We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Superb Property but don't expect five star service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #13 of 5,035 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level Contributor
121 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“A Superb Property but don't expect five star service”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Our stay at the Gran Melia Shanghai was mixed. The hotel itself is impressive with a superb lobby area, lounge bar and restaurant. It is close to the finanical hub of Shanghai and a logical choice for a business visit to this fabulous city.

The rooms are very well appointed. We stayed on the 19th Floor overlook the river with views of the Bund. The room was large with a king size bed and medium sized bathroom. Everything was very comfortable. We were promised free internet as part of the package but it took us a couple of visits from the IT staff to get this working. Both IT people were very diligent but it was a disappointment that the WIFI did not work and we needed a router installed in our room to get service. This took about two hours in total.

The room was very clean although there had clearly been a spill of some description on the carpet and despite their best endeavours, the stain was still obvious. The shower had a number of different settings. Beware of the jets in the shower. They are extremely powerful (almost painful) and caused the floor of the bathroom to flood - clearly a design flaw.

The Hotel has a lovely bar on the top floor of the building with a magical view of the Pearl Orient Tower. The drinks are VERY pricey so be warned. We arrived at 12.45am for a nighcap to be told that the bar had closed despite the advertised closing time being 1am. We had to complain to a manager to get service.

Breakfast is served in the lobby restaurant and that too is expensive. My advice is to walk next door to the DBS plaza. There is a lovely cafe called Sunflower that opens around 8am every morning and is half the cost of the Hotel.

As the property is located in the new financial district of Pudong, it is great if you are in Shanghai on business but not so good if you are there on vacation. We were there on vacation. Most of the attractions in Shanghai are on the Bund side of the river and this means that you have to take a taxi to get anywhere. That's fine so long as the taxi driver is prepared to take you to the other side of the river and that seems to depend on the hour of day and the day of the week. Friday nights are to be avoided at all costs. It took us nearly an hour to find a taxi willing to go to the French Concession area of Shanghai. The staff on the forecourt of the hotel were less than helpful. None of them seemed at all concerened. When taxis arrived, they seeemed to allocate them on an arbitrary basis and twice we were left waiting while others were whisked into a waiting cab. We were left standing on the forecourt for half an hour before I complained to the duty manager. Only then were we offered a drink on the house and a sincere apology for the inconvenience. The bellman then came in to tell us a taxi was waiting - just as our drink arrived. When we went outside, the taxi had gone. It seems in this town nobody waits. We went back inside to wait and our drinks had been tidied away. The possibility of delays is really worth bearing in mind if you have to meet others for dinner on the other side of town. Our entire evening was inconvenienced. The Duty Manager insisted on our room number to make amends but when we checked out the following morning there was no credit or consideration. This was very disappointing. Worse, we had the same issue getting a cab as it was Saturday and there were very few taxis in that part of town. When one arrived, the forecourt staff forgot that we had our luggage on a trolley in the foyer and the taxi drove off with another patron.

The Hotel has the potential to be a really lovely property but it is let down but over the top pricing and very poor quality staff with no English on the forecourt of the Hotel. A little more attention to detail in staff training and some repositioning on pricing would go a long way. If you are visiting Shanghai for leisure, I would recommend staying on the other side of the river as the inconvenience of travelling back and forth and the frequent delays can be very disconcerting.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 247Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy W, Manager at Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Dear 247Travel,

Thank you so much for your note on Trip Advisor concerning your stay at Gran Melia Shanghai.

I am sorry that the wifi and service were not what you had expected. I would like to apologize for the inconveniences you have experienced in our hotel. We will take follow up actions to avoid same case happen.I hope those issues did not totally ruin your impression of our hotel. Be assured that Gran Melia Shanghai Management will never cease in their efforts to constantly improve the quality of service and product provided.

We sincerely appreciate the gentility to bring your experience to us. It will be a pleasure receives you again.

Kindly regards,

Tracy Wang
Customer Service Manager
Tracy.wang@granmeliashanghai.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    664
    257
    82
    25
    9
See reviews for
108
135
42
511
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

The hotel appeared very new and decor very impressive. Our room was excellent with views of the river and to the Bund on the 29th floor. We opted for Red Level at time of booking and the lounge was also very welcoming and relaxing and decorated to perfection. Although the restaurants were not busy, the Italian restaurant was excellent and we returned there a second night with a guest. Walking distance to the Shopping Malls (including the underground Apple Store) and right next to the Oriental Pearl Tower. Level of service was outstanding throughout the hotel and the Red Level Manageress was very friendly and helpful at all times. We will definitely use this hotel again in the future as we travel here every year to the Furniture Expo. My partner has stayed in most of the top hotels in Shanghai but rates this the best hotel by far.

Room Tip: Red Level is excellent and i would thoroughly recommend the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shirley w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy W, Manager at Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Dear Shirley W,

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted that you found the hotel, its architecture and its service up to your expectations. It is very important for our daily performance to receive your valuable opinion about our service, we really appreciate the nice comments regarding our Italian Restaurant and Red Level, actually they will be transmitted to our Team for them to keep working with the elegant and excellence you deserve.

Please let us know about your next visit to Shanghai, it will be a pleasure to receive you again.
Best regards,

Tracy Wang
Customer Service Manager
Tracy.wang@granmeliashanghai.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patras, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We stayed at Gran Melia at July 2012. It is an amazing hotel, the best I have ever visited. Our room was at the 20th floor with City view. The room was large, clean and the view of skyscrapers was amazing, especialy at the night. The swimming pool and the spa are located at the 30th floor, and and provide a spectacular view overlooking the river and the Bund. This hotel is really GREAT !

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mparask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy W, Manager at Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Dear Mparask,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such inspiring feedback on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you found the hotel, its architecture up to your expectations.We will transmit your opinions to our staff, in return the commitment that we will keep working with excellence, doing our best to make future customers feel as comfortable as you did.

Thank you again for selecting Gran Melia Shanghai, we are looking forward to receive you in another future stays.

Kind regards,

Tracy Wang
Customer Service Manager
Tracy.wang@granmeliashanghai.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

It was a great experience staying in Gran Melia. Not only the hardware such as room, restaurant, swimming pool, and location, but the service impressed me greatly. I would definitely recommend it to my families and friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JQ Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy W, Manager at Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Dear JQ Z,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We would like to appreciate you sharing those positive comments with us and we are delighted that you found the hotel, its facilities and its services up to your expectations. We’ll keep working with passion for excellence in our service and meeting customer satisfaction.

Please let us know about your next visit to Shanghai, it will be a pleasure to receive you again.

Best regards,

Tracy Wang
Customer Service Manager
Tracy.wang@granmeliashanghai.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

What a wonderful experience. The red level bar staff treated us like a king and queen. What a great view of the river! Full moon rising over the horizon with river cruise boats made the happy hour very special!

Room Tip: Choose the deluxe and red level
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DLR631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy W, Manager at Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Dear DLR631,

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to know that the Red Level experience exceeded your expectations. As mentioned by you, we pride ourselves in giving each and every aspect of the hotel an individual attention. Our attention to detail enables us to provide Real, Exceptional, Different Service.

I thank you again for sparing your time to write. We look forward to welcome you back at The Gran Melia Shanghai!

Best Regards,

Tracy Wang
Customer Service Manager
Tracy.wang@granmeliashanghai.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Rooms were well laid out and very nice. WiFi was good. Three restaurants in the hotel catering to different tastes. The usual breakfast buffet with Western and Chinese selections, both good. Not far from the Bund by subway, which was easy to get to. The staff was very helpful and courteous, although the bar lobby had difficulties with food orders. The bed was very very nice with overstuffed quilted covers and fat cozy pillows.

The spa and pool require you to bring a swim cap, or you can buy one.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MHeiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy W, Manager at Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Dear MHerser,

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate the nice comments regarding our hotel facility, product and service; actually they will be transmitted to our staff for them to keep working with the excellence you deserve. We have also noted your mention that it’s difficult for food orders in the lobby lounge, we will go through with the respective department head and take follow up actions, we are ensure it won’t happen again.

We will be pleased if you could let us know about you and your family next visit to Shanghai, it wills a pleasure to receive you again.

My best regards,

Tracy Wang
Customer Service Manager
Tracy.wang@granmeliashanghai.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ningbo, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2012

I came to shnaghai for business,and lucky booked this hotel. It has a good location and you can enjoy the beautiful scenery of huangpu river ,sometimes i came to 28th to have drinks and took some rest.The staff there are always smiling and friendly.

Room Tip: please book the red level rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank he o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy W, Manager at Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Dear He o,

Thank you for your valuable feedback on Trip Advisor!

We are delighted to note that you felt comfortable and well looked after by the team. Your comments have been shared with the entire team for whom this will be a tremendous source of inspiration. At Gran Melia are passionate about delivering Real, Exceptional, Difference guest experiences and strive to do our best.

Thank you for recommending us and we eagerly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

My best regards,

Tracy Wang
Customer Service Manager
Tracy.wang@granmeliashanghai.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#26 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,292 reviews
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai

Property: Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
Address: No.1288 Lujiazui Ring Road, Pudong District, Shanghai 200120, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#13 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#13 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#26 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#54 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#106 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 686
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai is centrally located in the Lujiazui financial and trade section of the prestigious Pudong district and offers sweeping views of the Huangpu River and the Shanghai skyline. Within walking distance to the Oriental Pearl Tower and only a short drive away from the Jinmao Tower, The Bund, and other well-known landmarks of Shanghai. The Pudong and Hongqiao airports can also be reached within 45 minutes. The Hotel’s design combines contemporary and Oriental features, where guests can enjoy a variety of cuisines including Chinese, Mediterranean, Spanish and an international buffet at Elements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Shanghai Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing