We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deluxe with a capital "D"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #15 of 5,104 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Iowa City, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Deluxe with a capital "D"”
Reviewed 13 December 2011

The Gran Melia Shanghai located in the new financial Pudong area of the city is truly a deluxe hotel. The famous Pearl Tower is located near-by and is a short walk from the hotel.
Rooms are large, beautifully appointed, extremely comfortable and have fabulous views out of oversize windows. River view rooms allow for watching the amazing boat traffic on the Haungpu River. Bathrooms are great--showers have multiple sprays and spray locations--very nice.
Service was flawless; public places impressive; wonderful restaurants. The breakfast buffet was huge and delicious--everything from Western to Asian choices. A 5 star experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank koser5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    716
    272
    88
    26
    9
See reviews for
118
148
47
552
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Stayed here in early December for work. The room was very nice, I had room 512, and though low, had a good view of the river and the park. The room and bathroom were both very clean, and there is a safe which can hold a laptop.

Check in was smooth, and though the room was not ready, they were very accomodating with me for taking the bag, and letting me use the gym to change before darting off to the office.

It was extremely cold while I was there and the room was nice & warm. I did not have to adjust anything.

The location is pretty good. You are close to the tower with the three circles (forgot the name) and about 15 minutes walk from Super Brand mall, which is enormous. Also, there are quite a few restaurants in the hotel, but if you have cabin fever and want to get out, there is a decent food court next door, downstairs in front of the DBS building. If you keep walking that direction, you will find a strip mall type of place with mostly Japanese restaurants, and pretty much across the road from that a McDonald's.

To get to the various buildings nearby, like the giant bottle opener, you will be better off walking. The way the roads are, you have to take many routes to get around that immediate area.

I ordered a burger from room service. It was very delicious, though the person who took the order was a bit terse. Could've done without that. Oh, and no cheese on the burger, so if you want it, ask for it.

Check-out was a bit of a hassle. At first there was only two people working, and I was directed to stand behind someone who was clearly in disagreement with the man behind the counter. While two other people, plus the original person was processed through the other line. Eventually, I was checked out, but a single queue would be better as there is someone there directing traffic anyways. It took almost 20 minutes from getting out of the elevator, so plan accordingly.

The luggage / concierge staff were the absolute best, fetched me a cab in rush hour and set it aside for me while I changed out of my suit back in to travel clothes. The meter did not even run during that time!.

One item to note, the power seems iffy. You'll notice a wobble on the elevator button lights at least on the fifth floor. In my room, the desk light (on the arm) would go on, fade, then go off, and repeat. It even popped once. The handle bar type light above it was not much more stable. Oddly, the rest of the lights in the room were fine.

Room Tip: Rooms ending in '12' at least will have nice river views. Note the power issues with 512 in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Azhkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

I wish all hotels could be lie Gran Melia Shanghai. They have electronic curtains, top of the line staff, and a free breakfast that is out of this world (offering everything from Asian to American). The value of the breakfast and service is easily $100 USD. The spa (fee portion) and the gym and pool area is simply amazing. We felt like this is above average hotel. We have a river view, your room has a door bell, the walls are wood (something like this) panels, a variety of lighting in the room, fantastic decor, state of the art bathrooms (primarily of tile and glass)..... We felt like celebrities. If anyone give this hotel less that Excellent, they are obviously use to staying in a palace. This is as close to excellent that I have seen (compared to the Ritz, Hyatt, Hilton, etc.) .

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antoinette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Jersey, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights on 11/27/11. Included breakfast looked good but most of the food was only luke warm or cold. The heat lamps are only so good. Order the eggs or noodle soup for hot, fresh food. We did not try the hotel restaurants because the menu looked expensive. No other restaurants in the area unless you walk to the mall by the subway stop, which was a good 10 min walk to subway line 2, Lougazina stop. Was not feeling the love at this hotel. You had to pry information. We did better down the street at the tourist stop by the Pearl Tower who told us about a hop on/hop off bus for 30 RMB in front of the aquarium.
The room was beautiful, bed was great, and pool was refreshing when the guy was not following you around the spa floor. I’m sure you could find just as nice a room at a better price in a better location and friendlier atmosphere.

Room Tip: If you do not want to spend big bucks on a boat cruise, take the ferry for a view/ride for 2 RMB.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank labern116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Stayed there last October. We caught a special offer having a huge suite by the price of a Grand Deluxe. Location is great, you're few steps from the Oriental Tower and from the upcoming Mandarin Oriental and the whole development they're building around there. Something that does not match is the modern glass building with their 'provençal' decor. All suite furniture made me feel as in an Ashley Furniture showroom. Lobby areas and room bedrooms are all covered with dark marble, sort of elegant but senior feeling. The shower was the best of all. Amenities were so so, I thought we're gonna get Aveda like from the other Melia hotels but no, they were Chopard ---who can tell them that Hermes, Bulgari and some other High-style brands don't have to mess with body cleaning matters, they're so dry and very scented---
Breakfast menu was the same and some kind poor in both levels, the only difference is that in Red Level the have salmon and cured jam and a 24 hr Coffee-sandwiches bar.
For the same price I would've stayed at the Hyatt in the bund, Shangri la Kerry Hotel or Indigo, they we're beautiful. If you have some more budget, definitely the Ritz Carlton on Park Hyatt, they're new, clean and trendy decoration.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberto T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Had a fabuloius 3 days at this hotel. The rooms were spacious and imaculately clean. The hotel had so many little details that made it stand out. Asthetically it was really lovely. The staff were friendly and very helpful and the rate was reasonable. Location was perfect for our visit.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerlinaPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Does anybody know where I can read the article about the Excellence Certificate award given by Trip advisor to Gran Meliá Shanghai Hotel in October?..I love this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eureka38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#26 of 5,104 in Shanghai
2,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Lujiazui
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai

Property: Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
Address: 1288 Lujiazui Ring Road | Pudong District, Shanghai 200120, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#13 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#15 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#26 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#54 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#102 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 686
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai is centrally located in the Lujiazui financial and trade section of the prestigious Pudong district and offers sweeping views of the Huangpu River and the Shanghai skyline. Within walking distance to the Oriental Pearl Tower and only a short drive away from the Jinmao Tower, The Bund, and other well-known landmarks of Shanghai. The Pudong and Hongqiao airports can also be reached within 45 minutes. The Hotel’s design combines contemporary and Oriental features, where guests can enjoy a variety of cuisines including Chinese, Mediterranean, Spanish and an international buffet at Elements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Shanghai Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing