We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its a TRAP!! Don't really know how people can find this hotel good value!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai North Bund
Ranked #1,684 of 5,138 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We followed the advice of visitors reviews only to be greeted by the horror of hospitality at White Mansion, sure its a great location, and its great value [means cheap- literally], but for the cheap value proposition you get exact poor product quality. Right on arrival, we had to wait and struggle with the reception staff for almost an hour, Im not kidding, almost one hour to check in on arrival as the reception staff did not speak any english and were also rude and irritated, further while struggling with the hotel staff we met another hotel guest who said they had a big fight day before at check in as the rooms that were promised to them while booking were not the same as what they were provided when they arrived...ditto happened to us as well. But this was just the beginning, the rooms were stinking- possibly due to uncleaned carpets, wall paper peeling on the walls with seepage marks, torn pillow covers, form towels and smelly bed covers....non existent wifi... the list is long.. we kept wondering- its just our luck or the great reviews we read online were about another hotel with the same name!! I came back and did a double check... its the same hotel?? So any one travelling to White Mansion be careful of what you might find in exchange for the alleged great value they offer!!! I would never recommend this hotel to any one...

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rlunkad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 7 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2013

While it's not the Hilton and a bit shabbier than the photos let on, you'd be hard pressed to find a nicer place in a better location for the money in Shanghai. We found the room to be quiet and peaceful at night, though it was mid-summer with the aircon which would have canceled out much of the noise anyway. In terms of location, while White Mansion is a couple of km north of the Bund, it's only about a 10-15 minute walk to Dongbaoxing and Hailun Road metro stations. Hailun Road is also a great place for local street food. Downsides of the room included weak air conditioning (we got by, but it could have been much cooler), and a faint musty smell that we only noticed when we arrived. We found keeping a window cracked throughout the day eliminated this. Staff is friendly but spoke limited English (but after all, we are in China).

Room Tip: We got a great online deal on a Superior Room which gets you a double bed, aircon, fridge, safe, hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

The White Mansion (Baisha) Hotel in Hongkou district is an excellent value budget hotel located within walking distance of 3 subway stations and close to the centre of town. I stayed for 4 nights for less than 100 UK pounds. The room was clean, the internet was fast, the staff were friendly, and the air conditioning worked well (crucial in summer). There was no fridge in my room, and no safe. Either of those could be major negatives for many people. But I felt the excellent deal and location more than made up for it. (NB I speak Chinese, so I cannot say if the staff's English is good.) The hotel is on busy North Sichuan Road, and there are lots of restaurants and shops around.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisfromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2011

We return to Shanghai every year. We stay at this hotel every time. It's location is fantastic, Many restaurants, shopping opportunities and transportation with taxi, bus or metro. Nice hotel restaurant. Staff helpful. Free internet and many tv channels. Rooms have refrigerator. Rooms are satisfying in size but the sheets are not changed in several days. Water in Bathroom sink and bath tub is running very slowly down. But overall we love the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myklein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 20 November 2009

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 October 2009

The hotel was in nice location, less than 5 min walking from the metro station and 20-30 min from the city. The taxi to the old city cost just 2 euros. It was not noisy, but I was staying the last floor. The room was a bit dark, although it had a big window. The staff was friendly and helpful but their english were poor. I stayed there for two days. The most negative thing was that the water was smelling so much, I had the impression that I am getting dirtier each time I was getting shower. Τhe carpet was full of stains. I haven t tried the restaurant. It cost around 20 euros per night for a douple room, which one day I share with a friend. The price was the same for a single room. I would recomment this hotel to people without too many expections. When I am on holidays I don t spend too much time in the hotel and my main concern is to be clean.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eleftheria26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2009

For $44, compared to 3 times the price for a nice beautiful hotel. We used the $150 on dinner with a view of Pudong on the Bund. On the 8th floor, it wasn't noisy, with a nice view of a hutong and canal. it was dirty. Didn't try the breakfast. Location was 5 minute walk from the metro and on a great shopping street. You'll find locals and see life in Shanghai away from the glamorous/ touristy areas. And you can easily get breakfast on the street, shoes, pastries, etc. The metro was annoying as you had to switch lines, walk quite a bit and get another new ticket, regardless of where you were going-- tourist sites anyway. But a cab all the way from Pudong only cost less than $5, so everything else was really cheap. Staff new very little English. Next door is a hip salon that gave a great haircut plus massage for $12.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank golisw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Hongkou
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Hongkou
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Hongkou
Joyfull International Hotel
Joyfull International Hotel
#2,570 of 5,138 in Shanghai
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hongkou
Hotel Pravo Shanghai
Hotel Pravo Shanghai
#615 of 5,138 in Shanghai
80 reviews
Starr Hotel
#136 of 5,138 in Shanghai
60 reviews
Xujiahui
Lee Gardens Hotel Shanghai
Lee Gardens Hotel Shanghai
#148 of 5,138 in Shanghai
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai North Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai North Bund

Address: No.1755 Sichuan North Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200081, China (Formerly Narada Boutique Hotel Shanghai North Sichuan Road)
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Hongkou , Sichuan North Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,684 of 5,138 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: £63 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai North Bund 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Shanghai, close to both subway line 10 and line 3, Narada Boutique Hotel Shanghai offers 183 guest rooms. It features 24-hour front desk and air-conditioned rooms with a flat-screen cable TV. Free internet is provided in all guest rooms and public areas. Each room is equipped with a minibar with complimentary drinks and private bathroom with shower facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai North Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing