We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
Nearby Hotels
US$145
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$269
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$215
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$145
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Peninsula Shanghai(Shanghai)
US$540
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$480
The Peninsula
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$278
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$197
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Jin Jiang Hotel(Shanghai)
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
NewWorldHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Kunlun Jing An(Shanghai)
US$191
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,339)
Filter reviews
1,339 results
Traveller rating
899
302
94
32
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
899
302
94
32
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspanish restaurantthe pearltop floorgreat hotelthe financial districttv towerexecutive floorsuper brand mallriver viewswimming poolspent nightsroom was largespecial thanksgreat roombusiness tripacross the riverbreakfast buffet
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
542 - 547 of 1,339 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2012

In my second time in Gran Melia Shanghai I confirm what great hotel is,but the most important was the service in the Red Level service.
Very good breakfast and coctails at evening are superb.
I highly recomend this hotel.

Room Tip: Became MAS member and get upgrade view to the Bund
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcelo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy W, Manager at Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2012

Dear Marcelo O,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a review on trip Advisor.

We are glad to know you had a nice stay in Gran Melia Shanghai and much appreciates you give us such positive comments regarding our Red Level Service and products; actually they will be transmitted to our staff for them to keep working with the excellence you deserve.

We will be pleased if you could let me know about your next visit to Shanghai, it will a pleasure to receive you again.

My best regards,

Tracy Wang
Customer Service Manager
Tracy.wang@granmeliashanghai.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

If you are looking for somewhere to stay near the Pearl across from the bund there is no better place to stay, nothing a problem, great rooms and terrific restaurants - ask about the Red Level - stunning views and very affordable

Room Tip: Become a MAS member and ask about special rates for being a member
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy W, Manager at Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

Dear Keith H,

Thank you for your inspiring feedback on Trip advisor and we are delighted to know that the Gran Melia Shanghai experience exceeded your expectations. At Gran Melia Shanghai are passionate about delivering superior guest experiences and strive to do our best. It is through delighted customers that a hotel gains its true recognition.

We look forward to welcoming you back and to the opportunity of serving you again.

My best regards,

Tracy Wang
Customer Service Manager
Tracy.wang@granmeliashanghai.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

I stayed at Grand Melia for a business trip and I found it a great place, nice and spacious rooms especially the bathroom.
The only thing I have to point is the water pressure of the shower...too slow!It took me ages the first morning to find the right way to take a shower as they have 3 different shower tools but all of them with a very slow pressure.
Great service, everybody speaks English or at least try to and in china is not that common.
Try the Spanish restaurant where the Cuban manager Ricardo will make you feel welcome and will suggest you the best tapas!amazing!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luciferas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy W, Manager at Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2012

Dear Luciferas,

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor.

We really appreciate the nice comments regarding our hotel and service; actually they will be transmitted to our entire team for them to keep working with the excellence you deserve. Regarding the disadvantage you mentioned in your review, I am sorry that the shower was not what you had expected, we will go through them with the manager of the related department, and take immediate follow up actions. Be assured that Gran Melia Shanghai Management will never cease in their efforts to constantly improve the quality of service and product provided.

We will be pleased if you could let us know about your next visit to Shanghai, it will a pleasure to receive you again.

Kind regards,

Tracy Wang
Customer Service Manager
Tracy.wang@granmeliashanghai.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

I come to PuDong quarterly for my business with the financial sector and always stay at the Gran Melia. The hotel has a great location and I can walk to most meetings (when it is not too hot and humid). I always stay on the Red (Club) Level as I like the privacy of eating breakfast and dinner on the 28th floor, which is never crowded like some of the restaurants in the city are. I always try to get a room with a view of the Bund river, which is quite spectacular.
Great service and fabulous spa and swimming pool on 30F to exercise and unwind.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy W, Manager at Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

Dear John E,

Thank you so much for your note on Trip Advisor concerning your stay at Gran Melia Shanghai.

We are delighted that you like the services of the hotel and its team. At Gran Melia are passionate about delivering Real, Exceptional, Difference guest experiences and strive to do our best. It is through delighted customers that a hotel gains its true recognition.

Thank you again for acknowledging our efforts. We hope to see you again soon.

My best regards,

Tracy Wang
Guest Service Manager
Tracy.wang@granmeliashanghai.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We were at the Gran Melia Pudong for 4 nights. This hotel and the staff were great, just great ! If you have the priviliege to meet with Stanley on the 30th floor for breakfast, you are lucky, Say hello to him :-)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JF G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy W, Manager at Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

Dear JF G,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a review on Tripadvisor. I am very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, which makes me feel very proud of our property service and staff who contribute to create a great experience for you.

Thank you again for selecting Gran Melia Shanghai, we are looking forward to receive you in another future.

Best Regards,

Tracy Wang
Customer Service Manager
Tracy.wang@granmeliashanghai.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews