We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Usual excellent value and fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Captain Youth Hostel(Fuzhou Rd Branch)
Ranked #34 of 302 Speciality Lodging in Shanghai
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Usual excellent value and fantastic location”
Reviewed 31 May 2012 via mobile

This is an excellent budget hotel in a wonderful location a short walk from the Bund and views of it from rooftop bar. We have stayed in both the Bund side hostels several times. Quite large double and family rooms, quite basic but adequate and typical Chinese in carpet cleanliness etc.
Excellent restaurant opposite, not the jazz bar, haven't tried that.
Wifi available if you buy drink at rooftop bar. Bandwidth of thisnon-existent, don't try emailing photos!

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank shbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    123
    78
    11
    13
See reviews for
6
24
48
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Qatar
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Well my first impression about the hostel was really bad, the receptionist was not friendly, the room (i took standard double bed) was smelling bad.... but then i came to understand that the receptionists are very busy and at last i was sad to leave them since they were very helpful. My guess is that, they seem unfriendly because they can't speak english well and they are trying to avoid talking to much in English. Once you are more kind and show them its alright , they are really good people.

I didn't like how they clean the room though, but the location, the view from the top bar, is amazing, it worth to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bilutopia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
124 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Despite some setbacks, Captain Hostel is a great way to stay on Shanghai's riverfront Bund without paying hundreds of USD for a luxury hotel.

Just as a heads up, we did have some problems. I booked ahead online for the Yan'an Rd. branch, to make sure our rooms were secure. However, on the day our group of 10 arrived at the hostel, we were told that they had no rooms available. Strange, I booked in advance. Sorry, there are no rooms available, they said again. Our group was exhausted and we had a pair of 70+ folks with our group, so began to make a bit of a stink. They then told me that there were some problems with the water. Or electricity. No rooms available sorry, but you're going to have to go to the Fuzhou Rd. Branch. I was angry because we booked this Bund front branch for the view AND because it was newer. Based on an earlier recon visit, I saw that the rooms were clean and satisfactory enough for such a large group. Even though they paid for taxis to take us a couple blocks to the Fuzhou branch, I was not pleased with this. What's the point of pre-booking?

The Fuzhou Rd. branch was passable. The woman at the front desk, who I assume is the manager on duty (the underlings deferred to her for everything) was very rude. Always frowning, ignoring people who were waiting for service, and overall not a pleasant lady to be around. The rest of the staff, especially the cleaning ladies, were great, however.

Here, you are basically paying for the view. The rooftop bar/lounge sells drinks for exorbitant prices, but you have an unhindered view of Lujiazui. It is stunning, if you don't want to spring for a meal at any of the Bund restaurants OR a 80 RMB cocktail at M on the Bund. The rest of the hostel is barely passable. The beds in our rooms (on the 5th floor) were made of plywood and it felt like sleeping on a bench. The floor would have been more comfortable, but the carpet is filthy. The bathroom was tidy enough, but the creeping black mold is unsightly. The TV has cable, so that is a plus if you need to watch television during your stay. Wi-fi is only accessible in the aforementioned exorbitantly priced bar on the roof.

Note for those traveling with people who don't manage well with stairs: staying on the 6th floor requires that you get off the elevator on the 5th floor, then hike up with your luggage. Also, the noise from the lounge/bar is very annoying at night. You can get a bit of the wi-fi if you're staying on the 5th floor, but it is a very faint signal.

In summary, I'd recommend this place only for the view and location. If you simply must stay on the Bund, then this is affordable and passable. You're a 10 minute walk from Nanjing East Rd. Station (Line 2) and a ferry ride away from Lujiazui and Pudong. There's a convenience store and ICBC atm near the entrance, a jazz club across the street, and frequent taxis. In Shanghai, you could do a lot worse than this.

Room Tip: If you're picky with cleanliness, you might ask to see the room first. I did not stay in the do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Neil_Yeung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Well, overall, it's quite a pleasant stay in captain youth hostel. I stay in room 401 and the room is around 250 sq ft with 8 beds, one big table in the middle and when the time I checked in, it was only 3 or 4 ppl staying there. toliet and shower room is avaerage clean, the rest public area looks kindly old and not so tidy. however, the lobby looks nice with a coffee shop

obviously the rooftop bar is a highlight to your trip. You re able to enjoy the great view of skyline in shanghai. one mug of beer cost u 40-50 RMB which is similar price compared to other bars, but much more expensive than the one sold in mini market...(same beer costs u less than 5 RMB in mini market)

walking distance to ppl's quare, NanJing Road and other place of interest, around 15mins away from subway station.

it would be a great choice if you re travelling on budget...not recomm for couples or business trip or family tripppp...

Room Tip: if u are female, try to get room 401, bigger than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliet1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

This hostel is in a fantastic location-right near the bund and Nanjing road, there is a metro there which makes everywhere else easily accessible.
We had a private room which was great.
This hostel is really let down by the staff who are reluctant to help with anything and some in particular were extremely rude to ourselves and other guests.
The bar on the roof has a great view and that's about it...the food is terrible and everything is overpriced (£3 for a sprite!!) the hostel claims to be separate from the bar and so everytime you want to use the wifi (only available in the bar) they try to force you to buy one of their ridiculously priced drinks. The wifi is then very poor,sporadically turning off and not strong enough to support skype.
Shanghai was great and this hostel was in a perfect location to explore it, that was the only thing going for it and the staff would stop me from staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muggsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

This review is just for Captain's rooftop bar.

The Good:
1. Unbeatable view of The Bund from a fantastic rooftop bar. The Pudong skyline is majestic and rises over the Huang Pu River like something out of a 3-D movie

2. Some people complain about the prices of the drinks here, but, to be honest, the drinks are market price relative to other bars in Shanghai (35RMB for a beer and 50+RMB for a mixed drink).

3. The pizza is pretty decent and affordable (40RMB).

4. Good crowd of travelers at night but pretty empty / sleepy in the afternoons.

5. Free Wifi (just ask for the wireless password)

6. Walkable to The Bund and People's Square, so it's not a bad place to start the night.

The Less than Perfect.
1. The interior is a little musty and hasn't been updated in quite a while.

2. Bring your own adapter if you're traveling with a computer that uses a US style plug.

The Verdict:
For a great view of the bund, cold drinks, and a cool off-beat place to chat with friends and meet new ones, I'd recommend Captain's rooftop bar.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidChinaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Msia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

If you don't mind very smelly and dirty toilet, unfriendly frontdesk staff, expensive beer
at rooftop cafe (up to 10x) and inconvenient to use bathroom, rock hard matteress, you may stay here.
The only thing worth mentioning about this place is location.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank i55ac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Jinjiang Metropolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Off Bund
The Bund
JinJiang Metropolo Classiq Hotel, Shanghai Bund Circle
The Bund
Baron Business Hotel
Baron Business Hotel
#538 of 5,059 in Shanghai
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Shanghai Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
People’s Square
Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
People’s Square
Laoshan Hostel (The Phoenix)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Youth Hostel(Fuzhou Rd Branch)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Youth Hostel(Fuzhou Rd Branch)

Property: Captain Youth Hostel(Fuzhou Rd Branch)
Address: No.37 Fuzhou Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 302 Speciality Lodging in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Captain Youth Hostel(Fuzhou Rd Branch) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Youth Hostel(Fuzhou Rd Branch) Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing