We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Minimalist elegance, one of the finest hotels in which I've ever stayed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Park Hyatt Shanghai
Ranked #27 of 5,159 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2010

I tacked on a leisurely Shanghai weekend to my 10-day business trip to China. During the business leg, I had stayed at the Ritz Carlton Portman. I am glad that I opted instead for the Park Hyatt Shanghai for my leisure weekend.

The hotel is located on the top floors of one of Shanghai's tallest skyscrapers. You are greeted in the hotel lobby by striking views of the city. The check-in process was seamless, the attendant could not be more professional and friendly, and then she took me to my room. I was struck by the room's minimalist elegance, views, serenity, and plush finishes. The bathroom itself was as large as some hotel rooms in China.

The hotel also has a beautiful spa overlooking the city. The infinity pool is lovely though the gym is small with limited equipment, though adequate.

The Pudong area is not especially lively and feels rather generically like a modern international finance complex (think Canary Wharf in London or the Financial District in New York). But don't allow the neighborhood's lack of character to deter you -- a quick and inexpensive taxi ride will bring you to the Bund, French Concession, markets, and other areas of interest. (There are, however, some fine restaurants in the area.)

When I return to Shanghai, Park Hyatt will undoubtedly be my first choice for accommodations.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYinTransit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

622 - 628 of 1,183 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2010

Pros
- Large rooms (I believe smallest rooms are 50 sqm and up)
- Very modern decor with great artwork
- High headroom
- Bathroom have some sort of Japanese theme, with toilets seperate from the main bathroom
- Very strong water pressure from rainshowers (the strongest I have ever experienced)
- Square seems to be the motive/design theme of the hotel, and it is evidenced throughout
- Private elevator access to hotel lobby on 87/F, then key access elevators to respective room levels
- Great service from all hotel staff
- Small, but very beautiful pool
- Buffet breakfast adequate with lots of waiter/waitress on hand to serve you
- Cool one-touch light/window binds control from bedside
- Fast and free complimentary wired and wi-fi internet
- Great views of Shanghai as this is located at the top floors of the currently tallest tower in the city
- Bellman always on hand at ground floor drop-off lobby to assist with bags
- Security check at ground floor lobby
- Modern artwork throughout
- Comfortable beds and pillows
- Coffee and tea making facilities

Cons
- Really, there isn't!

Overall, I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone - the dark/modern/simple/reflective decor or theme they were going for totally works, and the service was absolutely top-notch

Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
Thank kceesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2010

Now that the hotel has open for more than a year, the previous problem of taxi drivers not knowing the location simply disappeared. Upon arrival, my wife and I had to go through the security check, two tall but rather dark doorways to the lift lobby, took the high-ceiling lift to the hotel lobby on the 87th floor. The room floor corridors are, again, rather dark. The decos are very Hyatt, but gave us the feeling that it might be a touch too cold. Our three-day stay was basically excellent, with one point worth mentioning. When we were at the hotel lobby on the 87th floor, we just wanted to browse around. There was a security guy eyeing our every move, as if we were trespassers. There was a stairway leading to the Function Room on the 86th Floor. When we wanted to walk down, the security guy just forbid us. That wasn't very friendly. If that was a closed area, why not put up a sign?

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank W0r1dTrave11er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2010

Shanghai in early March was cold, grey, rainy, windy… simply dreary. But our stay at the Park Hyatt in Pudong Shanghai definitely brightened our stay.

We arrived in early morning after a red-eye flight from Bali. Upon arrival, the check-in was flawless. The lady who escorted us to the room showed the amenities and familiarized us with the switches in the room. The butler already prepared a complimentary continental breakfast on a tray in our room. In addition to the in-room espresso machine and the complimentary wifi, these experiences gave us a pleasant and good first impression of the hotel. And the experience continued to be extraordinary.

The staff was friendly and helpful. I needed to get medicine that’s only available in China. The concierge found that the medicine wasn’t available in Shanghai but managed to trace the manufacturer to Funan and arrangements were made to ship the medicine to our location.

We stayed in the Park Deluxe Room on the 85th floor, which literally was in the clouds. The room was well designed with interesting high-tech gadgets (the toilet and the shower area were the highlights here). The room felt spacious (the ceiling was high). On a clear day, the views out of the window were breathtaking with the mind-boggling architecture and skyline of Pudong. The Mad Max type futuristic Jinmao Tower and the Oriental Pearl Tower were right in front of our eyes. The bar on the 92nd floor was alive even during the non-ladies weekday nights.

We wanted to make a 1-day trip to the ancient Chinese town of Suzhou and water town of Zhouzhuang but were confused with all the offerings on the internet. We asked the hotel concierge for recommendation and they said they worked with a local travel agent and gave 2 package options: the deluxe and the standard. We took the standard which was reasonably priced and were surprised that we were picked up in a nice, clean, spacious car with a good English speaking lady guide. The package included lunch and we had a feast at an excellent Chinese restaurant! All this with only a standard package?!! Wow we were so satisfied with the arrangements.

We found the concierge opinionated and was surprised when he said don’t bother to go on the Bund Sightseeing Tunnel and visit the ancient town of Qibao. Only later did we find that we should have listened to him!

If there is any criticism at all, I wonder why there is some rust on the taps by the sink in the bathroom and the door handle at the toilet room when the hotel only opened in late 2008.

Overall though, it was a luxury experience with absolute quality.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maura-SoeparjadiKwik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2010

Excellent staff and service, friendly and personal. Efficient organisation of meetings and activities, airport pickups and dropoffs. High quality restaurants and facilities.
Well designed and spacious rooms.
Views would have been brilliant if the air outside was not smoggy

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank combebelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2010

6 Star all the way. Superb service. Impeccable, detailed rooms. Outstanding views. Breakfast is a tad expensive but very high end. Will not hesitate to stay again. Bring some trunks to check out the spa and infinity pool upstairs. This is the best hotel in China and one of the best I've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shinrai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2009

This hotel is a Tony Chi masterpiece!
I had admired his previous works but this hotel sincerely blew me away. From the tactile surfaces throughout to the ever changing and surprising "feels" of each public and private room, this property oozes warmth and tranquility.

Having always been a fan of Park Hyatt's Asian properties, I can truly say that this hotel now raises the bar.

Just as Park Hyatt Tokyo is THE hotel in that great city, this is THE hotel in Shanghai.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Prospect_Park_Johnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#30 of 5,159 in Shanghai
2,436 reviews
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Lujiazui
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai at Pudong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Jing'an
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
#22 of 5,159 in Shanghai
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Shanghai

Address: No.100 Century Avenue, Pudong New District, Shanghai 200120, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#18 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#27 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#55 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#189 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: £177 - £399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
occupying the 79th to 93rd floors of the Shanghai World Financial Center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Park Hyatt Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Hyatt Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing