We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this Place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
FuramaXpress Hotel Xujiahui Shanghai Stadium
Ranked #2,386 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Taguig City, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“Love this Place!”
Reviewed 12 May 2012

My husband and I have visited Shanghai twice in the last 1.5 years and both times were impressed with the value and location we received at this hotel. You get hot water, clean rooms, free internet, cable TV, comfortable/warm beds, free bottled water, and great customer service. The strange thing is that the bathroom is made of all glass, so if you are sharing a room with someone you aren't THAT close to, you need to draw the drape and stay on your side of the room. We didn't even have a door on our bathroom, so it is a very open feel.

The best part of this hotel is the location. It is situated a bit far from the Bund and the tourist attractions, but it's located across the street from the very easy to use train/subway system (we don't speak mandarin) and next to a lot of great/authentic Chinese food. Across the street from the hotel is a small mall, with 2 of our favorite restaurants, a Schezuan place on the top floor and a Yang's Fried Dumplings (must try) on the bottom basement floor. There's also a Happy Lemon in that mall if you like milk tea. On the right and left of the hotel within 1-2 blocks are lots of different dimsum style breakfast spots and bakeries. You will not go hungry.

On the corner there's a bank for you to exchange money (bring your passport), but be prepared for a line. If you are from the states and have Bank of America, you can go to a local China Construction bank and withdraw from the ATM with no fees.

Anyway, love this place and would highly recommend it! The price is also really reasonable!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrabisGOOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    55
    22
    5
    3
See reviews for
2
5
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Dirty, small room. Not much English speaking. Good place if you have to attend an exhibition. Lots of places to walk to and the sub way to next door.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Reception didn't really speak English, staff not so helpful and cold, except for the door bell guy who helped us to carry our suitcases from taxi to hotel and up to the room.

Lobby overall looked modern but stairs and some parts of the hotel looked worn-out.

Elevators worked fine.

Th room was very small, all cramped, quite dark. Our room was facing the street, but it was quiet enough there, so no problem to sleep at night.
The bedroom was so small and so unconveniently arranged that We barely had room to put our luggages and to move around. We always had to leap over stuff- even to turn on the light....
Bathroom has some see-through glass wall, and our bed was stuck to the bathroom glass wall, so not good for intimacy.

Cleaning ladys are very loud in the morning and don't really care if you 're still in your room or not... they just knock on the door whenever they fell to.

The only good thing about this hotel is its location, just facing the shanghai stadium subway station (distance can be very long in shanghai), and it was close to tons of restaurants and shops.
It's about 15 minutes away by walk from xujiahui station, where you have tons of malls and restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cricri003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Since my last review we have been twice back at the FuramaXpress Hotel. It's still a great little Hotel (118 rooms). Sometimes it's comforting to know that things haven't changed. And so it is with this Hotel. Still friendly, English speaking staff at reception who are always happy to help and greet you with a smile. This time we chose to have breakfast in the restaurant on the 2. floor. Not bad for 25 yuan each, if you like mostly Asian food, (which I do) and if you have enough time to wait around until the toaster finally toasts your bread. :) The coffee is still awful but the tea is ok. The breakfast room staff could learn a lesson from the doormen though, as they are stoney-faced and not at all friendly. Not a good look so early in the morning !!! They definitely need some training in regards to replenishing empty dishes and cleaning tables after guests are finished with their b'fast.
I can still recommend the Hotel to other travellers and will probably go back many more times myself.

Room Tip: It's wonderful, to be able to open the windows if one wants to. But adjustable airconditioning w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goldfingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in September.

The hotel had funky decor in the corridors and the rooms were comfy and well appointed. Our room had a king bed, a small desk and comfy office chair and a sofa chair. The tv had many channels including several English ones. The mini bar had a few basic things in it but there was a convenience store next door anyway. The lighting in the room was a bit dim.

The staff were really helpful. Our fridge was not working and in 10 minutes it had been checked and replaced. The staff really made our visit great.

The hotel breakfast was tasty but didn't have a huge variety each day so if you were there for longer it might get a bit boring.

The shower was lovely and powerful and warm, although the bathroom could perhaps have been a bit cleaner in the corners (it wasn't dirty just not sparkling clean).

There is free wired internet in the room which I didn't try and also a computer terminal in the lobby which you can use for internet. access

It is in a great location next to Shanghai stadium. It is directly opposite a subway stop (which is 4 stops away from the expo) and a 10 minute walk up the street to XuiJiaHui shopping area and subway station.

I would definitely stay here again if I visit Shanghai and would also consider staying at this chain of hotels in other locations.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwibug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2010

We are a mature couple and have just returned from an 8 day stay in Shanghai's FX Hotel, Xujiahui. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, although there were some peculiarities. The Hotel has a somewhat outdated decor with lots of mirrors and black features. The hallways are very dimly lit. and look like something from the 1970's. They only hand out one keycard although we asked for another one, but were knocked back. On a leaflet in the room they offer about 10 different pillows, which we thought was great, but then I had to pay an extra 20 yuan (about A$3) for the pillow of my choice for the 8 nights. Seems petty, but they didn't mention on the leaflet that there was an extra charge. We requested 2 drinking glasses, which were brought promptly, but with the extra message of "just this once". Very odd !!! The room was very spacious with a most comfortable bed but only one bedside table, which meant that I had to put my wine glass and everything else on the floor. Why only one bedside table ??? There are absolutely no wardrobes in the rooms, except some hanging space behind a mirror which fitted perhaps 6-8 clothes hangers, once you took away the supplied bath robe. We tried the buffet breakfast once, but were disappointed with the choices offered. (We are quite adventurous and usually love Asian food for breakfast.) One more gripe - there was a very unpleasent smell outside the hotel during our entire stay. We couldn't quite work out if it came from the otherwise very clean hotel or some neighbouring building.
Now for the accolades: On check-in we were greeted friendly, efficiently and in English. All the staff were extremely friendly, helpful and curtious, esp. the doorman throughout our entire stay. The lighting, airconditioning, all fixtures in the bathroom, TV, writing desk, fridge and safe were in excellent working condition. We especially liked the very modern, roomy shower instead of the usual awkward hotel bathtubs. 2 small bottles of drinking water were supplied daily. The FX Hotel is directly opposite the Metro line nr. 4 which gives easy access to all of Shanghai. But taxis are plentyful and cheap anyway. The Metro station is situated in a Shopping Centre with at least 10 restaurants and several floors of small shops besides there are many more restaurants in the street right next to the hotel. Several banks and small supermarkets are everywhere. I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends but would have to warn them about the lack of storage space. (Esp. if you travel in winter with lots of warm clothes) The room was big enough to easily accommodate more storage space. Perhaps the people from FX Hotel Group will read this and give it some thought.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goldfingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Stadium
Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel
Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel
#99 of 5,105 in Shanghai
437 reviews
Changshou Road
Holiday Inn Express Putuo Shanghai
Holiday Inn Express Putuo Shangh...
#1,161 of 5,105 in Shanghai
270 reviews
Xujiahui
New East Asia Hotel
New East Asia Hotel
#1,355 of 5,105 in Shanghai
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shanghai Stadium
Shanghai Changhang Hotel
Shanghai Changhang Hotel
#2,521 of 5,105 in Shanghai
45 reviews
Xujiahui
Asset Hotel Shanghai
Asset Hotel Shanghai
#677 of 5,105 in Shanghai
301 reviews
Xujiahui
Hanting Express Shanghai Nandan Road
Hanting Express Shanghai Nandan ...
#1,235 of 5,105 in Shanghai
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FuramaXpress Hotel Xujiahui Shanghai Stadium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FuramaXpress Hotel Xujiahui Shanghai Stadium

Property: FuramaXpress Hotel Xujiahui Shanghai Stadium
Address: No.2701 Xietu Road, Xujiahui District, Shanghai 200030, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Shanghai Stadium
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,386 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — FuramaXpress Hotel Xujiahui Shanghai Stadium 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your FuramaXpress Hotel Xujiahui Shanghai Stadium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing