We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice designed hostel, with restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Koala Garden Hostel
Ranked #34 of 753 Shanghai B&B and Inns
Warsaw, Poland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nice designed hostel, with restaurant”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

i agree that here is more like a hotel than a hostel, and i heard that they used to have another hostel a shanghai, while now is closed, i like the atmosphere here though chatting or socializing with backpacking is not that common here, but it's located in a nice and quiet neighborhood, which is rare in Shanghai, since you can see crowded of people everywhere in Shanghai, food is okay here, though a little high to me, but i would recommend here as a weekend break since you can still go to anywhere by metro easily

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ewa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    29
    18
    3
    4
See reviews for
3
21
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vietnam
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2013

The Hostel is situated in a nice cultural area & the building looks good on a wonderful historic street.

Stayed at Koala Garden for two nights, our room was nice and comfortable. The decoration of room was colorful with some character and was clean.
The staff was friendly, easy-going, and spoke English well.

There was also a Metro station & shopping centers nearby.
Breakfast here was not free and quite expensive too.

A very good hostel overall

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Thuan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cusco, Peru
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Hotel style with a restaurant downstairs. One waitress speaks English, they advertise breakfast but don't actually have any. Why is it on the menu then? Breakfast can be a a real challenge in China unless you can stomach Chinese food for your first meal. Quite far from the Bund and French Concession to walk unless you take the tube (but only 3 Yuan). Beer is cheap 15 Yuan for a pint. Staff are helpful. However, there is a stench of cigarettes everywhere, there aren't any no smoking areas. I left with a cough, because even my room stunk of fags and I don't smoke! No kitchen, washing facilities or advertised help with tours/planning. All standard expectations in most hostels. Lovely people but not really making the most of the business. Get it sorted!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 960Joey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

I stayed here after extending a work trip for some sightseeing. The hotel is in a lovely street, mainly pedestrianised, close to a market with yummy streetfood. Its a 10 minute walk to the tube, but you get to choose form 3 different stops making the location very well connected. Walking to the tube is comfortable and safe. Altogether a good location.
A few things that would make the place better:
1) The whole place is one big smoking area. Perhaps that is normal in China, but if you are sensitive to this, or perhaps just stopped smoking yourself, don't choose this place. I think it was one of the main owners/managers who was smoking indoors most of the time.
2) Breakfast. I tried for breakfast on day one, was told at 8am the guys is still sleeping. Got some at 10:30 in the end. The scrambled egg was covered in sugar, rather than seasoned with salt (again, perhaps that is a Chinese thing?). It is not the end of the world - I then had awesome streetfood for breakfast on all the other days.
3) 3rd floor, hot water is more luke warm than hot in the evenings (though ok in the morning).

Room Tip: get a room on the 3rd floor for quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lalaland0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights in November 2012. We were very excited after reading reviews and seeing pictures. Based on the pictures we didn't want a room with mattresses on the floor (basic room) but one with a nice big bed such as in the picture. We booked a queen superior room, expecting nothing less than what you see in the picture.

At the day of check-in we are led to our room, and guess what? Mattresses on the floor! We complained of course, but were told that 'no, you are definitely staying in a queen superior room'! If we merely had booked a standard room, it probably wouldn't be as disappointing as it would be to our expectations. This however, was a huge disappointment.

The staff on duty were very young and were hard to communicate with. They could say nothing but sorry when we wanted to get some money back on check-out. Their manager was not there and there was nothing they could do. We had to pay full price. We finally decided just to get on with it and over with as we were traveling somewhere else and didn't want it to ruin the rest of our holiday.

Further, our room had a window that barely shut. As it was November it was also very cold and drafty. Thank god the air con worked! However, the traffic could easily have been inside our room. That's how loud it was! Our room was on the top floor, all the way to the left.

The first day we wanted breakfast. We were the only ones in the restaurant and waited 40 minutes for some eggs and bacon. Mine came 10 min before my boyfriend's too. But that is often how the Chinese serve food, as soon as it's done.

Internet.. was not working on the top floor. The router was just outside our door hanging on the wall. We complained to the staff in the bar, and he just said 'OK' and nothing happened. Complained again the day after, nothing happened. So, we had to go down to the restaurant if we wanted to use the super slow internet.

Wanted to use the laundry service! That was quite interesting. Requested for one pair of trousers not to be tumble dried. Later that day when we came to pick up our washing, no one knew were the trousers were. My boyfriend later found it himself on a drying rack on the balcony among lots of other clothes. The rest of the clothes however... wow. They had not even bothered putting the clean and dry clothes bag in the bag. I was led out to the back of the hotel were there was a washing mashing outside which was missing the top lid (old fashioned washing machine) so the clothes were completely exposed as they were washing. This was also outside, only covered by a tin plate as a roof. Completely exposed to the weather - and it was raining! My clothes were left on the top of the tumble drier and clothes had fallen to the ground on the dirty floor. The guy simply pointed me in the direction of my pile of clothes and had to carefully put it back in the bag so it wouldn't fall over onto the ground. Can't believe we paid for that!

Also, there were no shampoo or soap on the bathroom, which is standard in any other hotel/hostel I've ever stayed at. We had to go and buy our own soap and shampoo in a shop around the corner!

In general, staff were rude and not paying attention. When we complained, they were whispering to each other in Chinese and giving us mean looks. And most importantly, don't be fooled by the amazing looking bed for the queen superior room, we got only a mattress on the floor!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the right side of the hotel are angled away from the noisy traffic. Also, make completely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mia_Power
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Stayed at Koala Garden for two nights, our room was considerably nice and comfortable. The decoration of room was colorful and richly spacious. The location located next to the metro and shopping center, staffs arranged us a city trip and flight ticket,too. They had the breakfast: simple but lovely and included with the room rate. The hotel was a smart choice for a cheap price in luxury Shanghai

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Radian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

The staff in the reception area were very friendly and helpful. They opened a bottle of wine for me (although it really did look like it was the first time they had used a corkscrew!).

We were a bit disppointed by the private room itself. It was very small for the price.

The hostel is on a quiet street (with loud road construction going on during the day). It is near an interesting shopping street and relatively close to the metro.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maskotas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
Le Tour Traveler's Rest Youth Hostel
Zhongshan Park
Rock & Wood International Youth Hostel
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koala Garden Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koala Garden Hostel

Property: Koala Garden Hostel
Address: No.240 Duolun Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200081, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Sichuan North Road
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 753 B&Bs / Inns in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Koala Garden Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA and HostelWorld so you can book your Koala Garden Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing