We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem just off the Bund”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Captain Youth Hostel(Fuzhou Rd Branch)
Ranked #28 of 348 Speciality Lodging in Shanghai
Reviewed 17 October 2012

I cannot believe that this so called hostel is really a hotel in a high-end area! We were booked in a room for 3 and we were comfortable with single beds. Huge room too. With a fantastic views of the Bund! So lucky! It's on a major road too so the taxi knows where it is. Private rooms are great here for budget conscious travelers. I cannot say the same for dorm rooms unless you are a light traveler and do not have big luggage's. Overall, this is a place I would definitely go back to again when I go back to Shanghai. What a wonderful city. A mix of old and new.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boolateh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

50 - 56 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2012

I had booked a dorm bed for 4 nights but changed to a twin room after my late check-in during the typhoon week in August. It was much pricier but I appreciate the privacy. Also, my room was on the 5th level so it had a nice small window view of the street. Hostel's rooftop bar has a great view of the bund and it's near to various clubs and bars. Didn't have much interaction with the staff but at the second last day of stay, I was told I have to move out of my twin room and that they did not have any more dorm beds that I can bunk in for the last night. This was last minute and not communicated to me at all previously. Thankfully my local friend gave me a bed to sleep for my last night in Shanghai at her place. The last drama did pissed me off but the hostel is still a value for money for budget travellers who want to hang out around the Bund area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeiQi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Central location of hostel near the bund
Best asset is the rooftop bar which overlooks the bund
At night beautiful scenery for a decent price for a drink and snack
Bar is open to non residents of the hostel

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Nice place located close to the bund with spectacular city views from the captains bar on 6th floor! The rooms are spacious and "Hotel Style" furnished. Clean bathroom with window!

Room Tip: try to get a room on top florr with a view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

If you want cheap, I mean real cheap, stay in the Captains dorm. They are affordable, clean, quiet, and gender separated. If you want less people, stay in their regular rooms for around 330RMB (depending on the time of year). The rooms are spacious, clean, mostly quiet, have a nice view of the Bund (meaning the back of some of the old historic buildings- but a view non-the less), and great English speaking service. Really, I've been to Shanghai about four times and have only stayed at the Captain, it's a great deal. There are two reasons for this: 1. Awesome location! You cannot get more close to the center of attractions/action in Shanghai, 2. Clean, affordable, and they've got a pretty descent bar on the roof that over looks Pudong. Its nice that they cater to every crowd. This place won't disappoint, just don't expect anything high class, you get what you pay for (but a lot more cleaner).

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

This is an excellent budget hotel in a wonderful location a short walk from the Bund and views of it from rooftop bar. We have stayed in both the Bund side hostels several times. Quite large double and family rooms, quite basic but adequate and typical Chinese in carpet cleanliness etc.
Excellent restaurant opposite, not the jazz bar, haven't tried that.
Wifi available if you buy drink at rooftop bar. Bandwidth of thisnon-existent, don't try emailing photos!

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank shbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Well my first impression about the hostel was really bad, the receptionist was not friendly, the room (i took standard double bed) was smelling bad.... but then i came to understand that the receptionists are very busy and at last i was sad to leave them since they were very helpful. My guess is that, they seem unfriendly because they can't speak english well and they are trying to avoid talking to much in English. Once you are more kind and show them its alright , they are really good people.

I didn't like how they clean the room though, but the location, the view from the top bar, is amazing, it worth to stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bilutopia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
JinJiang Metropolo Classiq Hotel, Shanghai Bund Circle
The Bund
Jinjiang Metropolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Off Bund
The Bund
Bund Garden Hotel
Bund Garden Hotel
#389 of 5,146 in Shanghai
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Shanghai Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
People’s Square
Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
The Bund
8 Art Hotel on the Bund
8 Art Hotel on the Bund
#66 of 788 in Shanghai
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Youth Hostel(Fuzhou Rd Branch)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Youth Hostel(Fuzhou Rd Branch)

Address: No.37 Fuzhou Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 348 Speciality Lodging in Shanghai
Price Range: £8 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Captain Youth Hostel(Fuzhou Rd Branch) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Youth Hostel(Fuzhou Rd Branch) Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing