We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just so and so...”

International Cultural Exchange Center of SISU
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
International Cultural Exchange Center of SISU
Ranked #723 of 5,161 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I have stayed at Sisu hotel as an international student from september to november. This review is based on my oppinion of the place as a dorm for prolonged stay.

Service:
Staff is nice and friendly. Only a very few members of staff can speak English.

Sufficient hot water seemed to be an issue during my stay at the hotel from september to november. Water could get scolding hot when at the beginning of my stay, but in mid september it was barely warm enough for a shower and this continued until I checked out - staff never told me why.

My room was cold because it was on the 16th floor and heating system was turned off because outside temperatures had not yet fallen below a certain degree. Extra blankets could not be provided - staff did not tell me why.

Cleanliness:
Hotel cleaning service is fast and facilities are kept neat and clean. Rooms are cleaned once a week. Some of the guests here did occationally encounter roaches in their room. I only saw a roach once in my room. Hotel staff ensured me that they would spray my room and I haden't seen any since.


Other facilities:
Hotel has a few washing machines. Because it was not winter-time, hot water supply to the machines had been cut off (according to a maintanence guy I talked to while doing laundry). There are no drying facilities in the hotel, so clothes must be hung to dry in the room. I suggest buying extra hangers or a drying rack for clothes. If humidity is too high then clothes might take 2-3 days to dry.

Rooms:
Refrigerator is available for extra charge pr pr day. All rooms have TV and cable internet.
There is no such thing as a non-smoking floor and guests occasionally smoke in the elevators too. In double rooms closet space for clothes is extremely sparse and most of the guests that I talked to kept their clothes in their suitcases or had bought a rack for hanging up their clothes.

Value:
While this place scores high on staff friendliness and fast and regular cleaning, it is not so suitable as a dorm for prolonged stays. Facilities are somewhat lacking and the heating and hot water issue were decisive factors for the below average score.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mitru1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (10)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 10 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2015, travelled on business
Thank bobnifco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 26 July 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 24 December 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 11 July 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 10 June 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 16 February 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Hongkou
Sisu Guest House
Sisu Guest House
#2,459 of 5,161 in Shanghai
39 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#5 of 5,161 in Shanghai
1,867 reviews
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#33 of 5,161 in Shanghai
2,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International Cultural Exchange Center of SISU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Cultural Exchange Center of SISU

Address: No.555 Chifeng Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200083, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Hongkou
Hotel Style:
Ranked #723 of 5,161 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: £35 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 260
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA so you can book your International Cultural Exchange Center of SISU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing