We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“needs improvement”
Review of Bund Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bund Garden Hotel
Ranked #388 of 5,138 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed 21 February 2013

we arrived at 1 am and were pleased that someone was at the desk, as this is a small hotel. the staff was not happy about carrying our four rolling suitcases up three flights of stairs. he took one bag and we took the rest. there is no elevator. we are fit and fine with carrying bags, but patrons who are 60+ years old, like we are, may not appreciate it. and the attitude of the desk person was not necessary. the shower had very poor water pressure. the sink did not drain. the toilet clogged and no one had a plunger to fix it. it was very difficult to communicate with the front desk. the location is great. the breakfast included is very good, with lots of variety. poor lighting in the rooms and musty/cigarette smell (common in shanghai). many starbucks close by, but chinese coffee is better!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maggiemuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 18 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2012

A very pretty building and interior, with old fashioned furnishings that were surprising in such a commercial section of Shanghai. The room did smell a bit musty and was poorly lit, but other than that was quite nice. Unfortunately none of the staff seemed to speak anything other than broken English, and we got some incorrect or poor advice that led to a rather inconvenient and unnecessary lap of Shanghai.... so if you stay here, come prepared with what you want to do and where you want to go, especially as there was no internet to be had (or so they told us... I think...). It was definitely more of a function centre for large groups of Chinese business men but we still found it to be a pleasant experience, and really close to the Bund and Nanjing road shopping so worth all the other stuff.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

I chose this hotel for 2 reasons, its location near Nanjing walking street and the metro and also the fact that the rooms were spacious and well appointed. I got room #8 on the third floor and it was quite large. There was a work table where i could connect my laptop via a lan cable. a flat screen TV with good channels.
The day we were checking out though we returned to the room in the afternoon to find the carpets extremely damp and wet.
I didnt get the breakfast so no comments on that.
I paid a reasonable rate as i stayed here in october 2009

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ineedsoftbeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

This hotel is a real gem. Staff are helpful, rooms are elegant and comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnB41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2009

This is a quite well appointed hotel, and the room was very large and sumptuously decorated. Unfortunately we only had one night there (we booked it on a special deal through expedia), or we would have spent more time lounging around in the room. We had a balcony and could hear the church bells from nearby. It was lovely. Walking distance from Han Kou Road metro, so good for getting the metro to link with the Maglev line to the airport.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelzlattern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2009

We stayed at the BGH for the night of a wedding we were attending at the hotel.

The hotel is a converted house and is very small with only 9 rooms and there doesn't seem to be a restaurant or bar area so your room is all you have. Breakfast is served in your room and although we didn't have it our friends said theirs was excellent.

Rooms are comfortable without being lavish - they either seem to be in the middle of a renovation or there was one some time ago. Bathrooms are clean and nicely tiled in an old style.

We wouldn't stay there again given the vast choice of hotels in Shanghai but the stay was plesant enough.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AandASanJose_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2009

This hotel is primarily aimed at giving receptions for weddings and business meetings. The few rooms for rent seems to be a subsidiary part of the enterprise. There are no public areas and breakfast is room service only. We were unable to eat in their restaurant after we arrived as it was being used for a function. The next day a wedding occupied the garden and dining room. The staff are friendly and helpful and the rooms are good, but one would better off elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard7060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Jinjiang Metropolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Off Bund
The Bund
JinJiang Metropolo Classiq Hotel, Shanghai Bund Circle
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#8 of 5,138 in Shanghai
2,050 reviews
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#49 of 5,138 in Shanghai
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bund Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bund Garden Hotel

Address: No.200 Hankou Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #388 of 5,138 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: £102 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bund Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bund Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing