We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #13 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Evanston
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 15 September 2011

This hotel near the river in the Pu Dong section of Shanghai was wonderful. The rooms were large and well appointed with a great bathroom with a rain-shower and sideways shower heads on the wall. The bed was comfortable and non-smoking rooms were available. Staff was helpful, although English language skills were a bit weak at times, although this did not cause many issues.

Morning breakfast reasonable.

No review would be complete with a couple of quibbles: there were too few employees in the restaurant and the check-out desk in the morning, which were peak times of use- this was distressing if you needed to get going in the morning

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evanston_Jeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    680
    263
    83
    25
    9
See reviews for
111
138
44
524
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

For this holiday trip my agent choosed for us a newcoming hotel in the well known Pudong area: the Gran Meliá. The location of the hotel is fantastic, a short walk from the Oriental Pearl Tower, the Aquarium, the River Cruise terminal, the underground, etc... even the City Tour Double Deck Bus runs in front of the hotel.
Lobby is really beautiful, our huge room had lovely views of the city and one of the best bathrooms I,ve experienced: tub, two sinks, and a marvelous spa shower. The Club Level is very confortable and the breakfast buffet is nearly as expansive as the one in the cafeteria downstairs. I strongly advise not to miss a drink on the 30th floor while enjoying a wonderful view of the city and the river, nor a swim in the pool ... same view.
As spanish citizens we felt the confort of being addressed in our language everywhere in the hotel; we had dinner at one of the restaurants, El Albero, where the cuisine was like being at home.
Best wishes to this new hotel, hoping to go back as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views, and the Club Level is an excellent value,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trufa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

I chose this hotel for our stay in Shanghai based on a special offer thru Melia Hotels (upgraded room, discounted price). Ended up staying on their "Red Leve" Executive Floor - upgraded rooms, VIP Lounge, expansive free breakfast buffet, free cocktails &* snacks in the evening. Terrific value for money.

The hotel is gorgeous, and the rooms exceptional comfortable. Location is in the Pudong section of town, across the rover from the Bund. Its a new hotel and some taxi drivers had difficulty finding it...so be sure to ask in advance!

Finally the staff. From the folks in the Red Level Lounge to the Front Desk and Concierge - all were warm, friendly and exceptionally helpful. The Lounge staff gave us a gift when we checked out - exceedingly thoughtful.

I can;t imagine staying anywhere else in Shanghai. In fact, this hotel is good enough to make me want to visit again soon.

Room Tip: Get upgraded to Red Level - even with a surcharge (we paid $60) it was well worth it for the breakfa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WallyOU812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
115 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

My friend and I actually wanted to book a hotel at Puxi, but we are now both really glad that we chose this hotel at Pudong at the end. The hotel is within walking distance from the Lujiazui station which is 2 stops way from the People's Square interchange, which makes travelling by train really convenient. It's also near a really huge shopping mall - Super Brand Mall - which has many restaurants and cafes at different levels.

We really liked the furnishing of the room as well. The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom was well designed. Everything was modern, aesthetically pleasing and functional at the same time.

Although we had the city view, we were still very pleased with the window view. I loved the huge window!

Service-wise, the staff members were friendly and helpful. My friend who does not speak Chinese appreciated that most of the staff spoke English. Booking a day tour at the hotel was convenient and Grayline was a really good travelling company with great tour guides.

Overall, a really great hotel for a comfortable tour experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AMNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 5 nights at the beginning of August 2011 (two friends sharing a twin room - Deluxe Bund). From the moment you walk in there is a feeling of luxury and great service. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. The surroundings inside seem like some of the special effects out of the Avatar movie. This hotel is fitting of it's high ranking on Trip Advisor.

LOCATION:
The location is a little out of the way of the main shopping and some tourist attractions, and seems to be frequented by business people due to its location (although there is a very large shopping centre with brand labels as well as some other attractions to be seen on foot eg Ocean Acquarium and oriental Pearl TV tower) Taxi rides and metro was not expensive ranging from 50c per ride for Metro to $3-6AUD by taxi to get to most attractions. On a busy day, I would recommend the metro. The bund river views from the hotel are gorgeous. The hotel is close to Line 2 metro, which is also the airport main line which is convenient. Taxi is a fairly cheap option from the airport but takes 40+ mins and if you arrive in peak hour, it is a little frustrating. We used a combo of the Maglev and a taxi which took less than half an hour.

ROOM:
The room was very luxurious and fitting of 5 stars and extremely spacious when comparing it to most hotels. The twin beds were close to a double bed in size, the pillows and mattress/bed covers fantastic to sleep in (you often find hard beds in Asian hotels). The room had climate controlled air conditioning and this was very quiet. We could easily adjust the temperature as we needed. This was a real plus as most hotels either have cooling that cannot be adjusted, or it is not calibrated to a temperature/noise that is conducive to a good nights sleep. Curtains and sheer blind are operated electronically.
The TV is a good size and cable is included with movie channels and CNN etc so you can watch some English speaking shows if you want to. The safe was a good size, as was the wardrobe/hanging space. Another plus - a big chest of 4 drawers so you could properly unpack and find your clothes easy.

The negative on the room: just the fridge - it was small and the temperature was set pretty high when we arrived, but there is an ice machine on each floor which is easily accessible and we used it a lot.

Water is not drinkable in Shanghai so you are required to buy it (although the room supplies 2 complimentary bottles per day)

THE BATHROOM:
The bathroom was very generous in size. The tiles are fully heated, there is a large shower with 3 different styles of shower heads to choose from. There are double basins and a separate bath within this bathroom area. The only downside for two friends sharing together - the bathroom/toilet is a little see through, so we had to work around this issue.

The negative on the bathroom - the hairdryer is hard wired to the bathroom, so one of us could not shower and the other use the hairdryer after their shower (again just an issue for two girls sharing together, and this can easily be overcome by bringing a travel hairdryer - we did not).


BREAKFAST:
What can I say, the buffet breakfast is pretty amazing. It caters to so many tastes and nationalities. The pastries were a real stand out, as was the Eastern menu. The Western hot breakfast, was not always hot, so this is definitely something the restaurant could work on. Had the Western breakfast been consistently hot, I would say it is easily one of the best buffet breakfasts I have been to. I'm also sure that if I would have mentioned it to staff it would have been rectified. Espresso coffees were available and included in the menu.

OTHER BARS/RESTAURANTS:
Service was fantastic at the Italian and Spanish restaurant as well as the bar on the top floor (what amazing views). Pricing reflects eating at a mid priced restaurant in Australia but with 5 star quality and service -ie it was not ridiculously expensive, but not cheap. One day when we needed a break from the local food, we ate at the Italian restaurant - shared a pizza for entree and had an Angus steak with veges and 2 soft drinks - this was around $90AUD and was of 5 star quality and portion sizes large (although we should have ordered wine or a cocktail - the coke was $8AUD a glass about $1 cheaper than alcohol!!). The bottled water at the restaurant is also a small trap, one night we got caught out ordering two bottles of water and they were charged at $10AUD a bottle. We learned from this and did not buy water from the restaurant again. Interestingly the bars sell cheaper water (about $3-4AUD each). Maybe the restaurants should follow this example.

THE POOL:
We had a look at the pool but ran out of time for a swim. It is free for guests, but remember your bathing cap - this is a requirement. Unfortunately it is not a pool to lounge and have a drink at the bar. The only drinks allowed up there were OJ/water. Nevertheless it also has a spectacular view and beautiful surroundings.

STAFF:
Very friendly and accommodating of any need. We had a drink at the downstairs bar and our order was confused because the gentleman who served us could not understand our request very well (this was the only time). It was rectified promptly and without hesitation or charge.

CURRENCY EXCHANGE:
Done at the hotel and free of commission. It was the same exchange I would have received from my bank at home and did not cost extra like most places when you travel abroad. Apparently currency exchange is heavily regulated in China so you do not need to worry about getting ripped off. I took a combination of AUD and RMB with me to China and this was adequate to get by (with the help of a credit card as well). It is easy enough to find ATM's as well and these are open all the time.

INTERNET:
Free wifi from the lobby. I did not look into the laptop charges (if any) as I had taken an iPad. Connectivity was a little slow, but not terrible. I think this might be a reflection of China in general, not the hotels service.

WOULD I STAY AGAIN?
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this hotel and would return to it again the next time I visit Shanghai.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller4C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

The Gran Melia is located within a few steps to the Shanghai TV tower & the Super Brand Mall. It is a newly built 5 star hotel. It deserves all 5 stars! The staff has been very very polite and helpful. The lobby of the hotel is very stylish - Spanish and Chinese influences combined. The room has been comfortable and clean. The bathroom has had heated walls something I have never seen before...very nice! We have had a room with city view, there you could see the gigantic Jin Mao tower and all the other spectacular skyscrapers. The metro station is only a 5 minute walk away. Simply perfect.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CositaBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

I have stayed here a couple of times, the hotel is superb! Excellent large rooms with many amenities, good restaurants and huge spread of breakfast! Also this is located in the heart of Pudong district!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sagro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#25 of 5,059 in Shanghai
2,316 reviews
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai

Property: Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
Address: No.1288 Lujiazui Ring Road, Pudong District, Shanghai 200120, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#13 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#13 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#26 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#54 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#114 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 686
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai is centrally located in the Lujiazui financial and trade section of the prestigious Pudong district and offers sweeping views of the Huangpu River and the Shanghai skyline. Within walking distance to the Oriental Pearl Tower and only a short drive away from the Jinmao Tower, The Bund, and other well-known landmarks of Shanghai. The Pudong and Hongqiao airports can also be reached within 45 minutes. The Hotel’s design combines contemporary and Oriental features, where guests can enjoy a variety of cuisines including Chinese, Mediterranean, Spanish and an international buffet at Elements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Shanghai Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing