We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, not a whole lot of customer service”

Jinjiang Inn (Shanghai Zhongshan Park)
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jinjiang Inn (Shanghai Zhongshan Park)
Ranked #596 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Basic, not a whole lot of customer service”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I was stranded in Shanghai for the night and my company booked me into this hotel. It's basic and clean, without many frills, but as far as rooms go (I was in a "business room" with a desk and a bed) it was solid. It's near Zhongshan Park and very close to lines 2, 3, and 4, so you can get anywhere if you're doing public transportation (there are also a few busses to the French Concession).

My problem was customer service. They're nice enough when you check-in, but ask for something? Good luck. I checked-out and it was pouring down rain. POURING. I hadn't planned on being in Shanghai for the night so I didn't have my umbrella. I asked the front desk if they had one I could borrow so I could go buy my own. Nope. All the hotel umbrellas were "take by other customs." So, I wait a few minutes and someone brings a hotel umbrella back! Yay! Can I borrow it? No, and no explanation given. So, all the front desk workers watched me sit outside while I waited for the rain to stop for 20 minutes. It never stopped and I ended up just going and getting soaked on the way to buying an umbrella (and asking where to buy one was another adventure with the front desk). In the time it took for them to all watch me, I could have run up the street and grabbed one.

Room Tip: It seems to be quiet everywhere, but I was near the elevator which was loud. I could hear the gears...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ler8804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    86
    15
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
3
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I stayed here for two months while training for a job. The rooms were very clean and the water was always hot in the shower. The internet is reliable (wired in the room). There is wifi in the lobby area. I had breakfast there every morning and enjoyed it. The location is decent and there is plenty of options of where to eat in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shantgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

basic and clean and in a good location, very close to Zhongshan park and as a previous entry suggests it is located a short distance (on foot) to the metro line.

Rooms are very basic and small so it is a no thrills experience here and for the price - which starts at about 250 RMB a night - there are other hotels in the area that are a bit better in terms of the style of accommodation for the same kind of money.

Would only really recommend if you are unable to get a room for the same price range in this actual location.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AzitiZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2011

the room, the service, are all standardlized. I like the feeling of that. btw, the location is very well, metro station is 5mins by foot away.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank webleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2011

The hotel is great value for money, and room facility is excellent including free internet access from your room (wired). Also, the receptionists speak some English, so you will not have any problem for check-in/check-out.
The location of the hotel is not too far from Bund. You need to take underground train (the nearest train station is less than 10min walk), and take Train No. 2 Line to go to NangJing Road and Bund. If you have a suitcase, I recommend you to take a taxi to get to the hotel from Airport (e.g. from Hongqiao Airport to Hotel by taxi: RMB35~45). If you take a taxi to the hotel, make sure you note the address on a notepad/paper (preferably in Chinese [if you cannot write Chinese, ask Information Desk at Airport and ask them to write the address in Chinese]) as many taxi drivers cannot speak English.
I will use the hotel again if I go back there in the future.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mm_kiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2010

The location is good. Walking distance to the Zhongshan Park and the Subway Station. Bed is rather hard. Room is small but clean. Toilet is small but manageable. Breakfast buffet is too limited, not so much to choose from, but rather good and tasty. Staff at reception area are courteous.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kidlat53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Zhongshan Park
Pentahotel Shanghai
Pentahotel Shanghai
#64 of 5,105 in Shanghai
590 reviews
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#11 of 5,105 in Shanghai
1,452 reviews
Zhongshan Park
Hanting Express Shanghai Zhongshan Park Second
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Jinjiang Inn Shanghai Changning
Jinjiang Inn Shanghai Changning
#754 of 5,105 in Shanghai
130 reviews
Zhongshan Park
Regents Park Apartments (Abest Zhongshan Park No.2)
Hongkou
Jinjiang Inn Shanghai Hongkou Football Stadium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jinjiang Inn (Shanghai Zhongshan Park)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jinjiang Inn (Shanghai Zhongshan Park)

Property: Jinjiang Inn (Shanghai Zhongshan Park)
Address: No.546 Changning Road, Changning District, Shanghai 200051, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Zhongshan Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #596 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Jinjiang Inn (Shanghai Zhongshan Park) 2*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Jinjiang Inn (Shanghai Zhongshan Park) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing