We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IMCOMPETENT LIARS”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Tour Traveler's Rest Youth Hostel
Ranked #13 of 395 Speciality Lodging in Shanghai
Reviewed 11 May 2014

While I was in a conference in Shanghai from April 12-13 I have my Chinese colleague reserved a two rooms for me and three of my other foreign colleagues 2 private rooms. We paid in cash for the full two rooms when we arrived and showed a picture of the email my friend had that showed we booked it online. Fast forward to now. The hotel keeps harassing my colleague saying she needs to pay for the two rooms she reserved but never stayed at. I did not keep any receipts from our stay there, and they demand proof of our stay. It is their complete incompetence in the first place! We showed them the online reservation when we paid, it is their fault for not accounting for it when they registered us. On top of the service being quite crappy, I would not recommend this hostel to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danforce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

50 - 56 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

I've traveled around frequently staying at many hostels. I've also traveled throughout China. With this hostel do not expect the website pictures descriptions or indeed reviews to reflect the reality of the hostel. Pure garbage and overpriced.

On complaing we were informed that the manager could not be contacted and our deposit returned.

I'd avoid this place like the plague.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a double ensuite room which was really spacious and surprising. Unfortunately didn't get much sleep the first night due to cats fighting right outside our window (not hostels fault) it's also next to a kindergarten, the room we stayed in faced the playground so was really noisy in the morning.
Facilities/food really good, have had better service but still got decent answers to our questions. About a 10 min walk to the metro

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank 1TAH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

My friend and I spent a total of 5 nights in the hostel.
It was overall okay. The biggest downsides would be the temperature (but if you're not going during winter time, never mind): it was really cold and no real heater-But that's a common thing to all Shanghai hostels- and the beds quality. PLus no wifi at all in the rooms.
Other than that, good location, great big room (warm!) and friendly staff,

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Khadija_Zeinab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Me and my friends spent a total of 7 nights at Le Tour, and even though there are a couple of downsides to the place, I would recommend it to other people. The biggest downsides are the breakfast menu, the lack of wi-fi in the rooms, and the room temperatures wasn't that great, due to lack of isolation, like you would expect in southern China. The beds could be softer, but were still the softest ones we experienced in China. On the plus side, there are big common areas with wi-fi, and pool and ping pong tables, where we met some friendly people to talk to. There's also a bar on the top floor, with the option to sit outside. The staff is generally friendly and helpful, and the location isn't too bad, with a 15 minute walk to Jing'an Temple metro station, and lots of shops and restaurants in the area. I highly recommend eating at Wagas or Pure and Whole, which are both only a 2-3 minute walk away.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aadwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We ended up staying here three separate times over our months stay in China and became our unofficial base. Fairly central location, 5-10min walk from the Jing'an Temple.

Staff friendly and helpful. Rooms basic, yet clean, beds a little hard. Excellent bar terrace on the roof and free wifi through out. Good location for getting around Shanghai

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Had good stay here for a few days in shanghai. Dorm room was clean and bathroom. Large locker. Wifi in common room.
Lots of English speaking people here so easy to find people to go out with. The location was great in jingan near convenient things like banks, restaurants, stores.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
Thank C K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Zhongshan Park
Rock & Wood International Youth Hostel
People’s Square
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
#12 of 395 in Shanghai
235 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
The Bund
Captain Youth Hostel(Fuzhou Rd Branch)
Dapuqiao
Shanghai Blue Mountain Youth Hostel Luwan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Tour Traveler's Rest Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Tour Traveler's Rest Youth Hostel

Address: No.36, Lane 319, Jiaozhou Road, Jin'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 395 Speciality Lodging in Shanghai
Price Range: £20 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Tour Traveler's Rest Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Tour Traveler’s Rest Youth Hostel is located in the downtown area of Shanghai and is just 10 minute’s walk from the Subway (Line 2 and Line 7) (JingAn Temple Station and Airport City Terminal). Shanghai Exhibition Centre, Paramount Entertainment and former French Concession are all within walking distance. 5-minute's walk from the subway Line 7 - ChangPing Road Station, which leads directly to Shanghai EXPO Park.Nearby Nanjing West Road is a busy main road with offices, shops, restaurants and pubs. However the hostel is set back in a quiet residential side street away from the hustle and bustle. The building itself was built in the 1930s and is a former Towel Factory that used to supply towels to almost every family in China. When renovating the building we tried to salvage and re-use as much as we could from the old building – much of the furniture, flooring and panelling that you see in our guest rooms and common areas are made from the original timber.We accepts ISIC, IYTC, ITIC, HI Hostel card, Hostelworld VIP Card, … as our membership cards. We can offer accommodation in double rooms, twin rooms, apartment rooms and shared single-sex dormitories. The hostel offers a lively, vibrant atmosphere and has a Café and Bar, 24 hour access, free internet, bike hire, laundry, luggage lockers, garden, TV/DVD lounge, Table Tennis, Billiards and a quiet reading room. Also, at our reception there is a Travel Center, where customers can book flight and train tickets, as well as tickets for local one day tours and acrobatics shows, and much more besides… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Tour Traveler's Rest Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Tour Traveler`s Rest Youth Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing