We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inner Shanghai Cosy Oasis”
Review of Bund Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bund Garden Hotel
Ranked #390 of 5,138 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed 18 March 2014

In the teeming metropolis that is Shanghai it was refreshing to find a nine room hotel just 400m walk from The Bund and close to the bustle of Nanjing Road. This three level hotel was built in 1928 in Shanghai's heyday and has been refurbished with a restaurant and classic interiors which makes it feel like a warm and friendly home. The rooms are spacious and well appointed and some have stone fireplaces. There is no lift which is not an issue as long as you are able bodied. The staff are friendly and accommodating and some speak a little English but little is the operative word. Close by is the glorious Bund and a ferry ride costing 2 yuan or 35c takes you on a passenger ferry across The Huangpu River to the 21st century glitz of Pudong. Looking from The Bund to Pudong is amazing but looking from Pudong to The Bund is equally so. Old Shanghai on one bank brand spanking new on the other. In The Hyatt which has its lobby on Lvl 87 of The World Financial Centre, non guests can have a drink in the bar on lvl 91. That is truly amazing and a must see. A drink there is hyper expensive but it is free to access whereas the lower Pearl charges a 120 yuan entry fee and a drink is also expensive. A must visit is The Peace Hotel where the same jazz band has played every night since the 1940s. Get in early to get a good seat as surely these old guys cannot live and play forever. Shanghai. An awesome experience and the Bund Garden summarised the city's dichotomies.

Room Tip: ask for one with a fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 15 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

This is a really special hotel in China. It is in an old, low rise building & only has 9 rooms. My room IX was on the top floor & quite charming - there were a few little points: no wardrobe, safe did not work, but the plusses - quiet, comfortable, good temperature, good space made it a winner. Check in/out was great as hotel id so small - no waiting in line. Breakfast is only room service & I got the 'western' - fruit, club sandwich, toast, cheese, bacon, coffee - great quality & good time saving. Such a refreshing change from glass & steel global brand high rise!!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Ours was a one-day business trip, so I can't say we fully explored all that the Bund Garden had to offer.

However, arriving on a midnight flight and only arriving at the hotel at 1am, the service was impeccable. The desk officer was helpful, cheerful, checked us in about 5 minutes and even carried our luggage up to our rooms for us. (Be warned... there are no elevators in this hotel!)

The Bund Garden Hotel appears to be housed in a heritage building, with its own little yard one might imagine horses and carriages once came through. Beautifully preserved, and beautifully modernized as well, without compromising too much on the sense of the history of the building.

The room I had was gorgeously large. The bathroom was a little small, and the bathtub a little short (although quite nice and deep). Everything was very clean. There was a hint of smoke that pervaded the room (but I soon discovered that this is quite typical of smoggy Shanghai). The bed was large and comfortable (mattress is on the medium-firm side) and I might've been happier with firmer pillows, although the four pillows provided were more than generously fluffy.

The hotel is tucked away in a quiet side-street, but located within the city centre area of Pudong itself, with a LOT of high-end high street shopping and shopping malls available within walking distance. There was also a 24-hour convenience store just around the corner (some 200m) from the hotel, which proved to be a blessed bane for this hungry midnight travellers.

Despite the city-centre location though, the hotel is amazingly quiet (with rooms that face away from the streets) and sleep quality was unparalleled. I was awakened in the morning by the maid mistakenly coming in, so perhaps it would be best to either advise the front desk to not disturb you, or to ask if they had Do Not Disturb signs (as none was found in the room).

An excellent stay. Would stay here again for (a) the value for money, (b) gorgeous settings, (c) great staff service, and (d) excellent location & proximity to the rail transport station.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IshDewyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

we arrived at 1 am and were pleased that someone was at the desk, as this is a small hotel. the staff was not happy about carrying our four rolling suitcases up three flights of stairs. he took one bag and we took the rest. there is no elevator. we are fit and fine with carrying bags, but patrons who are 60+ years old, like we are, may not appreciate it. and the attitude of the desk person was not necessary. the shower had very poor water pressure. the sink did not drain. the toilet clogged and no one had a plunger to fix it. it was very difficult to communicate with the front desk. the location is great. the breakfast included is very good, with lots of variety. poor lighting in the rooms and musty/cigarette smell (common in shanghai). many starbucks close by, but chinese coffee is better!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maggiemuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

A very pretty building and interior, with old fashioned furnishings that were surprising in such a commercial section of Shanghai. The room did smell a bit musty and was poorly lit, but other than that was quite nice. Unfortunately none of the staff seemed to speak anything other than broken English, and we got some incorrect or poor advice that led to a rather inconvenient and unnecessary lap of Shanghai.... so if you stay here, come prepared with what you want to do and where you want to go, especially as there was no internet to be had (or so they told us... I think...). It was definitely more of a function centre for large groups of Chinese business men but we still found it to be a pleasant experience, and really close to the Bund and Nanjing road shopping so worth all the other stuff.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

I chose this hotel for 2 reasons, its location near Nanjing walking street and the metro and also the fact that the rooms were spacious and well appointed. I got room #8 on the third floor and it was quite large. There was a work table where i could connect my laptop via a lan cable. a flat screen TV with good channels.
The day we were checking out though we returned to the room in the afternoon to find the carpets extremely damp and wet.
I didnt get the breakfast so no comments on that.
I paid a reasonable rate as i stayed here in october 2009

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ineedsoftbeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

This hotel is a real gem. Staff are helpful, rooms are elegant and comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnB41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Jinjiang Metropolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Off Bund
The Bund
JinJiang Metropolo Classiq Hotel, Shanghai Bund Circle
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#8 of 5,138 in Shanghai
2,049 reviews
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#49 of 5,138 in Shanghai
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bund Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bund Garden Hotel

Address: No.200 Hankou Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #390 of 5,138 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: £102 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bund Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA and Odigeo so you can book your Bund Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing