We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay at Koala”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Koala Garden Hostel
Ranked #34 of 746 Shanghai B&B and Inns
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely stay at Koala”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I only reached Shanghai at 3am so I am thankful for the quick and friendly check-in. I stayed in the Lavender room which was smaller than it appeared on the photos but no big deal. The room was clean, with good water pressure in the bathroom. There are several places for you to hang around when you are tired from exploring the neighbourhood and most lovely was the in-house pet, a 4-month old brown poodle named Koala (what else?!). There is a park and many lovely small lanes nearby, and the metro is less than 10 mins walk away. Great place.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OSFlanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    29
    18
    3
    4
See reviews for
3
21
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

stayed here during summer. location is fine, lots of food around the corner + the 10minutes of walking doesnt kill. infact its nice to walk to the train station as you get to see things, the crazyness of shanghai - thats the point of travelling anyway. do not choose twin clover as the room s located kinda behind the recept. and can get REALLY noisy + annoying with all the footsteps, phone ringings, chattering, water running from others using the common toilet.. etc. i picked this room initially but the min we were shown to twin clover, i was disappointed as the room was rather shabby. upgraded us to the lily room tts located on the third level. quiet and a whole lot better. try and choose rooms that are located on the third level like clover double, lily double.

beds are okok. certain parts of the beds i could feel the spring. everything else is great, the colors of the rooms, the furniture etc.

staffs are very nice and helpful and yes, i will def stay here again for sureeee :x

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alvelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2011

I must say I was so surprised the first time I walked into this place! I usually don't believe every picture listed online for hotels/attractions until I see it for myself. To my surprise this place was better than the pictures. The atmosphere/location/food/service all received and A+ from me. I have stayed there more than 4times in my 3yrs of living in China this place is super-d-duper!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chirens1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Although I stayed here almost a year ago, I still remember how amazed I was by the quality and cleanliness of the rooms at Koala Garden. Even in the shared dorms with 6 people, the rooms were very neat and tidy, had great A/C (important for the summer), and even came with lockers and locks. The shared bathrooms are also kept very clean. Location is good too, on a quiet Japanese themed street. And all this comes at a super affordable price.

The downstairs cafe is a nice place for a western meal and good place to meet fellow travellers. The staff is overall helpful during the day. I remember having some trouble being understood at night but it wasn't a big deal and I just dealt with whatever it was in the morning. Next time I visit Shanghai I will definitely stay at Koala Garden.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank alwaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
184 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2011

The hostel is a gem! I was impressed that the service was so good and the dorm is so tidy. I have stayed many youth hostel and I think koala garden is one of the best! Price is very cheap but high quality dorm. I would defineity stay here again of I go to shanghai!
^^)v

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bari_ttc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2011

This hotel provides a good value for your money in Shanghai. It is located north of the city (down-town for Americans) and is about a 15 minute walk to two subway stations, or about a 1 hour walk to the city. I stayed at a hotel with similar priced rooms even further north and experienced worse customer service and a dirtier hotel room, so this hotel is quite good on that score.

The hotel rooms are quite popular so it is best to book the rooms as far in advance as possible. They have air-conditioning which keeps the rooms warm at night (although the remote control is in Chinese which can make changing the settings difficult).

The quality of food and drinks is generally good but expensive compared with outside restaurants. For example a can of coca cola cost 20 Yuan (2 pounds) inside the hotel, but about 2 Yuan in a supermarket.

The staff are friendly and courteous for Chinese standards. It's best not to expect too much from them, but they will assist as much as possible and are usually eager to learn English.

After 11pm or so there is usually only a security guard around and the heating and floor lights on the ground level are turned off.

There are many shops and restaurants located on nearby Sichuan Road. This road can get crowded with pedestrians though.

The hotel has free wireless internet, although at times it can be slow.

Remember - do not accept Chinese tea from any person you meet especially in Nanjing Road Mall, no matter how nice or charming they may be, it is usually a scam!

Overall I would recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robsonap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2010

we booked a double room with bath for two nights. When we arrived, the manger told me that we would have to go to an triple room withouth bathroom for the first night, as the double had a waterproblem which was to be solved by the next day. Ok, we got the triple room with a discount.
However, the next morning when I asked about when we can go into the double room, someone else told me that the people who are there needed to check-out first. ÄÄHHEM, waterproblem?
So yeah, the manager then apologized and even gave us that night for free, yet I give one star for lying straight into my face.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FreddyandPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Zhongshan Park
Rock & Wood International Youth Hostel
People’s Square
Shanghai Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
Jing'an
Le Tour Traveler's Rest Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Laoshan Hostel (The Phoenix)
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koala Garden Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koala Garden Hostel

Property: Koala Garden Hostel
Address: No.240 Duolun Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200081, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Sichuan North Road
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 746 B&Bs / Inns in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Koala Garden Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Koala Garden Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing