We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“That friendly feeling”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Century Park Shanghai
Ranked #123 of 5,082 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Perth Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“That friendly feeling”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

After staying at this hotel many times on business returning to the CP Century Park feels like a Shanghai home away from home.
It has been sometime since my last visit and to see the friendly old faces and some new ones is always comforting.
From check in to check out is what i have become accustomed to, great service
friendly faces and the willingness to help by all members of the staff.
The upgrade to a Suite was a surprise kind gesture shown to me and greatly
appreciated a thanks to Nigel once again.
For those who do not want to be on the Puxi side of the river and would like to be in a quieter part of Shanghai (yes it is possible) i would recommend the CP Century Park as the place to stay

Keep up the great work and see you again soon

Room Tip: Club Level rooms or Corner Suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel E, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Century Park Shanghai, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Mr. Paul B,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to post your comments on Tripadvisor.
I was grateful to meet you again during your last visit and will certainly pass on your positive feedback to the entire hotel team.
You quite rightly pointed out that our location lends itself to be a small oasis in the fascinating and bustling city of Shanghai, however still with adequate attractions and activities close by to occupy any free time you may have.
Thanks again for providing us this valuable feedback and we appreciate you choosing The Crowne Plaza Century Park Shanghai.
We certainly value your business and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely yours,.
Nigel R Edwards
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    193
    72
    22
    9
See reviews for
18
30
42
344
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I have stayed with IGH hotel for over then years and this it the first time that I was told to pay a restaurant bill in cash or local credit card, as it is independent to the hotel . In fact, the Japanese restaurant is in the second floor and outsiders are unable to access without going through the hotel lobby, then take the hotel lift/elevator. The restaurant is even listed in the hotel's Guest Service and Facilities that put in the desk of my room. I don't have cash or local credit card and I am not allowed to sign the bill. They should put a sign outside the restaurant to tell everyone the rule, not after I finished my dinner.

In addition, countless defaults, including unstable water pressure and temperature that you need to finish bath within twenty seconds, noisy air-conditioning, dated decor, unresponsive staff.....

If I don't have to stay close to Pudong for meeting to avoid traffic jam in the morning, I shall definitely stay away from this hotel and choose Hotel Indigo in the other side of Shanghai. The difference of Heaven and Hell.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with stable water pressure and temperature, especially in winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel E, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Century Park Shanghai, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Allan H,
Thank you for taking your time to share with us the experience of your recent stay here in Shanghai. We offer our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused which is totally uncompromising with our aim to provide a great experience and value to our guests.
As you mentioned the Japanese restaurant is operated by an independent party so we will obviously meet with the responsible parties to explain the unacceptable behavior and inconvenience that you endured. I am apologetic that the restaurant in question did not contact our hotel service team immediately to enquire if the hotel could have helped facilitate the transaction. I will ensure this instruction is passed on and followed up.
The team and I are also concerned with the other issues that you have highlighted so please be assured that we will look into to them with diligence. I would be pleased to continue this dialogue in more depth. As we do not have your personal details and if you have a spare moment I would appreciate you contacting me on the following email address. nigel.edwards@ihg.com
Once again we regret to learn of your disappointment and hope you would allow us another opportunity to serve you better and enjoy our hospitality as many before have and expressed on this forum.

Sincerely yours,.
Nigel Edwards.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzhou, China
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed in this hotel for weekend with my wife after staying in Sheraton for a week. The color in Crown Plaza looks nice but defect is room hardware. The shower water flow is not constant and temperature is also changed during taking shower. It is not a good experience. Only highlight is pillow change speed and speed for check out.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustinYe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel E, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Century Park Shanghai, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Justin Ye,

Thank you for taking your time to post your comments on Tripadvisor.
I am pleased you recognized our service during your staying. The satisfaction and comfort of our guests is of paramount importance. Please be assured that your comments regarding shower in guest room will be passed to senior management for improvement.
Despite the disappointments we trust your visit to Shanghai was a successful one, thank you once again for choosing Crowne Plaza Century Park Shanghai. We appreciate very much your support and look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Sincerely yours,
Nigel R Edwards.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights. The room are spacious, will maintained and furnished. The staff is excellent and highly service oriented. Food is great. Bring centrally located is the biggest advantage. Close proximity to shopping centres, tourist places, pubs & restaurants makes it a great place to stay. Rooms are priced reasonably well. Spa is good but expensive.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel E, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Century Park Shanghai, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Sony S,

Thank you very much for taking time to post your views on the experience you encountered during your extended stay with us, we truly appreciate your feedback.
I am pleased you believed the rooms were priced reasonably nd you enjoyed the food in our restaurant. I will pass on your comments to the Spa Company as it is operated independently from the hotel.
As you mentioned, our hotel is located in Pudong, the heart of the new business area of Shanghai, 10 minutes to Metro Line 2 and Metro Line 9 is only 5 minutes from the hotel, it is ideally located for both a business and leisure visit.
Once again we truly appreciate your business and support and anticipate welcoming you back again soon. Your comments have been shared with the entire team.

Sincerely yours,
Nigel R Edwards.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I stayed in this hotel for almost a month during a work trip. The hotel manager was always social, and even helped me get tickets to the F1 grand prix. The entire staff was always smiling and kind.

The breakfast is perfect. I've actually never had a hotel breakfast that I enjoyed this much. There is enough choice that I never got bored.

Staff helped me get a taxi every morning, room was always clean, had a newspaper on my door every morning.

The room was clean and attractive, the bed was clean. Not much of a view from my room, but there is no issue with that.

Overall I would say the hotel runs a tight ship, and gets my A+!

Room Tip: make use of the gym, it's actually quite good. Always take advantage of the breakfast, there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew3636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel E, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Century Park Shanghai, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Andrew3636,

Thank you very much for taking time to post your views on the experience you encountered during your month long stay with us. We are truly grateful for your comments and they obviously will be passed to the entire hotel team.
I was really pleased to have been of assistance with the tickets, you sounded as though you had a great time at the F1, made even more interesting I am sure but the trip back and forth. This would have made for a true Shanghai experience which hopefully will remain with you for some time.
My colleagues and I are delighted you enjoyed your breakfast in the Park Café, we are constantly evaluating both our food and service so once again thank you for providing this valuable feedback. We are also glad you made use of our fitness center, burning of the breakfast no doubt.
We highly appreciate your support and business and anticipate welcoming you back again soon. I will ensure we improve on the view!!

Sincerely yours,
Nigel R Edwards.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

My son and I stayed at this hotel for 5 days in November 2013. I have been visiting China for 10 years, 10 trips, and this hotel is the best stay I've experienced in China. All facilities required by business travelers are available. It is perfect for travelers attending exhibitions at the International Exhibition Center. The internet service is good and so is the concierge service. The service staff speak English. Just be sure that you book the right hotel to stay at in Shanghai. This hotel is a long way from The Bund and the "old city" of Shanghai on the other side of the Huangpu River in Puxi.

Only complaint is that the air conditioners were set at a default temperature which was too hot during our stay. This is a problem in almost all big hotels in China as an energy saving issue. In other words, the guest can not change the temperature! Opening windows introduces pollution and noise. Not good. Surely guest comfort should take priority!

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the hotel are quieter. Unfortunately the air conditioners were set at a default...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel E, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Century Park Shanghai, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Trevor H,

Thank you very much for taking time to post your views on the experience you encountered during your stay on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your continued support. Your comments have been shared with the entire hotel team.
Personally I am so pleased you and your son enjoyed the stay at our hotel in last year. It is of great pride to that team that you still remember it as being an enjoyable visit. Please be assured that your comments regarding air condition in guest room will be passed to our Engineering, Housekeeping and even Finance management for further improvement.
Thank you once again for choosing Crowne Plaza Century Park Shanghai. We appreciate very much your support and look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. We hope we have the pleasure in hosting your 11th visit to Shanghai this year!!
Sincerely yours,
Nigel R Edwards.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germantown Hills, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I was given a corner room which has a very large window for view of the city. They had also turned on the A/C in the room to cool it off as due to the window it could get quite warm. Check-in and out was efficient. Nice fitness area. Very good breakfast. Thumb Plaza and the mall at the Kerry Hotel are both within walking distance for outside dining options. Wifi is not great as a lot of others have said. My phone has the biggest issue with it as it keeps disconnecting because the connection is "slow". Very comfortable bed, which is what I would expect for a Crowne Plaza.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have large windows for a better view. Of course, the higher the better as there are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel E, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Century Park Shanghai, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Jim B,

Thank you very much for taking time to post your views on the experience you encountered during your extended stay with us, we truly appreciate your detailed feedback.
I am pleased to learn that the overall product and services met your expectations. We shall strive further in continuing to improve the level of our guest service. We are also pleased you enjoyed the breakfast and that the comfort of your sleep was acknowledged.
Your comments on the Internet speed have been taken on board, we are currently under going a re-evaluation of the system and trust we will have this issue solved very soon.
Once again we truly appreciate your business and support and anticipate welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely yours,
Nigel R Edwards.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Century Park
Grand Mercure Shanghai Century Park
Century Park
Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel
Century Park
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#149 of 5,082 in Shanghai
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Century Park
Dorsett Shanghai
Dorsett Shanghai
#75 of 5,082 in Shanghai
442 reviews
Century Park
Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai
World Expo
Holiday Inn Pudong Nanpu
Holiday Inn Pudong Nanpu
#132 of 5,082 in Shanghai
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Century Park Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Century Park Shanghai

Property: Crowne Plaza Century Park Shanghai
Address: No.1433 Minsheng Road, Pudong New District, Shanghai 200135, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Century Park , Shanghai New International Expo Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#114 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#140 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Century Park Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent Business and Meetings Hotel with adjacent International Convention CentreFree WIFI throughout whole hotel. Fast speedHuge gym, spa and swimming pool along with yoga classes. Downtown central Putuo District. Metro line 13 Zhenbei Road stop12 minutes to Hongqiao airport. 50 minutes to Pudong airport10 minutes to Lingkong Business Park and Caohejing Business Park15 minutes to Hong Mei Road with huge shopping, bars and restaurantsOn corner of Middle Ring Road and only five minutes to G2 Expressway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, IHG, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Century Park Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Century Park Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Crowne Plaza Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing