We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but old and dirty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yitel Hotel Shanghai East Nanjing Road
Ranked #1,620 of 5,159 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We booked two double rooms here for our family, mainly because of location and price (esp. during National Holiday week). After 1 night I went searching for alternative rooms. The hotel is very old and badly needs a renovation. Bathrooms were terrible. Air con old and useless. Lift slow. Free breakfast pretty poor, even by Chinese brekky standards (only boiled eggs, old fried rice, oily noodles and steamed buns). Slow broadband internet was about Y30 a day. We found a two bedroom apartment with free broadband and a better free breakfast nearby, at a lower price (Tianci Apartments). I would not recommend this hotel for families.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TVR_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 14 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2011

We were looking for a restaurant after our massage session and saw the ad. Entered the hotel and went up to the third floor to find a nice restaurant with posh chairs. We had a table at th window and ordered from the thick menu book! The goose was delicious, veggie were excellent and the pepper beef tender and peppery, the gyozos were big and gorgeous. We enjoyed our meal and the bill came up to CNY 195.- for 4 persons! Cheap and good!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ivano62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2010

The main reason for me choosing Li Jing Hotel was it's location, just next to the metro and Nanjing Road (the two main criterias for this trip). Additional benefit about this hotel is that the police station is just next to it. We were glad that we were able to check in even though we arrived early. Also there is a foot massage parlour (RMB58 for 1-hour session) on the same floor with our room which came in very handy after hours of walking at the Shanghai EXPO.

The breakfast buffet consists of porridge, stir-fried noodles, man tao (steamed buns), red bean buns, fried rice, boiled eggs, boiled sweet potatoes, stir-fried rice cake and condiments for the porridge.

The cleaner was very helpful and the maintenance team responded fast to our request in sorting out the toilet. Bed was reasonably comfortable.

It is important to note that if you are travelling by metro, take the subway line 2 from Pudong Int'l Airport towards People's Square. Take exit 14 and the hotel will be just "right in front of you".

Negatives: The manager at the reception didn't seem too friendly or like to answer questions, so was the receptionists that he was managing. They seemed to be "busy". Also, I didn't like the fact that the manager was smoking at the reception making the whole area smelling really bad everytime we walked in. The carpet in our room was badly stained and there was problem with the flushing system. Although the maintenance team came and fixed it, it was still faulty.

For the location and foot massage, I might consider going back again.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenn_Woo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

I came from india and stayed inthis hotel for a couple of days. I found only one girl who speaks english and guided me how to go to sight seeing. If she is not there it will be very difficult for me to talk to the hotel staff and to go around the city.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank divyaIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2006

Great location, but that's all. We booked a standard room, had to pay for the whole stay in advance and ended up staying for only one night. The bed was hard as a rock, the walls thin as paper and the carpet was filthy, as if someone had dragged a dirty diaper across it. Would recommend it only to a bunch of guys who are drunk enough to pass out anywhere. (This hotel is also known as Li Jing.)

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nilla74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2005

I booked the Lidu on the 'sinohotel' website, sight unseen.

All I knew was that it was near Nanjing Road, the 'main st' of Shanghai.I took the Airport bus from Pudong airport to the city centre for €2, the bus driver let me off at a taxi rank, and the taxi took me the short ride to the hotel ( If I'd known the hotel was walking distance from People's Park, maybe I could have got the correct bus from the airport ! )

I was expecting a bit of a rundown hotel considering the price, and I thought I'd move to a better place the next day - BUT what I found was an excellent 'businessmen's' hotel. A bit of scuffed paint in the room was the only fault I could find !
The complimentary breakfast was totally Chinese - rice porridge,beef and veg dumplings,bread stick,and milk tea. The staff hadn't got too good a command of English, but neither have I a good command of Chinese ! There was a 7Eleven style shop across the road, and a good bar down the street. Nanjing Road was a 5 min stroll, as was Fuxing Road ( for everything else from shopping malls to fast food )

All in all, why pay more for a 'Western' name ?

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank hochi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Thank 天神仔
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Majesty Plaza Shanghai
Majesty Plaza Shanghai
#231 of 5,159 in Shanghai
459 reviews
People’s Square
Pacific Hotel
Pacific Hotel
#191 of 5,159 in Shanghai
349 reviews
People’s Square
Jinjiang MetroPolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Peoples' Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Park Hotel Shanghai
Park Hotel Shanghai
#164 of 5,159 in Shanghai
362 reviews
People’s Square
The Bund Hotel
The Bund Hotel
#127 of 5,159 in Shanghai
571 reviews
Starr Hotel
#135 of 5,159 in Shanghai
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yitel Hotel Shanghai East Nanjing Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yitel Hotel Shanghai East Nanjing Road

Address: No.678 Hankou Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200001, China (Formerly Li Jing Hotel)
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,620 of 5,159 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: £21 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Yitel Hotel Shanghai East Nanjing Road 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Yitel Hotel Shanghai East Nanjing Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing