We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really glad we chose this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #17 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
144 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Really glad we chose this hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

Gran Melia is modern, clean and classy. Our room was large, comfortable and had everything we could possibly need. Outstanding features for us were the luxurious bathroom with separate bath and shower, and the super-comfortable mattress.
An easy few minutes to walk to the nearest mall or to get on the subway means the location is just right Head out the back way and you're right on the river.
We really can't recommend this hotel enough - we had a great stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meowf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy W, Manager at Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Dear meowf,

Thank you for your inspiring feedback on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to note that you have had an enjoyable stay with us and the bathroom, sleeping experience was to your satisfaction. At Gran Melia are passionate about delivering Real, Exceptional, Difference guest experiences and strive to do our best. It is through delighted customers that a hotel gains its true recognition.

Looking forward to welcoming you back for many more renewing moments.

Best Regards,

Tracy Wang
Customer Service Manager
Tracy.wang@granmeliashanghai.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    627
    249
    80
    25
    9
See reviews for
95
127
41
498
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

The room was spacious, modern and well kept. It is within walking distance to the subway station. Only subway stop to the main shopping area....Nanjin Road. Within walking distance to the Pearl of the Orient tower and the IFC shopping mall. The swimming pool and fitness facility on the top floor has a stunning view of the city and the river.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy W, Manager at Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Dear Charlie To,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a review on Trip advisor.

It is always pleasant to receive comments like this one, which makes us feel very proud of our property service and staff who contribute to the wonderful experience. We will keep working with quality and excellence doing our best to make other guests feel as comfortable as you deserve.

Please contact us whenever you plan to visit Shanghai again!

My best regards,

Tracy Wang
Customer Service Manager
Tracy.wang@granmeliashanghai.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012 via mobile

i have stayed here already a couple of times - stunning architecture, great rooms, inparticular the ones with river views, outstanding food buffet with chinese and western food ( breakfast, dinner). In comparison to other Shanghai hotels spa still has some room for improvement. they have very limited capacities and facilities are not very large. centrally located in Pudong and close to the Bund

Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank y s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy W, Manager at Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Dear y s,

Thank you for your kind words on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted that you found the hotel, its architecture and its restaurants up to your expectations. Your sentiments have been shared by the entire team at The Gran Melia Shanghai. The Chef is thrilled to read your comments.

Thank you again for sparing your time to write. We look forward to welcome you back at The Gran Melia Shanghai in the near future.

Best Regards,

Tracy Wang
Customer Service Manager
Tracy.wang@granmeliashanghai.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

A nice new hotel but missing some details for their services and design for the guest room. The lighting is poor. The standing shower was in an odd position, door seems not shutting well. Breakfast was so so.

Room Tip: Most rooms come with a nice view at the Bund. Try to get a room with view towards the Bund.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnson L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy W, Manager at Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Dear Johnson L,

Thank you very much for taking part of your time in letting us knows your opinion about your stay in Gran Melia Shanghai. I am sorry that the room amenities and breakfast were not up your expectation. I hope that you will give us a chance to renew your confidence in us.We appreciate if you contact us for your next visit to Gran Melia Shanghai, it will be a pleasure to receive you again.

My best regards,

Tracy Wang
Customer Service Manager
Tracy.wang@granmeliashanghai.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Great location (5 minutes cab ride from JinMao Tower), great views of the Bund but is it a good value?

Room:
My room was on the 22nd floor and had views of the Bund - excellent. It was a quiet room but the biggest bummer was that the wi-fi does not work. Even the Ethernet chord did not provide signals...a big let-down. The room itself was large enough for a family.

Restaurants:
Breakfast: at the coffee shop was good but I stuck to cereal and milk...not sure how the eggs and waffles tasted. Juice seemed to be out of the can....I was expecting freshly squeezed.

Dinner: I ate out most of the nights however, got a chance to sample the hotel fare one evening. The hotel has a Chinese cuisine and a Spanish cuisine restaurant, a coffee shop and a Cuban themed bar and an excellent lounge bar on the 30th floor. If you want the views of the Bund, the lounge bar is the place to be. Ask for a non-smoking section if you want...on my first night I learned it the hard way. The wi-fi works well in the lounge but the bummer is that the menu choices in "wine by the glass" are limited.

The Spanish restaurant has a few good tapas options….I had the octopus (it was cold) but the garlic shrimp was excellent. I skipped the main course and then was sold on the dessert….a milk pudding. It was an average preparation – not very high in sugar (nice)….but the rice did not seem completely done. Again “wine by the glass” options were not encouraging.

Amenities
I am most concerned by the Gym....good treadmill options, elliptical but NO bike options. A huge surprise! And the worst part - no wi-fi access. This is almost a given these days.

Overall, I am not sure if I will come back to the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a bund facing room...the lower floors bund facing room are just as nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueSky411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy W, Manager at Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Dear BlueSky411,

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor.

I appreciate some of the kind words you had to say about our property. I am sorry that the wifi and some amenities were not what you had expected. I hope that you will give us a chance to renew your confidence in us. I hope the next time your travels bring you to Shanghai; you will reach out to me directly so I may assist with your accommodations.

Kindly regards,

Tracy Wang
Customer Service Manager
Tracy.wang@granmeliashanghai.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Our stay at the Gran Melia Shanghai was mixed. The hotel itself is impressive with a superb lobby area, lounge bar and restaurant. It is close to the finanical hub of Shanghai and a logical choice for a business visit to this fabulous city.

The rooms are very well appointed. We stayed on the 19th Floor overlook the river with views of the Bund. The room was large with a king size bed and medium sized bathroom. Everything was very comfortable. We were promised free internet as part of the package but it took us a couple of visits from the IT staff to get this working. Both IT people were very diligent but it was a disappointment that the WIFI did not work and we needed a router installed in our room to get service. This took about two hours in total.

The room was very clean although there had clearly been a spill of some description on the carpet and despite their best endeavours, the stain was still obvious. The shower had a number of different settings. Beware of the jets in the shower. They are extremely powerful (almost painful) and caused the floor of the bathroom to flood - clearly a design flaw.

The Hotel has a lovely bar on the top floor of the building with a magical view of the Pearl Orient Tower. The drinks are VERY pricey so be warned. We arrived at 12.45am for a nighcap to be told that the bar had closed despite the advertised closing time being 1am. We had to complain to a manager to get service.

Breakfast is served in the lobby restaurant and that too is expensive. My advice is to walk next door to the DBS plaza. There is a lovely cafe called Sunflower that opens around 8am every morning and is half the cost of the Hotel.

As the property is located in the new financial district of Pudong, it is great if you are in Shanghai on business but not so good if you are there on vacation. We were there on vacation. Most of the attractions in Shanghai are on the Bund side of the river and this means that you have to take a taxi to get anywhere. That's fine so long as the taxi driver is prepared to take you to the other side of the river and that seems to depend on the hour of day and the day of the week. Friday nights are to be avoided at all costs. It took us nearly an hour to find a taxi willing to go to the French Concession area of Shanghai. The staff on the forecourt of the hotel were less than helpful. None of them seemed at all concerened. When taxis arrived, they seeemed to allocate them on an arbitrary basis and twice we were left waiting while others were whisked into a waiting cab. We were left standing on the forecourt for half an hour before I complained to the duty manager. Only then were we offered a drink on the house and a sincere apology for the inconvenience. The bellman then came in to tell us a taxi was waiting - just as our drink arrived. When we went outside, the taxi had gone. It seems in this town nobody waits. We went back inside to wait and our drinks had been tidied away. The possibility of delays is really worth bearing in mind if you have to meet others for dinner on the other side of town. Our entire evening was inconvenienced. The Duty Manager insisted on our room number to make amends but when we checked out the following morning there was no credit or consideration. This was very disappointing. Worse, we had the same issue getting a cab as it was Saturday and there were very few taxis in that part of town. When one arrived, the forecourt staff forgot that we had our luggage on a trolley in the foyer and the taxi drove off with another patron.

The Hotel has the potential to be a really lovely property but it is let down but over the top pricing and very poor quality staff with no English on the forecourt of the Hotel. A little more attention to detail in staff training and some repositioning on pricing would go a long way. If you are visiting Shanghai for leisure, I would recommend staying on the other side of the river as the inconvenience of travelling back and forth and the frequent delays can be very disconcerting.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 247Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy W, Manager at Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Dear 247Travel,

Thank you so much for your note on Trip Advisor concerning your stay at Gran Melia Shanghai.

I am sorry that the wifi and service were not what you had expected. I would like to apologize for the inconveniences you have experienced in our hotel. We will take follow up actions to avoid same case happen.I hope those issues did not totally ruin your impression of our hotel. Be assured that Gran Melia Shanghai Management will never cease in their efforts to constantly improve the quality of service and product provided.

We sincerely appreciate the gentility to bring your experience to us. It will be a pleasure receives you again.

Kindly regards,

Tracy Wang
Customer Service Manager
Tracy.wang@granmeliashanghai.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

The hotel appeared very new and decor very impressive. Our room was excellent with views of the river and to the Bund on the 29th floor. We opted for Red Level at time of booking and the lounge was also very welcoming and relaxing and decorated to perfection. Although the restaurants were not busy, the Italian restaurant was excellent and we returned there a second night with a guest. Walking distance to the Shopping Malls (including the underground Apple Store) and right next to the Oriental Pearl Tower. Level of service was outstanding throughout the hotel and the Red Level Manageress was very friendly and helpful at all times. We will definitely use this hotel again in the future as we travel here every year to the Furniture Expo. My partner has stayed in most of the top hotels in Shanghai but rates this the best hotel by far.

Room Tip: Red Level is excellent and i would thoroughly recommend the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shirley w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy W, Manager at Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Dear Shirley W,

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted that you found the hotel, its architecture and its service up to your expectations. It is very important for our daily performance to receive your valuable opinion about our service, we really appreciate the nice comments regarding our Italian Restaurant and Red Level, actually they will be transmitted to our Team for them to keep working with the elegant and excellence you deserve.

Please let us know about your next visit to Shanghai, it will be a pleasure to receive you again.
Best regards,

Tracy Wang
Customer Service Manager
Tracy.wang@granmeliashanghai.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#27 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,259 reviews
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai

Property: Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
Address: No.1288 Lujiazui Ring Road, Pudong District, Shanghai 200120, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#13 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#17 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#26 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#54 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#107 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 686
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai is centrally located in the Lujiazui financial and trade section of the prestigious Pudong district and offers sweeping views of the Huangpu River and the Shanghai skyline. Within walking distance to the Oriental Pearl Tower and only a short drive away from the Jinmao Tower, The Bund, and other well-known landmarks of Shanghai. The Pudong and Hongqiao airports can also be reached within 45 minutes. The Hotel’s design combines contemporary and Oriental features, where guests can enjoy a variety of cuisines including Chinese, Mediterranean, Spanish and an international buffet at Elements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Shanghai Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing