We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jia Nian CEO Serviced Residence
Ranked #59 of 354 Speciality Lodging in Shanghai
Reviewed 18 August 2010

I have stayed in this apartment hotel for 6 nights. It's absolutely worth the recommendation.

The price-performance ratio is quite high. I booked a flat with 2 sleeping rooms and a spacious living room, it's approx. 120sqm for my dad and me. Normally with the rate paid here you can only get a standard room in a 4 star hotel in Shanghai.

The building is very well maintained despite it's built mid 80's. The flat is big, clean, adequately furnished, feel like living at home yet you have room service everyday. Free parking place, free wifi but only in the lobby area. The service staffs were friendly.

The other reviewers mentioned it's difficult to find the hotel. Well we also took some time the first time. But the location is still very convenient, close to Lu Jia Zui (downtown of Pudong).

Overall satisfied, the only catch was the payment. The staff did not mention that the payment was in EURO when I signed. Sure they used their exchange rate which wasn't in fovour of me. I preferred payment in chinese Yuan, and my credit card will book anyhow in EUR with an up-to-date exchange rate. After I noticed that a few days later, I contacted them, they were ready to solve the problem and they did.

I will definately book the hotel again when I go to Shanghai in future. I heard the rate would even lower after world expo.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashley_vM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 19 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2010

Do not believe for even a second that the the pics on the website reflect reality. The rooms were obviously spruced up for the pics! After 2 hours of arguing we finally were given a room that 50% approximated what we had booked. And the promised access to the spa - ha, you wish!! This is a terrible hotel with staff that requre about 10 years of service training.

Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
3  Thank HeidivdW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2010

Booked the apartment of 2-bedroom for 6d/5n. End up given a 3-bedroom type. Room is big and quite spacious. Master bedroom ensuite with a bathroom.

Pros: Location is good. Less than 5 mins walk to the nearest metro. The apartment is clean and well serviced. Furniture is clean and well maintained. Toiletries given. Ample of TV programs. Easy to get taxi service through the receptionist. Air-cond and heater is well functioning.

Cons: If you travel by taxi, many taxi driver might not know the exact location of this apartment. Even you show them the name in Chinese or map, they need some guidance of how to enter into the premises. Must tell the driver that it was actually located at Dong Fang Road (that's the main road). However, it is not being mentioned by the address. Since it is a Building C, it was actually the last block of the residence bypass two gates barrier.

The bed is extremely hard. Those who are not used to it, might feel not comfortable. However, i think is good for me because I don't feel any backpain after a good nite rest.

The water heater was not functioning on one of the night. Call up the manager, but nothing can be done because it was a centrally functioning water heating. Maybe it was down on that day. End up I have a cold shower. It's OK for me because my body won't feel cold after a cold shower.

Others:
Breakfast charged at RMB30. However, there is a Family Mart nearby. BOught some bread, milk and biscuits for breakfast.

Overall experience is good and comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank N0V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2009

I am 2 weeks into my 2 month apartment rental. I have a 2 bedroom, 2 bath unit and am paying 15800RMB/mo ($2,360USD). The hotel's pictures look great, their model rooms on the 31st floor are very nice and well appointed. The tour was great, that's where things change. I signed the contracts, then was lead to my room on the 28th floor. It is flat, painted walls, zero appointments, etc. When I went to the mgt and said this is not what I signed up for, they said that 31F was models and the other rooms are not. 2nd bathroom has a problem called "stinky pipes", seems sometime the traps are not put on drains in Shanghai, thus sewer fumes come directly into the apartment. I have to keep that door shut. I have asked Mgt to fix this issue, but their workman come up, spray some scent in the bathroom and leave. They know to fix it that they would have to open the floor and put in a trap. This hotel is near the Holiday Inn and St. Regis, thus there are lots of Street Walkers (hookers) outside on the streets and in the Holiday Inn Irish pub "Flannigans". Lots of construction in the area as of NOV-2009, thus quite noisey even at night. Anyway, the place is livable, but it is certainly not as advertised. PS: walking to Century Ave. subway, line 2, 4, and 6 is only ~7 minutes.
http://www.belgraviaservicedresidence.com/index.php

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lars_of_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2009

1. Background: Traveled with wife and toddler. Wanted to explore Pudong so Puxi was not on our agenda. We do speak some conversational Chinese, though not fluent.
2. The Good...: The fixtures and furniture was brand new and spotless. Rarely have I been to a hotel that was as impressive looking as on its website. Our 2 bedroom suite was furnished better (and was bigger) than the apartment we live in! Full size refrigerator, induction stovetop (people into cooking will know why this is a big deal), flatscreen TV, new washer and dryer. The cost was outstanding, we got our 2 bedroom suite, spacious for aprox $89 USD/night! Compare that with any other suite in a hotel! If you are set on exploring Pudong then this is a nice central location, 10 minutes to Century Park, 15-20 min to Pearl Tower/Aquarium/JinMao tower. If you are savvy enough to use the subway (walkable but still a 10-15 min walk) then you can probably access areas to the west (Nanjing road, etc) but this would not be realistic using a car/taxi. The breakfast (included in some rooms) is simple. A choice of American (fried eggs and sausages and juice), Chinese or Japanese. If you are used to Chinese hotels that offer filling (even if low quality) breakfast buffets, then this will disappoint. The quality is fair for what you pay - the breakfast was filling and sufficient for my wife and I, but I could see some bigger eaters and those with more refined palates being disappointed. In terms of the area, you are in the financial district, so not a lot of touristy eateries, but the St. Regis is right next to this hotel and offers some top notch dining options if that's what you're looking for. There was free broadband internet that was fast, my laptop connected easily.
3. The Bad...: We're not sure if it is the street or just that this is not a large, well-known hotel, but none of our taxi drivers knew exactly where the hotel or street was. It was a small hassle every time we had to come back after a day excursion. Luckily, once you get near, the hotel seems fairly recognizable and you can guide the driver yourself. The service was uneven. When we checked in during the day, there was no bellhop to help us with our luggage (even with my wife being 8 months pregnant), our driver had to bring up our luggage. Sometimes the service at the "restaurant" was unaccommodating (see below regarding seating capacity), when the restaurant was "full" and they wouldn't seat us (an 8 month pregnant women, fussy toddler and me), we offered to just call in room service- they replied they were too busy and that even if we did that no one could bring it up to us. On the other hand, during the afternoon and evenings, we found the service to be acceptable. On arrival after a long day, the front desk people would help us out of the taxi and bring our bags up to the elevator. Most of the time when we called down to get a taxi, the response was prompt. Also, as of this writing (April 2009) there was a lot of construction around the hotel, it was a lot of banging and clanking during the day (7am-7pm) and still some residual machinery noise at night, but nothing our family couldn't sleep through. The pool is only open during summer months (a fact they don't advertise on their website). The children's play area is a matted room with some balls and a small slide.
4. And the Ugly...: We have stayed at many hotels in Asia, we realize that Asian/Japanese tourists are accustomed to harder mattresses, but these were the hardest mattresses we have ever slept on (this says a lot, we've slept in a lot of Chinese hotels!). This place is not for the faint of heart or the bad of back! We at first thought they had forgotten our mattress and we were sleeping on a boxspring. We found a solution by getting extra comforters and putting them on top of the mattress. The "restaurant" is comprised of 2 booths and 2-4 tables. So we calculate a maximum capacity of about 22 people. If you happen to want to eat around a busy time, expect to wait.
5. Conclusions: I'd recommend this hotel for those who want a Pudong base of operations, who need a suite arrangement with a full kitchen and want it at a fraction of the price of staying at a hotel suite. But, I caution that you probably should have some Chinese language capability or if not, be very flexible/have a sense of humor and have realistic expectations for what service and food are like at a Chinese hotel. If you do, I think the value is unbeatable with realistic expectations!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bearfamily777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 3166nevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#6 of 5,160 in Shanghai
1,841 reviews
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#33 of 5,160 in Shanghai
2,450 reviews
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jia Nian CEO Serviced Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jia Nian CEO Serviced Residence

Address: Building C, No.29 Xiangcheng Road, Pudong New District, Shanghai 200122, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 354 Speciality Lodging in Shanghai
Hotel Class:4 star — Jia Nian CEO Serviced Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belgravia Serviced Residence offers 126 stylish rooms filled with modern comforts in Shanghai’s Pudong New Area. Recreational facilities include a swimming pool, massage services, and free shuttle services to certain points of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jia Nian CEO Serviced Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belgravia Serviced Residence Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing