We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff couldn't help enough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Quintet Bed and Breakfast Guest House
Ranked #6 of 814 Shanghai B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed here 2 nights either side of a trip to Beijing and found the staff to be amazingly helpful. They booked our train tickets, organised taxis, helped with restaurant bookings and foot massage bookings. It was a quiet little oasis in a good area within walking distance to the metro station, would definitely recommend. Lots of good restaurants close by too which were indicated on a map given to us on arrival. Room was really nice and bathrooms excellent with nice toiletries, very reasonable pricing for the high quality.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Andrew_Kellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 28 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

Quintet is beautifully done and perfectly located in an area of the French concession full of individual restaurants, bars and shops. Staff are friendly and professional (and speak excellent English). The perfect hotel for couples looking for a boutique hotel at affordable prices.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SaraB468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stayed at Quintet with two other couples on a three night visit to Shanghai. We were delighted with everything. The rooms are all different and tastefully decorated. Beds and pillows were comfortable and our hosts very helpful and welcoming. The breakfast area has been recently renovated and is charming and light-filled. The bathroom products were 'high-end' and most welcome after a day exploring Shanghai. There are many local dining options within walking distance and across all budgets and tastes. We found the very best coffee was provided nearby at Baker and Spice in Anfu Lu. There is a taxi rank straight over the road at The Centre and metro stations within walking distance. I would recommend the French Concession area and Quintet as perfect destinations for a visit to a Shanghai.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Cateneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We had three rooms from Boxing Day for 3 nights and had anguished between a large hotel and this guesthouse for our first trip to Shanghai. We made the right choice as it is ideally located and very easy to relax into. Everything you want is there and the breakfast is great. The rooms are large and well equipped. The owner cannot help enough. The cafe next door is great for snacks and a late glass of wine. The roads around are packed with restaraunts , wine bars and shops. We would stay again.

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw were excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank clangers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Loved it! It's in the detail, for example I valued the porcelain tea set, dvd selection, quality bath and shower products ... the lovely breakfast and the fantastic out-of-your-way service. Thank you!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pkuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We stayed for only two days in the first floor room with a semi outdoor private space. The location is great, the staff are extremely friendly but respectful of your space, the breakfast is delicious (I was cautious about this, but it all tastes great and is filling and healthy), and the rooms are so beautiful and antique (not low quality, high quality nice historical). For many moments I debated staying in the room instead of going out on the town and reading the wonderful history books on the bookshelves. Highly recommended, especially over the corporate chains.

We went for our honeymoon, and they gave us a dozen roses in the room. I am lavishing praise on this small business because they deserve it. Very happy with our lucky chance to stumble upon it. Would stay again, and I normally never do that.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tkchunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Housed on a quiet, leafy street in the French Concession, Quintet was a great spot to stay for our first trip to Shanghai. We stayed in 'Joffre' the small room on the second floor - comfy and well appointed while it was definitely small it didn't feel too cramped for the both of us.

Breakfast was a choice of dishes and sides made fresh to order - the scrambled eggs were fantastic.

A lot of the other reviews have mentioned what a help the manager Kenny was - I would completely agree. When we arrived a found that Kenny was away for the first few days of our stay, but he rang us on arrival to ensure we had arrived ok and had left a fantastic map full of nearby restaurant and bar recommendations in our room for us - super helpful and we had great meals at a few of the list - Citizen Szechuan and Noodle Bull were standouts.

Quintet is perfectly positioned as the French Concession is full of great hole-in-the wall restaurants as well as contemporary dining and bars. There are also lots of great boutiques and the metro is about a 5 minute walk from the B&B so they city is at your doorstep.

Would definitely recommend this place for anyone looking for a more personal, friendly accommodation option.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kate A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
URBN Boutique Shanghai
URBN Boutique Shanghai
#49 of 5,206 in Shanghai
621 reviews
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#5 of 5,206 in Shanghai
2,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jing'an
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
#7 of 5,206 in Shanghai
1,533 reviews
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Former French Concession
Twelve at Hengshan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quintet Bed and Breakfast Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quintet Bed and Breakfast Guest House

Address: No.808 Changle Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Former French Concession , Huaihai Road
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 814 B&Bs / Inns in Shanghai
Price Range: £89 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quintet is a boutique B&B located in the historic French Concession neighborhood of Shanghai. Stay at one of our six stylish, individually designed rooms in this three-story 1939 garden lane house and experience the bygone elegance of Old Shanghai. All rooms come with private baths, satellite TV, DVD players, and iPod-ready stereo. Enjoy gourmet breakfast in our downstairs lounge dining room or simply relax on the rooftop terrace. Knowledgeable staff can assist with special requests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Quintet Bed and Breakfast Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quintet Bed And Breakfast Guest House Hotel Shanghai
Quintet b&b Guest House

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing