We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's been perfect for my business partners and myself”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jia Nian CEO Serviced Residence
Ranked #58 of 318 Speciality Lodging in Shanghai
Santa Barbara, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“It's been perfect for my business partners and myself”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I have been to Shanghai numerous times and have experienced the gamut of Chinese hotels from the splendorous to the shudder inducing. I quite like the Belgravia for reasons of location, value and the availability of large apartments.

Individual experiences will vary of course, but we have not experienced any of the negative attitudes reported here. Everyone at the Belgravia was nice and helpful to us and the girl at the desk spoke excellent English.

As reported, the place is hard to find the first time. The reason is that the provided address is actually on a little street that runs off of Dongfang Road and ends up behind the Belgravia complex, which by the way is enormous. There are three 40 story buildings there.

The actual little street that you want to turn onto from Dongfang Lu is not marked. Fun! Once you get your bearings, you'll be able to direct your taxi driver by the sign at the street's entrance that says GaGa Dance. No idea what that means but it's easy to spot.

After your first adventure in finding the Belgravia, it will all make more sense and for your next outings you can get a taxi card from the front desk. I also highly recommend going across the street and getting some taxi cards from the Holiday Inn.
 
You will always need your destination written down for you or on a map in Chinese characters since your taxi drivers in China will not speak a word of English. Well maybe a few words, but Belgravia Serviced Apartments will not be among those words. Holiday Inn Pudong very well might be among those words.

You are just two blocks from the Pudian Road Metro station and you may find it handy. The Shanghai Metro is not difficult to navigate, just don't make your first trip at rush hour and always figure out where you're going and by what route before you get to the station.

As a side note, there are two Pudian Road Metro stations. More fun! The one you want is on the number 2 line. It is kind of magenta colored on the maps and in the stations.

You will see several reviews here that say the Belgravia is beat up and outdated, etc. There are some oddities about the place to be sure. Hmmm, no hangers in the closets? I don't get that one.

It is an elegant place that is somewhat battered by use-a loose faucet in the kitchen, a drawer pull coming off, that sort of thing. All in all, I would be very pleased if I ever managed to get my own house into this condition. And it's a whole lot of room at a very reasonable price.

To be clear, this is not some beat up flop house. It's really quite nice. If what you really need is a perfect Western-type hotel experience, try the Holiday Inn or the Intercontinental, but don't expect to get a three bedroom apartment for $150.

The beds are an issue. They are indeed pretty much exactly like sleeping on a box spring. This is not uncommon in China and the Chinese guests will not think anything of it. We Westerners won't care for it, but you only have to ask and they will bring you an additional couple of inches of mattress pad that will cushion the blow. Actually, in our group of 3, 2 of us opted not to use the extra pad.

I don't know what to think about the guests who complained about only having cold showers. That was not our experience, but who knows what other guests may have run into. I will just mention that I have found that single lever shower valves in China are often plumbed backwards from what we expect. That is to say that pushing the faucet handle towards the red side makes for cold water and vice versa. I don't know, but it's possible that the cold shower people were just turning the handle in the wrong direction.

Now let me say a thing or two about the many reviewers who object to the food situation. Well for one thing, there really are very few Westerners in China, even in an international city like Shanghai. So it's a significant concession for a modest hotel like this, that serves a primarily Chinese population, to provide Western breakfast food at all.

I have stayed in 5 star hotels in China that have fewer Western breakfast foods that the Belgravia. In fact I was at a 5 star hotel in Ningbo just this morning whose only concession to Western breakfast tastes was a small selection of sweet rolls and the availability of pre-fried eggs.

On a typical day in Belgravia's little cafe, you will find normal Chinese breakfast foods such as fried noodles, vegetables, congee porridge, dim sum buns, hard boiled eggs, bacon, egg tarts, spring rolls, melon slices and a few other things that don't come to mind.

In addition, there is a selection of European style breads, some sausage, yogurt and a few other things.  If you just can't get through your morning without a fried egg, you only have to ask and they'll go do it for you.

Sorry, but if you can't make an acceptable breakfast out of all that, you're just really not much of a traveler. In any case, if you have, say, fussy children who will have a tantrum unless they get their Cocoa Puffs, there is a slice of Iowa in the form of a Holiday Inn just a block away. By the way, there is another dining area on the other side of the lobby. If the little cafe area is full, just take a table over there.

Now about that coffee that some of you have been whining about: People, that is a high end Italian automatic espresso machine that burr grinds the beans a nanosecond before brewing your coffee. It is excellent coffee, though admittedly weakish. So have two. There are also 3 or 4 actual coffee shops on Dongfang Road within 100 feet of the hotel. I can recommend The Bistro, around the corner to your left. Really good coffee and excellent sandwiches.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrSnoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    17
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
9
3
Solo
0
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level 6 Contributor
301 reviews
259 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel has become very bad and run down. There are terrible smells where you go from oily stale smell in the lobby to overpowering mold smell throughout the hotel.
Service cannot be rated it's non existent The rooms are rundown and dirty bed very hard internet very bad.
There are other newer and better apartment hotels in the area.
My recommendation for this hotel stay away until it get completely redone.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Mashgiach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuremberg, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Belgravia SR occupies northern part of the building which is on the userpic, all 38 stages. It has about 10 free parking lots in front of the entrance and an underground parking for some fee. If you are in Shanghai for months, it is convenient to get an electric scooter, and it is easy to handle it if you stay in Belgravia.
Yes, Belgravia is very suitable for a long term accommodation. We live here already one year and are going to stay one year more. It is also good if you travel with a big family and you are used to live in an apartment more than in a simple hotel room. But if you need a short accommodation with a good breakfast (frankly speaking I do not know anything about the breakfast and the restaurant of Belgravia. But it looks quite simple), swimming pool and everyday service – you will not find this in Belgravia. Again: Belgravia is not a typical hotel, it is a serviced residence. You find here flats with an equipped kitchen, laundry washer, 2-3 bedrooms and baths, twice per week Chinese style cleaning and bed sheets change. All the rest is up to you.

Locals like to rent Belgravia for newlyweds and relatives. But do not worry, Chinese normally go to sleep at 22 o'clock, even youth finish parties quite early. I have to say, folks which stay in Belgravia are quite civilized. A lot of foreigners.

Reception is 24h, with average Chinglish but very helpful in all cases. Entrance to the elevator hall with a room key-card only, it makes your stay safe and quiet.
The building is more or less modern, the furniture is definitely not luxury. And there is no thermo isolation at all, nevertheless an aircon can be run 24/7 and helps. If it's broken, call to reception, local engineers will fix the problem. I advise to call reception for anything you need. And do not get irritated at a mere nothing - otherwise your life in China becomes a nightmare.
Internet! Remember, internet is a problem in whole China, it is not really particular problem of Belgravia. I would say, in Belgravia it is even not so bad. But when you see the speed of connection for the first time you go mad for sure. Be prepared!
Belgravia is conveniently situated in the south-east of Pudong. It is 3 minutes’ walk to the four subway lines intersection. In a walking distance you can find a lot of different restaurants. But, unfortunately, if you want to get some western bar you need to use transport. Closest is Camel Bar - 20 min walk down to the river along Weifang str. But you can easily find a taxi, which is quite cheap and friendly in Shanghai.

Room Tip: Choose a room as higher as possible. Rooms which numbers end on “01” are 3 bedrooms and quite large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrey_Nara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
everywhere
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Please refer to my first review April 2009. Based on our last stay, we came back for a more extended length of time (we were actually moving and needed to be somewhere for 2 weeks). There were a few things that changed FOR THE WORSE: The breakfast servings have now been replaced by a "breakfast buffet", I put that in quotations because this was the worst breakfast buffet I have ever encountered while living in China- and that is four years of experience. The offerings are all Chinese, this in itself is not a bad thing, but it is old, deep fried, not fresh- it seems like leftovers from dinner. You can request a freshly fried egg, but I would stick to the friend egg and maybe some toast. Everything else looks very suspect, even for China. The second issue is that we stayed here in June and we had a horrendous mosquito problem. When we called down to the front desk, all we were given was a mosquito repelling room air-freshener. Mind you- we were staying there with several young children, who would wake up each morning with 1-2 new bites! Luckily we had a room higher up, I can't imagine how things would be on the lower levels. The furnishings and rooms are starting to show their age and the beds are as hard as ever. Service still uneven but overall acceptable, the bellhops and doormen being great, front desk ranges from apathetic to minimally helpful. Despite this, to be fair and provide some balance- I still think that given it's location and the amount of space- the price is still right with the correct expectations. I might be careful for families traveling during mosquito season (June-August), maybe requesting a higher room (above 20th floor) may help. During the rest of the year it shouldn't be a problem. They even started printing cards with the address and a map on it- see my last review about it being hard to find. So again, if you're looking for a home-base in the downtown Pudong/Luijiazui area- and don't need gourmet food on-site- and want the luxury of a washer/dryer and full kitchen. I would still consider this, just know that you won't be getting the four-seasons, or even three-seasons!

Room Tip: Higher the better! Some of the washer/dryers are the same unit! I never saw that until now, at fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bearfamily777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Before i head to this hotel i'm worry due to all the negative comment. This apartment is just 10 minutes walk from railway station and there are many restaurant nearby which is convenience. The apartment is big and well furnished. I believe that you cant get this big restaurant at this super cheap price. There are 50 over tv channel but the bad thing is all are speak in chinese. The boy receptionist welcome us with smile and have a good manner. We requested extra towel on phone and they immediately deliver to our doorstep after few minute which was very good. *SUPER RECOMMEND YOU TO STAY AT THIS HOTEL*

Room Tip: Have a higher floor room to have good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnlovetravel_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 6 Contributor
301 reviews
259 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

the mold smell hits you as soon as you arrive in this hotel. the hotel is not clean old and need of immediate face lift, the internet is slower then dial up. service is not good, the beds are typically Chinese hard beds, there is a microwave, washing machine, and kitchen in every apartment.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mashgiach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level 5 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2011

Stayed here 10 nights in March with our son. For 7000 RMB it's roomy, with good enough view from balkony, reasonably clean. Staff speaks good english and quite helpfull. Breakfast in 1st floor "cafe" is not good, but there a lot eating places around for any taste - chinese or european - just 5 min walk.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kulverstukas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
0.0 mi away
Shanghai Ever Sunshine Hotel
Shanghai Ever Sunshine Hotel
#573 of 5,105 in Shanghai
88 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Soluxe Zhongyou Hotel Shanghai
0.0 mi away
Supreme Tower Hotel
Supreme Tower Hotel
#441 of 5,105 in Shanghai
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tong Mao Hotel
Tong Mao Hotel
#631 of 5,105 in Shanghai
119 reviews
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong
Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong
#41 of 5,105 in Shanghai
577 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Hongta Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jia Nian CEO Serviced Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jia Nian CEO Serviced Residence

Property: Jia Nian CEO Serviced Residence
Address: Building C, No.29 Xiangcheng Road, Pudong New District, Shanghai 200122, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 318 Speciality Lodging in Shanghai
Hotel Class:4 star — Jia Nian CEO Serviced Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belgravia Serviced Residence offers 126 stylish rooms filled with modern comforts in Shanghai’s Pudong New Area. Recreational facilities include a swimming pool, massage services, and free shuttle services to certain points of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Jia Nian CEO Serviced Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belgravia Serviced Residence Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing