We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base for staying in Shanghai”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Tour Traveler's Rest Youth Hostel
Ranked #12 of 302 Speciality Lodging in Shanghai
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good base for staying in Shanghai”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We ended up staying here three separate times over our months stay in China and became our unofficial base. Fairly central location, 5-10min walk from the Jing'an Temple.

Staff friendly and helpful. Rooms basic, yet clean, beds a little hard. Excellent bar terrace on the roof and free wifi through out. Good location for getting around Shanghai

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    111
    34
    10
    8
See reviews for
17
36
41
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Had good stay here for a few days in shanghai. Dorm room was clean and bathroom. Large locker. Wifi in common room.
Lots of English speaking people here so easy to find people to go out with. The location was great in jingan near convenient things like banks, restaurants, stores.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank C K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yangshuo County, China
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Everything about the hostel was great, good facilities, free wifi, good location, clean etc etc. My only gripe was there was no hot water in the afternoon, not sure why, it had returned by morning....

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank halberd6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Park, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Ever since I found Le Tour Traveller's rest I stay nowhere else in Shanghai. Lately, they have improved the rooftop garden so now its even better for a relaxing beer in the evening. The restaurant breakfast is basic but adequate. Rooms are clean and showers hot. Free wifi, computer room is OK. The location is good down a quite alley, away from the noise but close to metro and restaurants. Best in Shanghai.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzhou, China
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We stayed on the 3rd floor with my two children, they were very helpful and the boys had lots to keep them busy. We were within walking distance of 2 metros and the staff where always very helpful. The room was clean and they rented a wireless connector

Room Tip: top floor is close to the roof top restaurant. top floor was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jon g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

From August 30th to September 1st of 2013, my husband, our friend and I stayed at this hostel.
The best thing of the hostel is that it is a block away from the train station, and it would take us about 20 minutes to get to downtown.
Everything was clean and nice, including the restrooms and showers. The women's bathroom was on a different floor than the men's bathroom, so if you are not on the floor where the bathroom is, it is a little bit of walk if you have to get up in the middle of the night.
We were in a room for 4 people, but they let us keep the room for the 3 of us for a little bit more money of what we payed for the first night.
There is a nice living room where you can hang out, and there is free wifi.
The staff was friendly, but with limited English to be able to answer our questions or guide us about what was around or how to get to different places.
At night, on the street where the hostel is located, there are people selling Chinese kabobs, which are really good and cheap. However, the next morning, you see all of the garbage left on the street from the night before, and it smells really bad.

Our overall experience was good, and I would recommend it to travelers going to this area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rafaclaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jinan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

For staying 1-3 nights in Shanghai Le Tour Traveler's Rest Youth Hostel is the perfect place! It is good to reach by Metro and quite central to get to all the attractions. It is clean and the nice roof top bar makes your evenings start nice ;)
The staff is also friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lars Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
URBN Boutique Shanghai
URBN Boutique Shanghai
#42 of 5,059 in Shanghai
575 reviews
Jing'an
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
#5 of 5,059 in Shanghai
1,437 reviews
Zhongshan Park
Rock & Wood International Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Shanghai Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
People’s Square
Laoshan Hostel (The Phoenix)
People’s Square
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
#13 of 302 in Shanghai
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Tour Traveler's Rest Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Tour Traveler's Rest Youth Hostel

Property: Le Tour Traveler's Rest Youth Hostel
Address: No.36, Lane 319, Jiaozhou Road, Jin'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 302 Speciality Lodging in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Tour Traveler's Rest Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Tour Traveler’s Rest Youth Hostel is located in the downtown area of Shanghai and is just 10 minute’s walk from the Subway (Line 2 and Line 7) (JingAn Temple Station and Airport City Terminal). Shanghai Exhibition Centre, Paramount Entertainment and former French Concession are all within walking distance. 5-minute's walk from the subway Line 7 - ChangPing Road Station, which leads directly to Shanghai EXPO Park.Nearby Nanjing West Road is a busy main road with offices, shops, restaurants and pubs. However the hostel is set back in a quiet residential side street away from the hustle and bustle. The building itself was built in the 1930s and is a former Towel Factory that used to supply towels to almost every family in China. When renovating the building we tried to salvage and re-use as much as we could from the old building – much of the furniture, flooring and panelling that you see in our guest rooms and common areas are made from the original timber.We accepts ISIC, IYTC, ITIC, HI Hostel card, Hostelworld VIP Card, … as our membership cards. We can offer accommodation in double rooms, twin rooms, apartment rooms and shared single-sex dormitories. The hostel offers a lively, vibrant atmosphere and has a Café and Bar, 24 hour access, free internet, bike hire, laundry, luggage lockers, garden, TV/DVD lounge, Table Tennis, Billiards and a quiet reading room. Also, at our reception there is a Travel Center, where customers can book flight and train tickets, as well as tickets for local one day tours and acrobatics shows, and much more besides… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Le Tour Traveler's Rest Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Tour Traveler`s Rest Youth Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing