No hair dryer even though my colleague has one (and she has a washing machine!?) the bed is extremely hard, good if you like that but I would bring topper pad if you are not used to sleeping on the equilavent of a floor.
And I find it odd and creepy that there are porno cards advertising girls left in my door everyday, that combined with the packs of condoms in the room that you can buy makes me think this is dodgy hotel not suitable for female business people.

Room Tip: Look at other travellers pictures not the hotels!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miriam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shanghai hotels

Taipei, Taiwan
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Never expect too much from a service apartment. The front desk gave me a non-smoking room by conducting a smoke eliminating process in a smoking room, but he gave a real non-smoking room to a Japanese couple in front of me. Ridiculous! Room was just okay for the price. They use a both shampoo-body-wash type cleanser and a lamp was too dim. Cleanness was okay but there's a lot of scratch on the furniture. All I could say is that the quality was okay for living in here because you're gonna clean it on your own and make it feel like home. As for one night stay compared to other hotels, I will suggest you go to another one. btw, the window wasn't sound proved and the heater was not warm enough. Room was spacious though

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wujeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Loved this hotel, we spent 3 nights here. It was very central, clean, the staff were most helpful. The breakfast was great so much to choose from. A good coffe is attached to the hotel but is a little pricie

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacquie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
104 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We stayed here because of two main reasons:
1. Location, it is on line 2 and only about 4 stops from Hongqiao airport, which makes it very convenient and time saving when you have an early flight. It takes only about 20 minutes from the hotel to the airport via metro.
2. Value, we got a promotion deal that meant we only paid about 330 CNY net for a deluxe room. This is extremely good value for a hotel like this one.

I would strongly recommend booking a deluxe room as it is far more superior than their standard rooms, which are in need of upgrades.

There's not much in terms of services, no room service, no concierge, the water pressure is not so strong, but they do have a electric stove in the deluxe room for cooking.

Overall we were satisfied with the price we paid and may come back again.

Room Tip: Get a deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Stayed here for a week in in Jan 2013. Great location and easy access to taxis and Metro.
The receptionist could speak some basic English which was good.

Only setback was when I stayed, it was during cold season and the hot shower was not functioning on the last day. Complained to the housekeeping and receptionist but no one turned up eventually even after waiting for few hours.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Radhapro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boonton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

I have stayed at the Kingtown many times in the last five years and the hotel is showing a lot of wear and tear. Not nearly as nice as it was 5 years ago. They put a small cafe in the lobby where you can grab a beer and have some simple food but frankly it isn't very good.

When I was there in September they were in the process of adding a much larger restaurant, maybe that will be better. Hotel is hard to find on a side street and even taxi drivers sometimes have trouble locating it.

There are a few positives; a) Location is excellent and it is an easy walk to restaurants and shopping. Neighborhood is quite safe. b) Price is excellent for Shanghai and c) While the breakfast is mostly Chinese style and just OK the guy making the omelets does a great job.

This hotel is a good choice if you are on a strict budget, otherwise try the Marriott just down the street.

Room Tip: Check room carefully before you unpack and change if necessary
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAHSJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
JadeLink Hotel Shanghai
JadeLink Hotel Shanghai
#212 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Hongmei KingTown Hotel
Hongmei KingTown Hotel
#2,137 of 5,035 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Brawway Hotel
Brawway Hotel
#1,173 of 5,035 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Ruitai Hongqiao Hotel
Ruitai Hongqiao Hotel
#392 of 5,035 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao
Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao
#83 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Hongkou
Kingtown Hotel the bund Hongkou Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingtown Hotel

Property: Kingtown Hotel
Address: NO. 1111 Tianshan Road, Shanghai 200051, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang , Changfeng Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,155 of 5,035 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kingtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing